Public Transit Services

Sit back, relax and let someone else deal with the traffic. Compared to driving, public transportation is less expensive, safer, and better for the environment.  It reduces traffic congestion, saves energy, and benefits the communities it serves.

Public Transportation is available in every county in Tennessee, with a wide range of services.

Below are links to information about public transit services in Tennessee. Options include fixed-route service, demand-response service, express buses, local shuttles, and complementary paratransit in compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).

Urbanized and Municipal Systems

West Tennessee

Jackson Transit Authority: ​Transit service in Jackson
Memphis Area Transit Authority (MATA): Transit service in Memphis, West Memphis, and parts of Shelby County

Middle Tennessee
WeGo (Nashville Transit): Transit service in Nashville-Davidson County
Music City Star: Commuter train connecting Nashville-Davidson County and Wilson County with stops in Martha, Mt. Juliet, Hermitage, Donelson, Lebanon, and downtown Nashville​
Regional Transit Authority (RTA) of Middle Tennessee:  Commuter service between downtown Nashville and outlying communities of Rutherford, Sumner, Dickson, Robertson, Williamson, Wilson, and Montgomery counties
Murfreesboro Rover: Transit service in Murfreesboro
Clarksville Transit System: Transit service in Clarksville
Franklin Transit Authority: Transit service in Franklin

East Tennessee
Gatlinburg Mass Transit: Trolley service in and around Gatlinburg
Pigeon Forge Mass Transit Trolley service in Pigeon Forge and Sevierville
Johnson City Transit: Transit service around Johnson City
Kingsport Area Transit Service: Transit service in the Kingsport area
Bristol Tennessee Transit: Transit service in the Bristol
Chattanooga Area Regional Transportation Authority (CARTA): Transit Service in the Chattanooga area
Knoxville Area Transit (KAT): Transit Service in the City of Knoxville
Knox County Community Action Committee (CAC) Transit: Transit service in Knox County
Cleveland Urban Area Transit System (CUATS): Transit service in the Cleveland area
Lakeway Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (LAMPTO) Transit: Transit services in Morristown, Jefferson City, White Pine, and Hamblen and Jefferson counties
Oak Ridge Transit: Transit service in the City of Oak Ridge

Rural Public Transportation Services

West Tennessee
Delta Human Resource Agency (DHRA): Transit services Fayette, Lauderdale, rural Shelby, and Tipton counties
Northwest Tennessee Human Resource Agency (NWTHRA): Transit services for Benton, Carroll, Crockett, Dyer, Gibson, Henry, Lake, Obion, and Weakley counties
Southwest Human Resource Agency (SWHRA): Transit service for Chester, Decatur, Hardeman, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Madison, and McNairy counties

Middle Tennessee
Mid-Cumberland Human Resource Agency (MCHRA): Transit service for Cheatham, Davidson, Dickson, Houston, Humphreys, Montgomery, Robertson, Rutherford, Stewart, Sumner, Trousdale, Williamson, and Wilson counties
South Central Tennessee Development District (SCTDD): Transit service for Bedford, Coffee, Franklin, Giles, Hickman, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Marshall, Maury, Moore, Perry, and Wayne counties
Upper Cumberland Human Resource Agency (UCHRA): Transit service for Cannon, Clay, Cumberland, DeKalb, Fentress, Jackson, Macon, Overton, Pickett, Putnam, Smith, Van Buren, Warren, and White counties

East Tennessee
Southeast Tennessee Human Resource Agency (SETHRA): Transit services Bledsoe, Bradley, Grundy, Marion, McMinn, Meigs, Polk, Rhea, Sequatchie Counties and the non-urbanized areas of Bradley and Hamilton counties.
East Tennessee Human Resource Agency (ETHRA): Transit for Anderson, Blount, Campbell, Claiborne, Cocke, Grainger, Hamblen, Jefferson, Knox, Loudon, Monroe, Morgan, Roane, Scott, Sevier and Union counties
Northeast Tennessee Rural Public Transit (NET Trans): Transit service for Carter, Greene, Hancock, Hawkins, Johnson, Sullivan, Unicoi and Washington Counties (operated by First Tennessee Human Resource Agency (FTHRA))