Licenses, Permits & Quota Hunts

Purchasing Online

Hunting and fishing licenses will be valid for one year from date of purchase.  Seasons are subject to change & license fees are subject to change.  The exceptions to the change are Captive Wildlife Permits, Migratory Bird Permit, Federal Duck Stamp will expire on June 30 of each year.  Beginning in 2023 Slat Basket Tags will also expire on June 30 of each year.

Most licenses, except the Lifetime Sportsman License and specialty licenses, such as Wheelchair, Disabled Veteran, Intellectually disabled, and Blind Fishing licenses, are available online, at most county clerks, sporting goods stores, hardware stores, boat docks, and from all TWRA offices.

The Lifetime Sportsman License cannot be purchased at general license agents. Applications for this license may be obtained by calling the TWRA Nashville Office (615-781-6500), any of the four regional offices, or you can learn more about Tennessee's Lifetime Sportsman's License by clicking here. 

image

Resident and Non-Resident Licenses

 Tennessee Resident Hunting License

  • Persons who possess a valid Tennessee driver's license or Tennessee state ID issued by the Department of Safety. Tennessee state law requires drivers to obtain a Tennessee driver's license within 30 days of residency. Out-of-state drivers license only accepted for Military Personnel and Students meeting the criteria below: 
    • Military personnel on active duty in this state and dependents under age 16, who reside with them, regardless of resident status.
    • Students who are enrolled in a Tennessee school, college, or university for at least six months (must present a student ID card or other proof of enrollment
  • Persons who do not drive or do not possess a valid driver’s license from another state, but who have lived in Tennessee for 90 consecutive days with the genuine intent of making Tennessee their permanent home, may prove residency by presenting to a TWRA license agent any two of the following documents:
    • Current Tennessee voter registration card
    • Current Tennessee vehicle registration or title
    • Form I-94 issued by the US Citizenship & Immigration Service
    • Current rental/mortgage contract or receipt including deed of sale for property or receipt for payment of Tennessee real estate taxes within last year

A Social Security Number is required to purchase a Tennessee hunting or fishing license.

Type Description Cost
001 Hunting and Fishing Combination*
Minimum license required to fish and/or hunt small game

*Supplemental Licenses (Types 005, 009, 010, or 011) are required and must be purchased, in addition to the Type 001 license, in order to hunt deer, bear, boar (feral hog), turkey, and waterfowl.

The type of hunting equipment to be used determines which supplemental license is necessary.
$34.00
005 Waterfowl Supplemental License
*Purchase with Hunting & Fishing Combination License
$38.00
009 Annual Big Game Gun Supplemental License
*Purchase with Hunting & Fishing Combination License
$34.00
010 Annual Big Game Archery Supplemental License
*Purchase with Hunting & Fishing Combination License
$34.00
011 Annual Big Game Muzzleloader Supplemental License
*Purchase with Hunting & Fishing Combination License
$34.00
019 Trapping $34.00
002 Junior Hunt/Trap/Fish
Ages 13-15. Good for hunting all game, fishing, and trapping. Must be purchased prior to 16th birthday. No supplemental licenses are required, but special season and WMA permits will need to be purchased in addition to this license. Fees apply when applying for quota hunt permits and "leftover" permits.
$10.00
004 Annual Sportsman
An all-inclusive license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any state supplemental licenses or non-quota permits and allows holders to apply for quota permits at no additional fee. Annual Sportsman licenses can be purchased from all license agents.
$166.00
164 Annual Senior Citizen Hunt/Fish/Trap
Available at all license agents and can only be purchased when the 65th birthday is reached. A valid Tennessee driver's license or proof of age and residency is required. No supplemental licenses are required, but special season and WMA permits will need to be purchased in addition to this license. Fees apply when applying for quota hunt permits and "leftover" permits.
$5.00
166 Permanent Senior Citizen Hunt/Fish/Trap
Available at all license agents and can only be purchased when 65th birthday is reached. A valid Tennessee driver’s license or proof of age and residency is required. No supplemental licenses are required, but special season and WMA permits will need to be purchased in addition to this license. Fees apply when applying for quota hunt permits as well as “left over” permits.
$50.00  
167 Annual Senior Citizen Sportsman
An all-inclusive license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any state supplemental licenses or non-quota permits and allows holders to apply for quota permits at no additional fee. Annual Senior Sportsman licenses can be purchased from all license agents.
$50.00
Resident Permanent Hunting Licenses
The following licenses are available only by application from the TWRA Sales Office located in Nashville. They are available for a one-time fee and are valid for the rest of the license holder's life. They are not Lifetime Sportsman Licenses. Additional permits may be required. A trout license is not required.
168 Annual Resident Hunting & Fishing Disabled Under 18
Available to Tennessee residents under the age of 18 who meet the requirements of TCA 70-2-104 as amended. The certification of the total and permanent disability issued by a physician licensed to practice in Tennessee must accompany this application. Renewable annually with current fee. Permits where required.
$5.00
169 Hunt & Fish Intellect Disabled Resident
Minimum license required to fish and/or hunt statewide - Additional supplemental licenses may be required. This license is only valid as long as the license holder is a resident of the state of Tennessee. Tennessee residents over the age of 10 years may purchase by providing a certification by a physician licensed to practice in Tennessee as having an intellectual disability as described in TCA 33-1-101. Applicant will be required to complete the Hunter Education Course as provided in TCA 70-2-108.
$10.00
189 Permanent Wheelchair Hunting and Fishing
Application must be accompanied by a doctor's statement stating that the applicant is permanently confined to a wheelchair. Covers all license requirements to hunt and fish but holder must purchase any applicable permits.
$10.00
198 Permanent DAV Hunting and Fishing
Available to resident veterans certified by the VA as 30 percent disabled by reason of war service or 100% service connected.
$10.00

Tennessee Non-Resident Hunting Licenses

Type Description Cost
070 Junior Hunt/Fish - No Big Game
Required for nonresidents ages 13-15 to fish or hunt small game.
A Type 085 or 086 is required to hunt big game.
$11.00
085 7-Day Junior Hunt - All Game $27.00
086 Annual Junior Hunt - All Game $42.00
072 7-Day Hunt-Small Game/Waterfowl - No Big Game $61.50
071 Hunt-Small Game/Waterfowl - No Big Game $111.00
074 7-Day Hunting - All Game $214.50
073 Annual Hunting - All Game $305.00
120 Trapping $201.00

Apprentice License & Federal Duck Stamp

Type Description Cost
012 Apprentice License
This license is available to all hunters 10 years of age or older who have not completed the mandatory hunter education course. It exempts the hunter from the mandatory hunter education law until one year from the date of purchase and can be purchased 3 consecutive years during the lifetime of the hunter. Hunters who possess this license must be accompanied by an adult 21 years of age or older, who must meet hunter education requirements and is able to take immediate control of the hunting device.
$12.00
  Federal Duck Stamp 
Federal law requires that each waterfowl hunter, age 16 and over carry on his/her person, in addition to a hunting license and permit, a valid Federal Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp, (federal duck stamp), signed in ink across the face. These can be obtained through the Post Office, National Wildlife Refuge offices, and some discount and sporting goods stores.
$27.00

WMA Hunting Permits (resident and nonresident)

Everyone who hunts on a Wildlife Management Area is required to have a WMA permit except the holder of a Lifetime Sportsman License, Annual Sportsman License, Annual Senior Citizen Permit (Type 167), and youths under age 16 hunting small game and waterfowl. The youth hunters must be accompanied by an adult with a valid WMA permit. Youths under age 6 may not hunt big game on a WMA. All ages nee d a Type 094 permit for county non-quota hunts.

Type Description Cost
091 WMA Small Game and Waterfowl $62.00
092 1-Day Small Game and Waterfowl $12.50
093 WMA Small Game Only $21.00
094 Special Season/WMA Nonquota Big Game

Required for residents and non-residents to hunt the statewide antlerless deer gun season, unit L antlerless private lands hunt and WMA nonquota big game hunts, including Cherokee. 

$25.00
095 Cherokee WMA Big Game Nonquota
Valid only for Cherokee WMA non-quota big game hunts.
$19.00

Migratory Bird Permits

Resident and nonresident hunters must possess a Tennessee Migratory Bird Permit to hunt waterfowl and other migratory birds. Available anywhere hunting and fishing licenses are sold. The following do not need this permit:

  • Landowners hunting on their own land
  • Disabled veterans
  • Tennessee residents 65 years of age or older
  • Tennessee residents under 13 years of age
  • Lifetime Sportsman license holders
Type Description Cost
006 Migratory Bird Permit $2.00
007 Migratory Bird Permit
available only to Sportsman License holders
No Fee

Federal Refuges

Type Description Cost
064 This permit is required for Cross Creeks and Tennessee National Refuge for all hunters including Lifetime and Annual Sportsman license holders.  $15.00

Tennessee Fishing License Requirements

If you take fish or attempt to take fish (including crayfish) by any method or if you assist someone else to do so, you must have a valid fishing license. 

There are some exceptions:

No Fishing License Needed If:

  • You are under 13 years of age (resident or nonresident).
  • Landowners, their spouses, and children, who fish on their farmland which is owned by an individual or a family. Landowners, their spouses, and children must be residents of Tennessee but need not reside on the land.
  • Tenants, their spouses, and dependent children fish on farmland owned by an individual or a family. Tenants, their spouses, and dependent children must be residents of Tennessee and must actually reside on the land and have the permission of the landowner to fish. A tenant is a person who, for money or free rent, or other consideration, cares for farmland. The tenancy must be agricultural in nature.
  • Resident grandchildren (under 16) and resident great-grandchildren (under 16) who fish on farmland which is owned by their resident grandparents or great-grandparents.
  • First cousins who own farmland jointly or in common may fish on the farmland. Their children may fish as well.
  • You are on military leave, carrying a copy of your leave orders. A pass does not meet this requirement.
  • You are a resident who was born before March 1, 1926. (To qualify for this exemption, you must carry proof of your age and residency to show to a wildlife officer, if requested.)
  • It's Free Fishing Day!
  • It's Free Fishing Week! Children all ages 15 and younger can fish free during the free fishing week.

Farmland Owner License Exemption

Persons hunting without a license under a resident farmland owner exemption must complete and sign a statement, attesting where the property is located and how this land qualifies for a landowner exemption. Persons may complete the form in advance and carry it with them while hunting or they may complete the form when requested in the field by a TWRA official or when checking game. Resident landowners and their children hunting on their parent's land under this exemption are also exempt from Hunter Education Certification requirements.

Resident Fishing License Qualifications

  • Persons who possess a valid Tennessee driver's license. Tennessee state law requires drivers to obtain a Tennessee driver's license within 30 days of residency. Out-of-state drivers license only accepted for Military Personnel and Students meeting the criteria below:
    • Military personnel on active duty in this state and dependents under age 16, who reside with them, regardless of resident status.
    • Students who are enrolled in a Tennessee school, college, or university for at least six months (must present a student ID card or other proof of enrollment
  • Persons who do not drive or do not possess a valid driver’s license from another state, but who have lived in Tennessee for 90 consecutive days with the genuine intent of making Tennessee their permanent home, may prove residency by presenting to a TWRA license agent any two of the following documents:
    • Current Tennessee voter registration card
    • Current Tennessee vehicle registration or title
    • Form I-94 issued by the US Citizenship & Immigration Service
    • Current rental/mortgage contract or receipt including deed of sale for property or receipt for payment of Tennessee real estate taxes within last year

A Social Security Number is required to purchase a Tennessee hunting or fishing license 

Type Description Cost
001 Annual Hunting & Fishing Combination
Minimum license required to fish and/or hunt small game
$34.00
002 Jr. Hunt, Fish & Trap (Ages 13-15)
Good for hunting all game, fishing, and trapping. Must be purchased prior to 16th birthday. No supplemental licenses are required, but special season and WMA permits will need to be purchased in addition to this license.
$10.00
020 County of Residence Fishing
This license allows an angler to fish in his/her county of residence with natural bait (worms, crickets, corn, etc.), but not minnows. No artificial lures can be used. A supplemental license (Type 022) is required to fish for trout.
$11.00
021 One-Day Fishing $6.50
022 Annual Trout
(Type 22 is a supplemental license that is required in addition to Type 001, Type 020 or Type 021)
$22.00
023 One-Day Fishing - All Species

$11.50
063 South Holston Lake Permit

$22.00
004 Sportsman
An all inclusive license, valid for hunting, trapping and sport fishing without any supplemental state licenses or permits. Sportsman licenses can be purchased from all TWRA license agents.
$166.00
401 Lifetime Sportsman (under 3 years old)
An all inclusive lifetime license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any supplemental state licenses or permits. Allows holders to apply for quota permits at no additional fee. Call your local TWRA office for an application or download an application to apply.
$320.00
406 Lifetime Sportsman (3-6 years old)
An all inclusive lifetime license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any supplemental state licenses or permits. Allows holders to apply for quota permits at no additional fee. Call your local TWRA office for an application or download an application to apply.
$659.00
402 Lifetime Sportsman (7-12 years old)
An all inclusive lifetime license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any supplemental state licenses or permits. Allows holders to apply for quota permits at no additional fee. Call your local TWRA office for an application or download an application to apply.
$988.00
403 Lifetime Sportsman (13-50 years old)
An all inclusive lifetime license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any supplemental state licenses or permits. Allows holders to apply for quota permits at no additional fee. Call your local TWRA office for an application or download an application to apply.
$1,976.00
404 Lifetime Sportsman (51-64 years old)
An all inclusive lifetime license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any supplemental state licenses or permits. Allows holders to apply for quota permits at no additional fee. Call your local TWRA office for an application or download an application to apply.
$1,153.00
405 Lifetime Sportsman (65+ years old)
An all inclusive lifetime license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any supplemental state licenses or permits. Allows holders to apply for quota permits at no additional fee. Call your local TWRA office for an application or download an application to apply.
$329.00
164 Annual Senior Citizen Hunt/Fish/Trap
Available at all license agents and can only be purchased when 65th birthday is reached. A valid Tennessee driver’s license or proof of age and residency is required. No supplemental licenses are required, but special season and WMA permits will need to be purchased in addition to this license. Fees apply when applying for quota hunt permits as well as “left over” permits.
 
166 Permanent Senior Citizen Hunt/Fish/Trap
Available at all license agents and can only be purchased when the 65th birthday is reached. A valid Tennessee driver's license or proof of age and residency is required. No supplemental licenses are required, but special season and WMA permits will need to be purchased in addition to this license. Fees apply when applying for quota hunt permits and "leftover" permits.
$50.00
167 Annual Senior Citizen Sportsman
An all-inclusive license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any state supplemental licenses or non-quota permits and allows holders to apply for quota permits at no additional fee. Annual Senior Sportsman licenses can be purchased from all license agents.
$50.00
Resident Permanent Fishing Licenses
The following licenses are available only by application from the TWRA Sales Office located in Nashville. They are available for a one-time fee and are valid for the rest of the license holder's life. They are not Lifetime Sportsman Licenses. Additional permits may be required. A trout license is not required.
168 Annual Resident Hunting & Fishing Disabled Under 18
Available to Tennessee residents under the age of 18 who meet the requirements of TCA 70-2-104 as amended. The certification of the total and permanent disability issued by a physician licensed to practice in Tennessee must accompany this application. Renewable annually with the current fee. Permits where required.
 
169 Hunt & Fish Intellect Disabled Resident
Minimum license required to fish and/or hunt statewide - Additional supplemental licenses may be required. This license is only valid as long as the license holder is a resident of the state of Tennessee. Tennessee residents over the age of 10 years may purchase by providing a certification by a physician licensed to practice in Tennessee as having an intellectual disability as described in TCA 33-1-101. Applicants will be required to complete the Hunter Education Course as provided in TCA 70-2-108.
$10.00
197 Permanent Sport Fishing License for the Blind $10.00
189 Permanent Wheelchair Hunting and Fishing
In accordance with TCA 70-2-104(a)(4)(a) a permanent sport combination hunting and fishing license is available to residents who are permanently restricted to wheelchairs or who have suffered an amputation of seventy-five percent (75%) or more of a lower limb. A certificate from a physician licensed to practice medicine in Tennessee is required. The certificate must state that the applicant is permanently restricted to a wheelchair or suffered an amputation of 75% or more of a lower limb.
$10.00
198 Permanent DAV Hunting and Fishing
Available to resident veterans certified by the VA as 30 percent disabled by reason of war service or 100% service-connected.
$10.00
199 Permanent Mentally Challenged
Must be receiving SSI benefits due to intellectual disability
$10.00

Nonresident Fishing Licenses

Type Description Cost
070

Jr. Hunt/Fish
Required for nonresidents age 13-15, fishing and small game only

$11.00
076 Annual Fishing - No Trout $50.00
077 Three-Day Fishing - No Trout $20.50
078 Three-Day Fishing - All Species $40.50
079 Ten-Day Fishing - No Trout $30.50
080 Ten-Day Fishing - All Species $61.50
081

Annual Fishing - All Species

$99.00

Special Permits (Resident and Nonresident)

If you purchase one of the following special permits, you must also have all applicable licenses.

Type Description Cost
097 Resident or Nonresident Gatlinburg 1-Day Trout Permit
Only requirement, ages 13 and up, to fish in Gatlinburg for one day.
$11.50
099 Gatlinburg Trout - Daily 
Required for both residents and nonresident ages 13-64 in addition to the appropriate fishing licenses except for nonresidents who purchase the Type 097 license.
$3.50
096 Gatlinburg 3-Day Trout Permit
Required for both residents and nonresidents ages 13-64 in addition to the appropriate fishing licenses except for nonresidents who purchase the (Type 097) permit.
$9.50
098 Tellico-Citico Trout-Daily 
Required for all ages. Tellico-Citico Permit is required seasonally to fish Tellico River, Citico Creek and year-round on Green Cove Pond.
$6.50
191 Agency Lake - Daily Permit
Required to fish Agency Fishing Lakes, except those under 16 years of age and residents 65 years or older.
$6.00
193 Agency Lake - Annual Permit
Valid on all Agency lakes, this permit is sold at Agency Lake offices.
$48.00
065 Bedford Lake Daily Permit $6.50

General Resident License Requirements

Resident licenses can be purchased by:

Persons who possess a valid Tennessee driver's license. Tennessee state law requires drivers to obtain a Tennessee driver's license within 30 days of residency. Out-of-state drivers license are only accepted for Military Personnel and Students meeting the criteria below:

  • Military personnel on active duty in this state and their immediate families, who reside with them, regardless of resident status.
  • Students who are enrolled in a Tennessee school, college, or university for at least six months.

Persons who have lived in Tennessee for 90 consecutive days with the genuine intent of making Tennessee their permanent home. Proof of residency is required.

  • Persons who do not drive or do not possess a valid driver’s license from another state, but who have lived in Tennessee for 90 consecutive days with the genuine intent of making Tennessee their permanent home, may prove residency by presenting to a TWRA license agent any two of the following documents: 
    • Current Tennessee voter registration card
    • Current Tennessee vehicle registration or title
    • Form I-94 issued by the US Citizenship & Immigration Service
    • Current rental/mortgage contract or receipt including deed of sale for property or receipt for payment of Tennessee real estate taxes within last year 

Tennessee Lifetime Sportsman License

A Social Security Number is required to purchase a Tennessee hunting or fishing license.

The Lifetime Sportsman License is available to any individual who has resided in Tennessee continuously for the twelve (12) consecutive months immediately preceding the purchase of the Lifetime Sportsman License.  Applicants under the age of three (3) years must have at least one parent or designated guardian who was a resident of Tennessee for the 12 months immediately preceding the purchase of the license.

The Lifetime Sportsman License entitles the holder to all the hunting and fishing privileges afforded holders of an Annual Sportsman License.  It is non-transferable and fees are non-refundable.  This license is good for the life of the holder even if the license holder moves out of state.  

In addition to the Lifetime Sportsman License card applicants will receive a certificate suitable for framing, which makes this special license a natural gift for children or grandchildren.

Revenue from the sale of the Lifetime Sportsman License will be set aside in a permanent trust fund from which only the interest will be used to finance programs designed to manage wildlife and preserve the heritage of hunting and fishing in Tennessee. The fee for a Lifetime Sportsman License must be paid in full in either cash, check, or credit card.  

Lifetime Sportsman License Fees

Applicants must submit a legible copy of their current Tennessee Driver's License in existence for at least twelve (12) months or other proof of twelve (12) months residency with this application. If the applicant is under the age of sixteen (16) and does not have a Tennessee Driver's License, you must include (1) a Legible photocopy of a parent's or guardian's Tennessee Driver's License in existence for at least twelve (12) months or other proof of twelve (12) month residency and (2) A legible photocopy of the applicant's birth certificate.

Applications for this new license may be obtained by calling the TWRA Nashville Office (615-781-6500), any of the four regional offices, or you can download the application and mail it in or fax it to (615) 837-4262.  Applications cannot be processed without the Social Security of the applicant.  

TWRA does accept applications through email at lifetime.license@tn.gov. Please be advised that the Lifetime License application requires personally identifiable information to be included on the application. Although the State of Tennessee and TWRA do the absolute best to keep our email environment secure, we cannot be held liable for any identity theft exposure that may occur should you choose to email the application, and the message is compromised. The email sender assumes all risks involved when submitting applications via an email service.

The Lifetime Sportsman License cannot be purchased at the online license center at this time.  Please use the appropriate form for your needs:

What To Do If You've Misplaced Your License

You may reprint all active licenses at any time by logging into your account from our website. You may also purchase a duplicate printed license at a cost of $7.00 at any of our licensing agents.

Guide Licenses

A guide is any individual who accepts compensation for providing assistance to another in any act of hunting, fishing and/or trapping and shall be required to possess a guide license in addition to any other required licenses.

Entities employing individuals as guides may purchase such resident and non-resident guide licenses as may be necessary for its employees.   Use the Miscellaneous Application to apply for a Guide License

Type Description Cost
450 Resident Guide License $150.00
455 Non-Resident Guide License $650.00

High Impact Habitat Conservation Permits

These permits must be purchased for horseback riding, bicycling, and ORV use. Youths under age 13 and persons holding a valid annual or permanent hunting license with a valid permit to hunt on these areas are exempt. At least one occupant of an enclosed vehicle must possess the proper permit(s). No permit shall be required on certain roads/trails as designated.

Areas requiring a HIHCP

Region I
Wolf River WMA

Region 2
Laurel Hill, Yanahli, Cheatham, Williamsport, Bear Hollow

Region 3
Bridgestone Firestone – Big Bottom Unit, Catoosa, Keyes-Harrison , Luper Mountain, Mt. Roosevelt, North Chickamauga Creek – Patton Unit, Pea Ridge , Skinner Mountain

Region 4
Forks of the River,NOTE: All interior trails closed to bicyclists. Will Skelton Greenway and Whaley Trail (formerly known as Bluff Trail) to the Burnett Creek Parking Area open to bicyclists. No High Impact Habitat Conservation Permit required for use of the Will Skelton Greenway/Whaley Trail. North Cumberland, NOTE: No High Impact Habitat Conservation Permit required on Peabody Road from its junction of US Highway 25W to the Hatfield Knob Elk Viewing Tower. No High Impact Habitat Conservation Permit shall be required on US Highways and/or County maintained roads that traverse North Cumberland WMA.

 

Type Description Cost
035 Resident Annual Permit $74.00
036 Resident Daily Permit $15.50
037 Non-Resident Annual Permit $233.00
038 Non-Resident Daily Permit $37.50

Reelfoot Preservation Permit

Required for all users except:   those under 16 years of age, residents 65 years or older, & holders of the Annual Sportsman license, Lifetime Sportsman license, or the Annual Senior Citizen Permit

Becoming An Authorized TWRA License Agent

If you are interested in becoming a TWRA License Agent, please contact the TWRA Revenue Office at 1-800-648-8798.

The TWRA is funded by two primary sources: license/permit sales and federal excise taxes (Pittman-Robertson and Wallop-Breaux). Tennessee's allocation of these federal taxes is based in part, on the number of hunters and fishermen in the state.

The TWRA does not receive any funding from the State's general fund (i.e. state sales tax).

Thank you for buying a license. Without your support, Tennessee would not have fish and wildlife management programs!