Board Members

The State Board of Education is composed of 11 members—one from each of Tennessee's nine congressional districts, plus a student member and the executive director of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission who serves as an ex-officio, non-voting member. Dr. Sara Heyburn Morrison serves as Executive Director of the Board. All members are appointed by the governor and confirmed by the General Assembly. Board members serve a five-year term; the student member serves a one-year term.

Mr. Nick Darnell

District 1

Mr. Jordan Mollenhour

District 2

Mr. Robert Eby

Vice Chair District 3

Mr. Warren Wells

District 4

Mr. Ryan Holt

District 5

Mrs. Lillian Hartgrove

Chair District 6

Mr. Nate Morrow

District 7

Mr. Larry Jensen

District 8

Mr. Darrell Cobbins

District 9


Student Member

Dr. Emily House

Executive Director Tennessee Higher Education Commission

Find My Board Member

Use the interactive map below to identify, contact, and learn more about the board member representing your district.