Tennessee Hunter Education Information
In an effort to introduce new hunters to the sport, we have developed a new type of hunting license designed especially for people who may wish to sample the pleasures of Tennessee’s many hunting opportunities.
The Agency’s Apprentice License will provide an exemption from Tennessee’s Hunter Education requirements for anyone ten years of age or older for a period of one year from the date of purchase. This license may be purchased for up to three years consecutively.
This license is available to all hunters 10 years of age or older who have not completed the mandatory hunter education course. It exempts the hunter from the mandatory hunter education law for one year from the date of purchase, but may only be purchased for up to three consecutive years during the lifetime of the hunter.
Hunters who possess this license must be accompanied by an adult, 21 years of age or older, who must meet the hunter education requirements and be able to take immediate control of the hunting device.
The Apprentice License is valid only in Tennessee and will not exempt people hunting outside Tennessee from that state’s Hunter Education requirements. Purchase an Apprentice Hunting License online today.
- Will other states accept Tennessee’s Hunter Education certification?
- Yes, Hunter Education certification from Tennessee is accepted in all 50 states.
- Do I need to bring a gun to the Traditional Hunter Education class?
- No, everything will be provided by the instructor. Outside firearms and ammunition are strictly forbidden and will not be allowed inside the classroom.