Skip to Main Content

Find COVID-19 Information and Resources

Tennessee Forestry Commission

The Tennessee Forestry Commission was established in 1985 and advises the Tennessee Department of Agriculture and the governor on forest policy.

The Commission formulates and recommends programs of fire protection, reforestation and seedling production, forestry assistance to private landowners, educational and informational programs to enhance understanding of the value and management of the forest resource, management of state forests, urban tree management, development of markets for Tennessee forest products, protection from insect and disease epidemics, and protection of the soil and water quality.

The Commission is also charged with selecting three candidates for state forester, approving an annual budget prepared by the state forester, preparing an annual report, making recommendations to the legislature on forest policy, approving the forestry division long-range plan, and formulating and recommending any policies that further forest protection and management.

Each member is appointed by the governor and serves for a five-year term, with a limit of two terms. Full roles and responsibilities of the commission can be found in the Tenn. Code Ann. § 11-4-201.

Johnny Heard, Chair
Collinwood  - Represents hardwood manufacturers
Term Expires:  6/30/2022 (2nd Term)

Tom Midyett, Vice-Chair
Knoxville  - Represents pulp and paper manufacturers
Term Expires:  6/30/2021 (1st Term)

John Charles Wilson, Secretary
Memphis - Represents conservation organizations
Term Expires:  6/30/2022 (1st Term)

Bob Qualman
Brentwood  - Represents forest landowners of less than 500 acres
Term Expires:  6/30/2021 (2nd Term)

Alex Richman
Lynchburg  - Represents forest landowners of greater than 500 acres
Term Expires:  6/30/2024 (2nd Term)

Mike Witt
Cookeville - Represents forest landowners of less than 500 acres
Term Expires:  6/30/2024 (2nd Term)

Dr. Sharon Jean-Philippe
Knoxville - Represents public at large
Term Expires: 6/30/2024 (1st term)

Dr. Charles Hatcher, Ex-Officio
Commissioner – Tennessee Department of Agriculture

Ed Carter, Ex-Officio
Director – Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency

David Salyers, Ex-Officio
Commissioner – Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation

June 10, 2020 Meeting
9:00 A.M. CDT

The Tennessee Forestry Commission will meet June 10, 2020 at the Ellington Agricultural Center in Nashville, Tenn.

The meeting will begin at 9 a.m. CDT in the Oak Training Conference Room of the Bruer building located at 406 Hogan Rd.

The meeting is open to the public to attend and will be conducted permitting members to participate by electronic or other means of communication. See instructions below for joining the meeting through WebEx.

The agenda includes approval of the previous meeting’s minutes, report from the nominating committee, and budget update. Additional agenda items include SFI certification, Greenbelt Program discussion, state partnerships, USFS Good Neighbor Authority discussion, and a drone program update.

WebEx instructions: (Access Guide)

  • Click this link to join the meeting.
    • Or enter the following URL in your browser’s search area
  • Enter your name and email and click Join
  • For audio connection:
    • (Recommended) If you are using your phone, choose Call Me and enter your phone number, including area code. The system will call you. Answer the phone and if needed put the phone on speaker or connect to a headset.
    • If you are using your computer’s microphone and speakers (and video camera), choose Call Using Computer.
    • If you are away from your computer and simply need to call in 
      • Call 415-655-0003 
      • Enter meeting number (access code): 161 863 2974 
      • No pin, just press # 
  • Click the Raise Hand button to be recognized by the Chairman.
  • Please connect to the WebEx session 15-30 minutes prior to the meeting to make sure your connection works. If you need assistance call 615-837-5428.
  • YouTube tutorials are available to help familiarize yourself with WebEx as a participant: