Skip to Main Content

Click here for information on vehicle emissions testing.

Tennessee Historical Commission

Meeting Details: (Revised 10/14/2021)

October 8, 2021

Board Characteristics

The Tennessee Historical Commission board is commissioned under T.C.A. 4-11-102. The statute authorizing this board expires June 30, 2025 and the one-year wind-down begins. 

The board is composed of twenty-nine members: 5 Ex Officio members plus 24 members appointed by the Governor for terms of five years.  Appointed membership is equally divided among the three grand divisions of the state.  Appointed members whose current terms have expired, serve until reappointed or replaced.

Members include:

Officers Term Expires  
Mrs. Derita Coleman Williams, Chair  06-30-2022  
Mrs. Beth Campbell, Vice-Chair 06-30-2022  
Mr. Sam D. Elliott, Vice-Chair 05-31-2025  
Ex Officio Members   Representation
Mr. Don Johnson   Governor's Representative
Mr. Gerald Parish   Comm. of Environment and Conservation Rep.
Mr. Phil Hodge   State Archaeologist
Dr. Caroll Van West   State Historian
Mr. Charles A. Sherrill   State Librarian and Archivist
Members Term Expires Representation
Mrs. Loni Harris
West Tennessee
Dr. Keith Norman 09-30-2025 West Tennessee
Mrs. Beverly C. Robertson 09-30-2025 West Tennessee
Dr. Douglas W. Cupples 06-30-2021 West Tennessee
Mrs. Joanne Cullom Moore 09-30-2021 West Tennessee
Mr. Don Roe 09-30-2022 West Tennessee
Mr. Cato Johnson 07-07-2025 West Tennessee
Pastor Frank Stevenson 06-30-2024 Middle Tennessee
Mr. Robert Hicks 09-30-2024 Middle Tennessee
Dr. Kent T. Dollar 09-30-2025 Middle Tennessee
Mr. Jeremy Harrell 09-30-2025 Middle Tennessee
Mr. Kem Hinton 10-15-2025 Middle Tennessee
Ms. Ann Toplovich 11-15-2025 Middle Tennessee
Mrs. Doris McMillan 07-07-2025 Middle Tennessee
Mr. Allen F. Carter 09-30-2021 East Tennessee
Dr. William E. Kennedy 09-30-2023 East Tennessee
Mr. Hanes Torbett 11-15-2025 East Tennessee
Dr. William Lyons 02-28-2021 East Tennessee
Mr. Joseph A. Swann 02-28-2021 East Tennessee
Mr. Ray Smith 10-31-2021 East Tennessee
Mr. Kelly Wolfe 02-11-2024 East Tennessee

Past Meetings

August 19, 2021

June 18, 2021

May 7, 2021

March 9, 2021

February 18, 2021

December 4, 2020 - Special Meeting

November 6, 2020 - Special Meeting

October 16, 2020

July 24, 2020 - Special Meeting

July 10, 2020

March 27, 2020

February 21, 2020

January 23, 2020 - Special Hearing

Special Meeting Held on March 13, 2019

This meeting was held for the consideration of the Denial of Petition for Reconsideration by Judge Hilliard in the matter of Forrest Descendants and Sons of Confederate Veterans, Docket No. 04.47-1509371. This meeting was held by teleconference.



To contact commission members, email

Lynda Wynn

Board Contact

Patrick McIntyre

Executive Director
Tennessee Historical Commission
Department of Environment & Conservation

This Page Last Updated: October 14, 2021 at 2:59 PM