Skip to Main Content

Find COVID-19 Information and Resources
TDEC COVID-19 Response and Resources

Air Pollution Control Board

Material in the board packet that reflect the Board’s vote on a matter (i.e. Orders of the Board), shall be considered proposed and subject to change by the Board on the day of the meeting.

Meeting Details: (Revised 6/30/2020)

Next meeting scheduled for

July 8,  2020 - CANCELED

9:30 a.m. CST

Nashville Room, 3rd Floor Tennessee Tower

312 Rosa L. Parks Ave., Nashville, TN  37243 



Board Packet

AQI Slides

As Chair of the Tennessee Air Pollution Control Board
(Board), the Commissioner of the Department of Environment and Conservation is
calling a special meeting of the Board as permitted in TCA 68-201-104(c) on
February 26, 2020 at 9:30 am to be held in the Nashville Room at the William R.
Snodgrass TN Tower at 312 Rosa L. Parks Ave. Nashville, Tennessee.



2019 Meeting Dates

 2020 Meeting Dates

January 9- Canceled
February 13
March 13
April 10
May 8
June 12
July 10-Canceled
August 14
Septermber 11
October 9
November 13
December 11
January 8
February 12
March 11
April 8-Canceled
May 13-Canceled
June 10
July 8
August 12
Septermber 9
October 14
November 12
December 9


Board Characteristics

Fourteen members: twelve appointed by the Governor for four-year terms and two ex officio.

Members include:

  • a registered professional engineer with at least five (5)years' experience in the field of air pollution control;
  • a licensed physician with experience in health effects of air contaminants;
  • a person working in a field directly related to agriculture or conservation;
  • a person actively working in the management of and with current full-time employment in a private manufacturing concern and have a college degree and eight (8) years of combined technical training and experience in permit compliance for Title 5 or Non-Title 5 sources for a manufacturing facility permitted in the State of Tennessee; 
  • a county mayor or chief executive officer of a Tennessee county;
  • a person working in municipal government;
  • Two (2) persons from Tennessee industry and with current full-time employment with a private manufacturing concern and have a college degree in engineering or equal and eight (8) years of combined technical training and experience in air pollution abatement for either a Title 5 permit holder or a Non-Title 5 permitted source in the State of Tennessee;
  • a person involved in the program of an institute of higher learning in the state involved in the conducting of training in air pollution evaluation and control;
  • a person representing conservation interests;
  • a small generator of air pollution representing automotive interests;
  • a person representing environmental interests;
  • Commissioners of Environment and Conservation and Economic and Community Development or their designees.

Commissioned under T.C.A. 68-201-104.

The statute authorizing this board expires June 30, 2025 and the one-year wind-down period begins.


Term Expires


Dr. John Benitez  08-31-2021 Licensed Physician with experience in health effects of air pollutants
Karen Cisler 04-30-2020 Environmental Interests
Greer Tidwell Jr. 04-30-2022 Conservation Interests
Stephen R. Gossett 08-31-2019 Working for Industry with technical experience
Dr. Shawn A. Hawkins 08-31-2020 Working in field related to Agriculture or Conservation
Richard Holland 08-31-2019 Working for Industry with technical experience
The Honorable Ken Moore, City of Franklin 08-31-2021 Working in Municipal Government
Dr. Joshua Fu, Ph.D.  04-30-2022 Involved with Institution of Higher Learning on air pollution evaluation and control
Michael Haverstick 08-31-2022 Working in management in Private Manufacturing
Dr. Ronnè Adkins, Ph.D. Ex-Officio Commissioner's Designee, Dept. of Environment and Conservation
Caitlin Roberts Jennings 06-30-2022 Small Generator of Air Pollution representing Automotive Interests
Amy Spann, P.E. 08-31-2022 Registered Professional Engineer
The Honorable Larry Waters,
Sevier County
08-31-2020 County Mayor
Jimmy West Ex-Officio Commissioner's Designee, Dept. of Economic and Community Development

This Page Last Updated: June 30, 2020 at 10:40 AM