November 5, 2020 SBE Workshop

November 5, 2020


November 5, 2020

9:00 am


WebEx Meeting

Click here to join meeting electronically


9:00 a.m.                                                              Welcome       
Chairman Lillian Hartgrove                          
Dr. Sara Morrison  
State Board of Education

9:05 a.m.                                                              Member Discussion of Licensure  
Ms. Brittani Kendrick                                         Actions
Mr. Todd Madison
State Board of Education

9:20 a.m.                                                               Math Standards Review:  Process  and Proposed Revisions                                          
Dr. Stephanie Kolitsch                                        
UT Martin (Chairman of Math
Standards Development Committee) 
Ms. Catherine Johnson 
State Board of Education

10:00 a.m.                                                             Revised School Approval Process
Ms. LaQuisha Oliver                                            LEA Approval Manual
State Department of Education                       LEA Approval PPT

10:30 a.m.                                                             Break

10:40 a.m.                                                             Comments on the Educator Diversity Policy Proposal 
Dr. Diarese George  
TN Educators of Color Alliance

11:00 a.m.                                                             Commissioner's Updates
Commissioner Penny Schwinn
State Department of Education

11:15 a.m.                                                              Review of Progress on Research Goals for 2020-21 Master Plan
Ms. Erika Leicht
Ms. Amy Owen
State Board of Education

11:35 a.m.                                                              Updates on the Education Recovery and Innovation Commission
Mr. Nathan James
State Board of Education

11:45 a.m.                                                             Final Comments and Adjournment   
Chairman Lillian Hartgrove 
State Board of Education