1915(c) HCBS Waivers

Tennessee's programs and services for people with intellectual disabilities include three Section 1915(c) HCBS waiver programs and Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IIDs). These waivers are closed to new enrollment as of July 1, 2016. For individuals currently seeking services, please visit the Employment and Community First CHOICES page for more information.

TennCare’s Division of LTSS provides long-term care services for individuals with intellectual disabilities in two different types of settings as defined in federal law: 1) through Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICFs/IID) or 2) through home and community-based settings. If an individual meets the ICF/IID level of care qualifications, as determined by the state and federal governments, then that individual has the right to choose between institutional ICF/IID care and home and community-based settings.

What is an ICF/IID?

An ICF/IID provides specialized services for individuals with an intellectual disability or related conditions. ICFs/IID were created as part of the Social Security Act and are an optional Medicaid benefit. These facilities are required to provide active treatment through intensive specialized supports and services designed to assist individuals with intellectual disabilities to develop increased skills and independence in functional life areas which are preventing the individual from living in a more independent setting.

All persons receiving ICF/IID services must meet the level of care criteria as defined in TennCare Rules. Many individuals who reside in ICFs/IID have transitioned out of large state institutions and have complex support needs that require a more intensive level of support. Tennessee’s private ICFs/IID are operated by individual ICF/IID provider agencies, while Tennessee’s public ICFs/IID are state owned and operated.

1915(c) HCBS Waiver Programs

Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) are alternatives to institutional care, which include care in ICFs/IID. Three 1915(c) waiver programs are approved by the federal government to provide HCBS to individuals with Intellectual disabilities. TennCare’s Division of LTSS is responsible for the 1915(c) waiver programs, and the Department of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (DIDD) is the state agency contracted by TennCare to operate the waiver programs.

Comprehensive Aggregate Cap Waiver (Control #0357.R04)

Statewide Waiver Program (Control #0128.R06)

Self Determination Waiver Program (Control #0427.R03.02)

LTSS Help Desk: 1-877-224-0219