Boating Education

Tennessee State Residents

Any Tennessee resident born after January 1, 1989, must show the TWRA-issued wallet Boating Safety Education Certificate as proof of successful completion of the TWRA Boating Safety exam.  

No other certificate will be accepted as meeting the requirements of the law.  The Tennessee mandatory boating education law is similar to the driver’s license law.  You acquire the study materials, study, and then take an approved boating safety exam administered by an approved representative of the TWRA

The certification is not required if there is an adult (18 years old or older) on board to take immediate control of the vessel.  However, this adult, if born after January 1, 1989, must have the boating education certification. 

Out of State Boaters

If you were born after January 1, 1989, TWRA will accept any NASBLA approved boating safety certificate.


TWRA Boating Safety Course Information and Locations.


Locations are listed below by geographic region.  Because of COVID 19 and its variants, some locations may have restrictions.  Be sure to check the location’s website or social media to find out what, if any restrictions exist.

1.  Who needs a Tennessee boating education certification?

If you are a Tennessee resident born after January 1, 1989, and operating a boat with more than 8.5 horsepower, then you need the certification.

If you are a non-Tennessee resident born after January 1, 1989, and visiting Tennessee and operating a boat with more than 8.5 horsepower, you will need a boating education certification approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA).

Even if you do not need the certification, by getting one, you may save on your boat insurance.

2. How do I replace my lost or stolen boating safety card?

If your boating safety card is lost or stolen, you need to log on to www.gooutdoorstennessee.com. In the licensing section, update with current personal information.

Once all is updated you need to purchase a Type 605 Boat Certification Card (located in the Specialty section) and a new card will be mailed to you.   You can also purchase the Type 605 from any place that sells hunting/fishing licenses.

3.  How do I study?

There are many avenues to study:

Study online at https://www.boat-ed.com/tennessee/studyGuide/10104402/

Or request home study materials by emailing your address to Canella.G.Cole@tn.gov or by calling 615-781-6566 and leaving your name and address.

4.  How do I take the exam?

First, you must be at least 12 years old to take the exam.   After studying the boating safety material, you must first purchase, for $10.00, a Type 600 boating safety exam permit from any business (license agent) that sells hunting and fishing licenses (WalMart sporting goods, bait stores, marinas, etc.).  You will need your social security number and driver's license if applicable.

Take this permit to the class/exam as it will be validated when you pass the exam and serve as your temporary certification until the card is mailed to you.

If you do not pass the exam, this permit can continue to be used to take the exam as many times as it takes to pass. Try not to lose it!

5.  Where do I find the locations of classes and exams?

Choose the region where you live from the tabs.  Locations will be posted by the county.

6.  How long does it take to complete the exam?

Allow approximately one hour to take the exam.

7.  How long will it take to receive my wallet card?

When you pass the exam, you will receive your wallet card in the mail within a few weeks.

Region 1

*Unless otherwise noted, these are locations to take the exam only.    IT IS REQUIRED TO PURCHASE AND BRING THE Type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit to testing locations and to classes

Benton County

Benton County Library, Camden 
Anytime during hours of operation
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Carroll County

Carroll County Library/Huntingdon 
By appointment only 731-986-1919
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Chester County

Chester County Library in Henderson 
By appointment only - (731) 989-4673
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Crockett County

Crockett Memorial Library in Alamo 
By appointment only - (731) 696-4220
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Decatur County

Perryville Marina by appointment only
Contact Becky at (731) 847-2444
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Decaturville Library 
By appointment only - (731) 852-3325
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Parsons Public Library 
By appointment only - (731) 847-6988
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Decatur and Perry County

Mousetail Landing State Park will give the test by appointment only. 
Call Mousetail Landing State Park at (731) 847-0841. 
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT
Study manuals may be picked up there,
Perryville Marina and the Decatur County Court Clerks' office.

Dyer County

Newbern City Library 
By appointment only - (731) 627-3153
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

McIver's Grant Library, Dyersburg 
By appointment only - (731) 285-5032
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Fayette County

Somerville/Fayette Co. Library 
By appointment only - (901) 465-5248
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Gibson County

Humboldt Public Library 
By appointment only - (731) 784-2383 
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Gibson County Library in Trenton 
By appointment only - (731) 855-1991
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Mildred G. Fields Library/Milan
By appointment only - (731) 686-8268
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Hardeman County

Bolivar Hardeman County Library 
By appointment only - (731) 658-3436
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Hardin County

Hardin County Library in Savannah 
By appointment only - (731) 925-4314
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Saltillo Community Library
By appointment only - (731) 325-7002 or (731) 695-9697
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Haywood County

Elma Ross Public Library 
By appointment only - (731) 772-9534
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Henderson County

Everett Horn Library/Lexington 
By appointment only, call (731) 968-3239
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Boating Education Class and Test

June 15, 2024 from 8am – 12pm

Volvo Penta
200 Robert Wallace Dr
Lexington TN 38351
Register Here
Questions call 731.343.1404
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Henry County

W. G. Rhea Public Library in Paris 
By appointment only - (731) 642-1702
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Houston County

Houston County Public Library in Erin 
By appointment only - (931) 289-3858 
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Humphreys County 

Humphreys County Public Library  
By appointment only - (931) 296-2143
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Lake County

Tiptonville Public Library 
By appointment only - (731) 253-7391
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Lauderdale County

Lauderdale County Library/Ripley
by appointment only - 731-635-1872
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Madison County

Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency Office in Jackson 
Monday -Thursday from 8:00 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.
By appointment only:   731-423-5725
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Boating Safety Class

June 8 – 8:00 a.m.
North Jackson Baptist Church, 3768 US 45 BYP, Jackson
Register Here
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

McNairy County

Jack McConnico Memorial Public Library
Selmer, TN
By appointment only - (731) 645-5571
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Irving Meer Jr. Public Library
Adamsville, TN 
By appointment only - (731) 632-3572
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Obion County

Union City Library 
By appointment only - (731) 885-7000
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Perry  County

 

Shelby County

Exams will be administered at the Bartlett Hunter Education Range Facility (3200 Brother Blvd.) during regular business hours.
Hours: Sunday (1:00 PM - 6:00 PM), Tuesday (12:00 PM - 9:00 PM), Thursday (11:00 AM - 9:00 PM), and Saturday (9:00 AM - 4:30 PM).
Closed on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.
Bring your Social Security Number.
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT
The Boating Safety Exam Permit (Type 600) is sold at the facility for $10. Cash Only. (901) 213-3124.

Stewart County

Stewart County Public Library in Dover
By appointment only - (931) 232-3127
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Tipton County

Tipton County Library in Covington 
By appointment only - (901) 476-8289
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Munford-Tipton County Memorial Library 
By appointment only, call (901) 837-2665
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Weakley County

Ned R. McWherter Library in Dresden 
By appointment only - (731) 364-2678
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Sharon Public Library 
Call for an appointment-731-456-2707 
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Dr. Nathan Porter Memorial Library, Greenfield
Call for an appointment - (731) 235-9932
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Region 2

*Unless otherwise noted, these are locations to take the exam only.    IT IS REQUIRED TO PURCHASE AND BRING THE Type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit to testing locations and to classes.

Bedford County

Argie Cooper Public Library in Shelbyville 
By appointment only - (931) 684-7323
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Cannon County

Dr. and Mrs. J. F. Adams Memorial Library
212 College Street/Woodbury 
By appointment only - (615) 563-5861
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Cheatham County

South Cheatham Public Library
358 N. Main, Kingston Springs
Call for an appointment (615) 952-4752
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Coffee County

Manchester Public Library 
By appointment only (931) 723-5143
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Davidson County

Hermitage Branch Library 
By appointment only (615) 880-3951
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Bellevue Branch Library 
By appointment only (615) 862-5854
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Hadley Park Branch Library 
By appointment only (615) 862-5865
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Old Hickory Branch Library 
By appointment only - (615) 862-5869
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Dickson County

Test Only
By appointment only
Call David Nickens – 615-504-6998
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Franklin County

Franklin County Library in Winchester 
By appointment only - (931) 967-3706
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Giles County

Giles County Library 
By appointment only (931) 363-2720
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Ardmore Public Library 
By appointment only (931) 427-4883
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Boating Safety Class

June 22 – 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
2nd Street Church of Christ, Pulaski TN
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT
Questions contact Officer Goats 615.920.9060 or Sergeant Robertson 615.804.7326

Hickman County

By Appointment Only 
Dave Anderson 931-212-7109
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Lawrence County

Test only
Call Mr. Waldrop at (931) 629-3753 to make an appointment
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Lewis County

By appointment only 
Contact Clint Newton – (615) 856-9741
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Lincoln County

Fayetteville/Lincoln Co. Public Library 306 Elk Ave. N 
By appointment only - (931) 433-3286​
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Marshall County

Marshall Co. Library/Lewisburg 
Call for an appointment - (931) 359-3335
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Macon

Maury County

Spring Hill Public Library 
Internet Testing 
By appointment only - (931) 486-2932
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Maury Co. Library
8th St.-Columbia
By appointment only – 931-375-6508
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Montgomery County

Clarksville Montgomery County Public Library (350 Pageant Lane)
Exams are given anytime during library business hours.
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Moore County

Moore County Library in Lynchburg 
By appointment only (931) 759-7285
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Robertson County

Stokes Brown Public Library, Springfield 
Anytime Monday, Wednesday, Friday - 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. 
Tuesday, Thursday - 9:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m. 
Subject to computer availability
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

White House Library
105B College St.
By appointment – (615) 672-0239
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Rutherford County

Technology Engagement Center
By appointment only - (615) 225-8312
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Smyrna Public Library
400 Enon Springs Rd. W 
By appointment only - (615) 459-4884
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Linebaugh Public Library in Murfreesboro 
By appointment only - (615) 893-4131 ext. 117
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Rutherford County

 

Smith County

Gordonsville Branch Library
By appointment only - (615) 683-8063
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Smith County Public Library
By appointment only - (615) 735-1326 
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Sumner County

White House Library
105B College St.
By appointment – (615) 672-0239
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Gallatin Public Library
By appointment only – (615) 452-1722
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Hendersonville Public Library
By appointment only – (615)-824-0656
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Trousdale County

Fred A. Vaught Public Library in Hartsville 
By appointment only - (615) 374-3677
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Williamson County

Bethesda Public Library 
By appointment only - (615) 790-1887
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Brentwood Public Library 
By appointment only - (615) 371-0090
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Fairview Public Library 
By appointment only - (615) 224-6087
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Library in Franklin, TN 
By appointment only - (615) 595-1243
Study books available at the library
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Leipers Fork Public Library 
By appointment only (615) 794-7019
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Nolensville Public Library 
By appointment only - (615) 776-5490
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

College Grove Community Library 
By appointment only - (615) 368-3222
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Wilson County

Region 3

*Unless otherwise noted, these are locations to take the exam only.    IT IS REQUIRED TO PURCHASE AND BRING THE Type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit to testing locations and to classes.

Bledsoe County

Bledsoe County Public Library/Pikeville 
Call for an appointment - (423) 447-2817
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Bradley County

Cleveland Public Library
Call for an appointment - (423) 472-2163
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Boating Safety Class

June 13 – 6:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
The Church at Grace Point, 2575 Old Freewill Rd, Cleveland
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Clay County

Celina Public Library 
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday 8:30 AM - 3:00 PM 
Wednesday 3:00 - 6:30 p.m. Saturday 9:00 - 11:30 AM
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Cumberland County

Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency Office in Crossville 
By appointment only - (931) 484-9571
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Art Circle Public Library
Crossville --Call for an appointment – 931-484-6790
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Dekalb County

Justin Potter Library - Smithville 
By appointment only - (615) 597-4359
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Alexandria Branch Library
By appointment only - (615) 529-4124
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Fentress County

Fentress County Public Library in Jamestown 
By appointment only - (931) 879-7512
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Grundy County

May Justus Library in Monteagle 
By appointment only - (931) 924-2638
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Boating Education Course and Test

June 10, 2024 from 6pm – 8:30pm
Gruetli-Laager Community Center
Register here https://license.gooutdoorstennessee.com/Event/ViewEvent.aspx?id=50589
Questions call 615.613.2382
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Hamilton County

Test Only

By appointment only
Call Robert Wagner 423-886-2420
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

UT-Chattanooga
By appointment – utctestingcenter@utc.edu or 423-425-5305
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT
Facility fee $25

Chattanooga State Community College
By appointment leanders.burns@chattanoogastate.edu or cheryl.byrd@chattanoogastate.edu
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT
Facility fee $25

Boating Safety Class

June 8– 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Registration 8:30 a.m.
Coast Guard Depot, Chattanooga
Fee for class:  $30
For more information contact David Ferguson:  706-463-3138
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Review and Exam

June 13, 6:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Stuart Heights Baptist Church, 10049 Dayton Pike, Soddy Daisy
FEE for review/exam - $25
Registration required by calling 832-474-3822
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Boating Safety Class

June 29 – 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Registration 8:30 a.m.
Coast Guard Depot, Chattanooga
Fee for class:  $30
For more information contact David Ferguson:  706-463-3138
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Boating Safety Class

July 13  – 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Registration 8:30 a.m.
Coast Guard Depot, Chattanooga
Fee for class:  $30
For more information contact David Ferguson:  706-463-3138
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Boating Safety Class

July 27– 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Registration 8:30 a.m.
Coast Guard Depot, Chattanooga
Fee for class:  $30
For more information contact David Ferguson:  706-463-3138
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Jackson County

Charles Ralph Holland Memorial Library
By appointment only - (931) 268-9190
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Marion County

Jasper Public Library 
By appointment only
(423) 942-3369
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Orena Humphreys Public Library
Whitwell
Call for an appointment – (423) 658-6134
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Beene Pearson Public Library
South Pittsburg
Call for an appointment – (423) 837-6513
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

McMinn County

Etowah Carnegie Library 
By appointment only (423) 263-9475
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

E. G. Fisher Public Library in Athens 
By appointment only - (423) 745-7782
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Meigs County

Meigs County Library in Decatur 
By appointment only - (423) 334-3332
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Boating Safety Class

June 8 – 9:00 a.m. EST
Meigs County High School Library, 105 Able Ave, Decatur, TN
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Monroe County

Madisonville Public Library
call for an appointment (423) 442-4085
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Morgan County

Sunbright Public Library 
By appointment only (423) 628-0353
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Wartburg Public Library 
By appointment only (423) 346-2479
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Deer Lodge Public Library
Call for an appointment - (423) 965-0101
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Petros Public Library 
By appointment only (423) 324-0101
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Overton County

Millard Oakley Library/Livingston
By appointment only - (931) 403-1888
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Pickett County

Pickett County Library in Byrdstown 
By appointment only - (931) 864-6281
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Polk County

Copper Basin High School
Call for an appointment – (423) 496-3291, ask for the library
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Putnam County

Putnam County Library 
By appointment only (931) 526-2416
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Monterey Branch Library 
By appointment only (931) 839-2103
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Rhea County

Clyde W. Roddy Library in Dayton 
By appointment only - (423) 775-8406
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Audrey Pack Library in Spring City 
By appointment only - (423) 365-9757
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Roane County

Kingston Public Library 
By appointment only - (865) 376-9905
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Van Buren County

Call Clint for dates, locations, times - (931) 946-3335
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Warren County

Magness Memorial Library in McMinnville 
By appointment only – (931) 473-2428
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

White County

White County Public Library/Sparta 
Call for appointment - (931) 836-3613
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Region 4

*Unless otherwise noted, these are locations to take the exam only.    IT IS REQUIRED TO PURCHASE AND BRING THE Type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit to testing locations and to classes. 

Anderson County

Clinton Public Library
To make an appointment, click on this link:
TWRA Boater Safety Exam Proctor service | Clinton Public Library
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Rocky Top Public Library 
By appointment only - (865) 426-6762
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Norris Community Library
By appointment only - (865) 494-6800
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Oak Ridge Public Library
During hours of operation
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMITT

Blount County

Campbell County

LaFollette Public Library 
By appointment only - (423) 562-5154
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Caryville Public Library 
By appointment only - (423) 562-1108
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Campbell County

Boating Safety Class

June 22 – 9:00 a.m.
Flat Hollow Marina, 185 Flat Hollow Dock Circle, Speedwell
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Boating Safety Class

June 15 – 10:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Roane State Community College, LaFollette
Fee for class:  $30
Materials and snacks provided
Registration:  Eric Pinkston 42-871-2601 or email jennanderic@comcast.net
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Boating Safety Class

June 29 – 10:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Roane State Community College, LaFollette
Fee for class:  $30
Materials and snacks provided
Registration:  Eric Pinkston 42-871-2601 or email jennanderic@comcast.net
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Boating Safety Class

July 13 – 10:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Roane State Community College, LaFollette
Fee for class:  $30
Materials and snacks provided
Registration:  Eric Pinkston 42-871-2601 or email jennanderic@comcast.net
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Carter County

Elizabethton Carter County Public Library
Call for an appointment (423) 547-6360
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Claiborne County

Claiborne County Library in Tazewell 
Call for an appointment (423) 626-5414
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Cocke County

Stokely Memorial Library - Newport 
By appointment only - (423) 623-3832
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Test Only By appointment only
Call Jennifer Noe - 423-943-9238
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Greene County 

Mosheim Public Library
By appointment only (423) 422-7937
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Grainger County

Testing by appointment
Call 865-300-1755
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Hancock County


Hamblen County

Call (423) 586-6410 for an appointment.
Must have or obtain a Hamblen County library card
to take the exam at this location.
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Hawkins County

Mt. Carmel Public Library
By appointment only (423) 357-4011
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Church Hill Library
By appointment only - (423) 357-4591
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

H. B. Stamps Memorial Library in Rogersville 
By appointment only - (423) 272-8710
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Jefferson County

Jefferson City Public Library
By appointment only - (865) 475-9094
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

White Pine Public Library
By appointment only - (865) 674-6313
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Dandridge Memorial Library - 1235 Circle Drive 
By appointment only - (865) 397-9758
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Parrott-Wood Memorial Library
By appointment only - (865) 933-1311
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Johnson County

Mountain City Library 
By appointment only - (423) 727-6544
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Knox County

Boating Safety Class

June 1, 2024 – 9:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
Farragut Community Center, 239 Jamestowne Blvd, Knoxville
CLASS IS FULL
 REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Boating Safety Class

June 29, 2024 – 9:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
Farragut Community Center, 239 Jamestowne Blvd, Knoxville
Register Here - Class is Full
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Boating Safety Class

August 3, 2024 – 9:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
Farragut Community Center, 239 Jamestowne Blvd, Knoxville
Register Here
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Loudon County

The Public Library at Tellico Village
By appointment only:  865-458-5199
Mondays and Wednesdays -  9:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Saturdays – 9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. 
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT
$10 Facility Fee

REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Scott County

Oneida Public Library 
By appointment only (423) 569-8634
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Sevier County

Anna Porter Public Library in Gatlinburg
Please call for an appointment – (865) 436-5588
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Pigeon Forge Public Library 
By appointment only (865) 429-7490
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Sevier County

Boating Safety Class

June 20  – 9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m
Mountain Cove Marina, 1590 Dyke Rd, Sevierville
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Sullivan County

Sullivan County Library in Blountville  
Monday - Friday 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. 
(423) 279-2714
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Thomas Memorial Library in Bluff City 
Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Bloomingdale Library in Kingsport 
Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Bristol Public Library
By appointment only:  (276) 645-8780
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Sullivan Gardens Library in Kingsport 
Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Colonial Heights Library in Kingsport 
Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Kingsport Public Library
Please call for an appointment -  423-224-2539
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Unicoi County

Unicoi County Public Library in Erwin
Call for an appointment - (423) 743-6533
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Union County

Union County High School
Testing is offered only during the regular school year
By appointment only, Contact John Fugate at (865) 992-0180.
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Maynardville Public Library
By appointment only - (865) 992-7106
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Washington County

Johnson City Public Library 
Must arrive at least one hour before closing
Monday - Thursday, 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM,
Friday, 9:00 AM – 6:00 PM,
Saturday, 10:00 AM – 6:00 PM
Closed Sunday
(423) 434-4454
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Jonesborough Library 
By appointment only - (423) 753-1800
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT

Gray Library 
By appointment only - (423) 477-1550
REQUIRED – BRING YOUR TYPE 600 BOATING SAFETY EXAM PERMIT