Tennessee Archaeological Advisory Council

Meeting Details: (Revised 11/18/2022)

No meeting scheduled for December 2022

Board Characteristics

The Tennessee Archaeological Advisory Council consists of eleven members appointed by the Governor for five-year terms.

Members include:

  • Five anthropologists representing the University of Tennessee, University of Memphis, Vanderbilt University, Middle Tenessee State University and East Tennessee State University;
  • One representative from the Tennessee Historical Commission;
  • One representative from a recognized archaeological association in Tennessee;
  • Three members of Native American descent and representative of the Native American community in Tennessee;
  • One member from the public at large.

Commissioned under T.C.A. 11-6-103.

The statute authorizing this board expires June 30, 2022 and the one-year wind-down period begins.

Member Term Expires Representation
Dr. David Dye, Vice Chair 06-30-2025 University of Memphis
Charles Robinson 06-30-2025 Native American Community
Jan Simek 06-30-2023 University of Tennessee
J. Lauren Webb 06-30-2023 Public-at-Large
Cindy Yahola 06-30-2023 Native American Community
Jeremy Kaunisto 06-30-2022 Native American Community
Dr. Kevin Smith, Chair
06-30-2022 Middle Tennessee State University
Betsey Robinson 06-30-2022 Vanderbilt University
Georgia Dennis 12-31-2022 Archaeological Association
Ann Toplovich 12-31-2022 Tennessee Historical Commission
Chris Widga 06-30-2026 East Tennessee State University

Past Meetings

Phil Hodge
State Archaeologist & Director
Tennessee Division of Archaeology

This Page Last Updated: November 18, 2022 at 3:25 PM