Skip to Main Content

Find COVID-19 Information and Resources
Driver Services COVID-19 Updates

Reinstatements

Violations

Find a list of violations with guidance on what types of suspension or revocation action a driver may receive from the Department.

Pay Fees & Submit Documents

Find out how to pay your reinstatement fees and submit compliance documents to the Department for reinstatement.

Compliance Documents

Find a list of compliance documents a suspension or revocation may require that are compliant for reinstatement purposes.

Reissue License

Find information on how you can reissue your driver license after all reinstatement fees and documents have been received.

 Violations

Click a violation below to expand information about the suspension or revocation and reinstatement requirements.

Drivers convicted of multiple violations will have separate suspensions, revocations, reinstatement requirements, and reinstatement fees for each violation.

A driver who is convicted for Failure to Show Proof of Financial Responsibility may have their driving privileges suspended if they do not show proof of liability insurance in effect on the date of the violation.

Upon report of conviction, the Department will notify the driver of the pending suspension. The driver will have 30 days to submit proof of liability insurance in effect on the date of the violation. The insurance should show coverage for the driver or the vehicle they were operating at the time.  

If the proof of liability insurance in effect on the date of the violation is received within 30 days of the notice, the suspension will be avoided.

If proof of liability insurance in effect on the date of the violation is not received within 30 days of the notice or there was no insurance on the date of the violation, the driving privileges will be suspended until the reinstatement requirements are provided.

A driver may first be suspended for failure to satisfy or appear for a citation and then later suspended once the court reports the conviction for Failure to Show Proof of Insurance. The suspension for Failure to Show Proof of Insurance is separate from the first suspension and has an additional fee.   

Authority: T.C.A. 55-12-115

Mandatory Suspension? Yes, if not insured on date of violation.

Suspension Length: Until reinstatement requirements are provided.

Restricted License? No

Reinstatement Requirements:

All drivers and owners of vehicles involved in a crash in Tennessee are required to file an owner/operator report within 20 days of the date of the crash. The purpose of the owner/operator report is to place the proof of liability insurance on file in the event that another party involved in the crash files a claim for damages.

Drivers and owners of vehicles who were involved in and contributed to a crash in Tennessee and caused damages in the amount of $400 or more can have their driving privileges revoked if they have not complied with the Financial Responsibility Law by filing the owner/operator report or if the owner/operator report filed indicates that there was no liability insurance on the date of the crash.

Claims may be filed by other drivers or vehicle owners involved in the crash, their insurance companies, or their legal representatives.

When notice of a claim is submitted to the Department, the driver and/or owner is sent a notice of proposed suspension.  The driver and/or owner must take action within 20 days of the date of the notice in order to avoid revocation of the driving privileges.

Submit one of the following items within 20 days of the date of notice in order to avoid revocation:

A driver and/or owner may request a hearing within 20 days of the notice to determine if there is a reasonable possibility of a judgment.

 

Authority: T.C.A. 55-12-105 & T.C.A. 55-12-104

Mandatory Revocation? Yes, if not compliant within 20 days.  

Revocation Length: Until reinstatement requirements are provided.

Restricted License? Yes, if driver satisfies all reinstatement requirements except SR-22 insurance. An employer may provide SR-22 insurance on behalf of the driver and the driver may obtain a restricted license for work purposes only.

Reinstatement Requirements:

If revoked, one of the following may be provided for reinstatement: 

A driver or vehicle owner may also submit proof of bankruptcy as compliance for this requirement.

A driver or vehicle owner who has had a judgment rendered against them in court as a result of an automobile crash and has not satisfied the judgment, shall have their driving privileges revoked if the party which obtained the judgment requests driver license revocation.

Authority: T.C.A. 55-12-118

Mandatory revocation? Yes

Revocation Length: Until reinstatement requirements are submitted

Restricted license available? No

Reinstatement requirements:

A driver or vehicle owner may also submit proof of bankruptcy as compliance for this requirement.

Drivers who are required to carry and maintain SR-22 insurance may have their driving privileges suspended if their insurance company reports a cancellation (SR-26) prior to completing the requirement.

When the insurance company reports a cancellation (SR-26) of the SR-22 insurance to the Department, the driver is sent a notice of proposed suspension. A new SR-22 form prepared after the date of the notice must be submitted to the Department within 20 days in order to avoid suspension.

A driver may request a hearing within 20 days of the date of the notice to show that the SR-22 insurance was not cancelled.

Authority: T.C.A. 55-12-126

Mandatory suspension? No

Suspension Length: Until reinstatement requirements are submitted

Restricted license available? No

Reinstatement requirements:

Drivers who accumulate twelve or more points on their driving record within any 12 month period are sent a notice of proposed suspension and given an opportunity to attend an administrative hearing. If they fail to request a hearing, their driving privileges are suspended for a period of six to 12 months.

Defensive driving courses are only permitted to be completed once every 5 years.

Authority: T.C.A. 55-50-505

Mandatory suspension? No

Suspension Length: 6 to 12 months

Restricted license available? Yes

Reinstatement requirements:

Drivers who fail to appear in court for a traffic citation may have their driving privileges suspended.

Upon notice of Failure to Appear, the Department sends a notice to the driver giving 30 days to submit proof that the Failure to Appear has been satisfied in order to avoid suspension. If proof is not received within 30 days, the driving privileges are suspended.

Drivers may request a hearing within 30 days of the date of the notice to show that they did not Fail to Appear in court for the citation.

Authority: T.C.A. 55-50-502

Mandatory suspension? No

Suspension Length: Until reinstatement requirements are submitted.  

Restricted license available? No

Reinstatement requirements:

Drivers who are suspended prior to July 1, 2019 as a result of failure to satisfy the court after conviction of traffic violation must submit proof that the citation has been satisfied or is on a payment plan.

Authority: T.C.A. 55-50-502

Mandatory suspension? No

Suspension Length: Until reinstatement requirements are submitted.  

Restricted license available? Yes

Reinstatement requirements:

Drivers who are revoked prior to July 1, 2019 as a result of Failure to Satisfy Fines/Costs/Taxes a Non-driving Criminal Offense may submit proof that the offense is on a payment plan or has been satisfied in full.  

Authority: T.C.A. 40-24-105, Revocations Effective Prior to July 1, 2019

Mandatory suspension? Yes, if prior to July, 1 2019.  

Suspension Length: Until reinstatement requirements are submitted.  

Restricted license available? No.

Reinstatement requirements:

Drivers who Default on a Payment Plan for Fines/Costs/Taxes on Non-driving Criminal Offenses, may have their driving privileges suspended.

When the court notifies the Department that the driver has defaulted on a payment plan for a non-driving criminal offense, the Department will send a notice giving the driver 30 days to re-establish the payment plan with the court or satisfy the court in full to avoid suspension.

If the driver does not re-establish the payment plan with the court within 30 days and submit proof to the Department, the driving privileges will be suspended. The driver will then be required to either satisfy the court in full or re-establish the payment plan and apply for a restricted driver license.

Authority: T.C.A. 40-24-105, Suspensions Effective July 1, 2019 or later

Mandatory suspension? No.   

Suspension Length: Until satisfied in full.

Restricted license available? Yes. 

Reinstatement requirements:

Drivers who are suspended for Defaulting on a Payment Plan for Fines/Costs/Taxes on a Non-Driving Criminal Offense and have applied for a restricted license while making payments may have the restricted license revoked for a period of 6 months for subsequent default on the payment plan.  

When the court notifies the Department that the driver has defaulted on a payment plan for a non-driving criminal offense, the Department will send a notice giving the driver 30 days to re-establish the payment plan with the court or the Restricted License will be revoked for a period of 6 months.

If the driver does not re-establish the payment plan with the court within 30 days and submit proof to the Department, the Restricted License will be revoked for 6 months. After 6 months, the driver may re-apply for the Restricted License by re-establishing the payment plan with the court and obtaining a new court order. The 6 month revocation may be ended early by submitting proof that the criminal offense has been satisfied in full.  

Authority: T.C.A. 40-24-105, Suspensions Effective July 1, 2019 or later 

Mandatory revocation? No.

Revocation Length: 6 months unless satisfied in full.

Restricted license available? Yes.

Reinstatement requirements:

Drivers whose driving privileges are revoked, suspended, or cancelled in another state may have their driving privileges in Tennessee cancelled.

When the Department is notified of a revocation, suspension, or cancellation in another state, the driver is sent a notice to clear the issue in another state within 30 days or the Tennessee Driver License will be cancelled.

A driver may request a hearing within 30 days of the date of the notice to show that the driving privileges in the other state are not revoked, suspended, or cancelled.

Authority: T.C.A. 55-50-902

Mandatory suspension? No

Suspension Length: Until reinstatement requirements are submitted

Restricted license available? No

Reinstatement requirements:

A driver who is convicted of DUI will have their driving privileges revoked for a period of 1 – 8 years dependent upon the level of DUI convicted. T.C.A. 55-10-401 & T.C.A. 55-10-404

DUI 1st – 1 year

DUI 2nd – 2 years

DUI 3rd – 6 years

DUI 4th – 8 years

Authority: T.C.A. 55-10-401

Mandatory revocation? Yes.

Revocation Length: 1-8 years

Restricted license available during mandatory revocation period? Yes.

Reinstatement requirements:

A driver who is convicted of Implied Consent will have their driving privileges suspended for a period of 1-2 years depending on the determination of the court.

Authority: T.C.A. 55-10-406

Mandatory suspension? Yes

Suspension Length: 1-2 years

Restricted license available during mandatory suspension period? Yes

Reinstatement requirements:

A driver who is convicted of Underage Driving While Impaired will have their driving privileges suspended for a period of 1 year.  

Authority: T.C.A. 55-10-415

Mandatory suspension? Yes

Suspension Length: 1-2 years

Restricted license available during mandatory revocation period? No 

Reinstatement requirements:

A driver who is convicted of an 18-20 Year Old Alcoholic Beverage Violation Driving / Non-Driving shall have their driving privileges and ability to obtain a license suspended.

First offense – Serve a one-year suspension from conviction or reach age 17, whichever is greater. Suspension may be withdrawn early by the court after 90 days.

Second or subsequent offense – Serve a two-year suspension from conviction or reach age of 18. Suspension may be withdrawn early by the court after 1 year.

Authority: T.C.A. 57-5-301, T.C.A. 55-10-702

Mandatory Suspension? Yes

Suspension Length: 1-2 years or until age of 18, whichever is longer.  May be withdrawn earlier by the court.

Restricted License? Yes

Reinstatement Requirements:

Drivers under the age of 18 who are convicted of violations of the Drug Free Youth Act shall have their driving privileges and ability to obtain a license suspended.

First offense – Serve a one-year suspension from conviction or reach age 17, whichever is greater. Suspension may be withdrawn early by the court after 90 days.

Second or subsequent offense – Serve a two-year suspension from conviction or reach age of 18. Suspension may be withdrawn early by the court after 1 year.

Authority: T.C.A. 55-10-701

Mandatory Suspension? Yes

Suspension Length: 1-2 years or until age of 18, whichever is longer.  May be withdrawn earlier by the court.

Restricted License? Yes

Reinstatement Requirements:

Drivers under the age of 18 who are convicted of Presenting a Fake ID to Purchase Alcohol shall have their driving privileges and ability to obtain a license suspended.

First offense – Serve a one-year suspension from conviction or reach age 17, whichever is greater. Suspension may be withdrawn early by the court after 90 days.

Second or subsequent offense – Serve a two-year suspension from conviction or reach age of 18. Suspension may be withdrawn early by the court after 1 year.

Authority: T.C.A. 57-4-2038, T.C.A. 55-10-702

Mandatory Suspension? Yes

Suspension Length: 1-2 years or until age of 18, whichever is longer.  May be withdrawn earlier by the court.

Restricted License? Yes

Reinstatement Requirements:

Drivers under the age of 18 who are convicted of Possession of a Weapon shall have their driving privileges and ability to obtain a license suspended.

First offense – Serve a one-year suspension from conviction or reach age 17, whichever is greater. Suspension may be withdrawn early by the court after 90 days.

Second or subsequent offense – Serve a two-year suspension from conviction or reach age of 18. Suspension may be withdrawn early by the court after 1 year.

Authority: T.C.A. 39-17-1319, T.C.A. 55-10-701

Mandatory Suspension? Yes

Suspension Length: 1-2 years or until age of 18, whichever is longer.  May be withdrawn earlier by the court.

Restricted License? Yes

Reinstatement Requirements:

Drivers between the ages of 14 and 18 who fail to maintain adequate attendance or academic progress may have their driving privileges and/or ability to obtain a driver license suspended for a first offense. Second offenses have a mandatory suspension until the age of 18, the driver submits a diploma or GED, or the driver submits proof of emancipation.

When notice of failure to comply is submitted to the Department by the school, the driver is sent a notice of proposed suspension. The driver must submit proof of compliance within 30 days in order to avoid suspension.

Authority: T.C.A. 49-6-3017

Mandatory Suspension? No

Suspension Length: Until reinstatement requirements are submitted or driver reaches the age of 18.

Restricted License? No

Reinstatement Requirements:

A driver who is convicted of Driving while Suspended and the violation occurred prior to January 1st, 2017 will have their driving privileges suspended. The driver may reinstate this suspension at any time by providing reinstatement requirements.

A driver who is convicted of Driving while Revoked and the violation occurred prior to January 1st, 2017 will have their driving privileges revoked for a period of 1 year beginning on the date of conviction or added to the end of any mandatory revocation period for another offense, whichever is later.

Driving while Suspended and Driving while Revoked violations occurring January 1st, 2017 or later are not subject to license suspension or revocation upon conviction. However, each violation incurs 8 points which may contribute to a suspension for accumulation of convictions/points.

Authority: T.C.A. 55-50-504

Mandatory Suspension/Revocation? Yes, if occurred prior to January 1, 2017

Suspension/Revocation Length:

Driving on Suspended – Until reinstatement requirements are provided

Driving on Revoked – 1 year

Restricted License? No.

Reinstatement Requirements, if violation occurred prior to January 1, 2017:

A driver who is convicted of Hit and Run / Leaving the Scene of an Accident with a Fatality will have their driving privileges revoked for a period of one year.

Authority: T.C.A. 55-10-501

Mandatory Revocation? Yes

Revocation Length: 1 year

Restricted License? No

Reinstatement Requirements:

A driver who is convicted of Hit and Run / Leaving the Scene of an Accident with Personal Injury will have their driving privileges revoked for a period of one year.

Authority: T.C.A. 55-10-101

Mandatory Revocation? Yes

Revocation Length: 1 year

Restricted License? No

Reinstatement Requirements:

A driver who is convicted of Hit and Run / Leaving the Scene of an Accident may have their driving privileges suspended for 1 year if they cannot show proof of Financial Responsibility (Liability Insurance) in effect at the time of the violation.

Upon report of conviction, the Department will notify the driver of the pending suspension. The driver will have 30 days to submit proof of liability insurance in effect on the date of the violation. The insurance should show coverage for the driver or the vehicle they were operating at the time.  

If the proof of liability insurance in effect on the date of the violation is received within 30 days of the notice, the suspension will be avoided.

If proof of liability insurance in effect on the date of the violation is not received within 30 days of the notice or there was no insurance on the date of the violation, the driving privileges will be suspended for a period of 1 year from the date of the notice.

Authority: T.C.A. 55-10-102

Mandatory Suspension? Yes, if not insured on date of violation.

Suspension Length: 1 year

Restricted License? No

Reinstatement Requirements:

A driver who is convicted of Fleeing and Evading a Police Roadblock will have their driving privileges revoked for one year.

Authority: T.C.A. 39-16-Part 6, T.C.A. 55-50-501

Mandatory Revocation? Yes

Revocation Length: 1 year

Restricted License? No

Reinstatement Requirements:

A driver who is convicted of felony Reckless Endangerment (Vehicle) will have their driving privileges revoked for one year.

Authority: T.C.A. 39-19-103, T.C.A. 55-50-501

Mandatory Revocation? Yes

Revocation Length: 1 year

Restricted License? No

Reinstatement Requirements:

A driver who is convicted of Vehicular Assault or Aggravated Vehicular Assault will have their driving privileges revoked for a period of one year.

Authority: T.C.A. 39-13-106, T.C.A. 55-50-501

Mandatory Revocation? Yes

Revocation Length: 1 year

Restricted License? No

Reinstatement Requirements:

A driver who is convicted of Vehicular Homicide/Manslaughter, Aggravated Vehicular Homicide/Manslaughter will have their driving privileges revoked for a period of three to eight years depending upon the determination of the court. If the court does not indicate the length of revocation, the revocation length will default to eight years.

Authority: T.C.A. 39-13-2013, T.C.A. 55-50-501

Mandatory Revocation? Yes

Revocation Length: 3-8 years

Restricted License? No

Reinstatement Requirements:

A driver who is convicted of Using a Motor Vehicle in a Felony will have their driving privileges revoked for a period of one year.

Authority: T.C.A. 55-50-501

Mandatory Revocation? Yes

Revocation Length: 1 year

Restricted License? No

Reinstatement Requirements:

A driver who is convicted of Theft of a Vehicle or Part of a Vehicle will have their driving privileges revoked for a period of one year.

Authority: T.C.A. 55-50-501

Mandatory Revocation? Yes

Revocation Length: 1 year

Restricted License? No

Reinstatement Requirements:

A driver who is convicted of having an Altered / Counterfeit license will have their driving privileges revoked for a period of one year.

Authority: T.C.A. 55-50-601 & 55-50-602

Mandatory Revocation? Yes

Revocation Length: 1 year

Restricted License? No

Reinstatement Requirements:

Drivers who have an order of revocation for habitual offender status prior to July 1, 2019 shall have their driving privileges revoked for a period of 3 years.

Drivers with revocations effective prior to July 1st, 2019 who have not yet ended the 3 year revocation period, may submit a court order for reinstatement prior to the expiration of the 3 year period.

Authority: T.C.A. 55-10-613

Mandatory Revocation? Yes, if effective prior to July 1st, 2019

Revocation Length: 3 years

Restricted License? No

Reinstatement Requirements, if revocation effective prior to July 1st, 2019:

A driver who is convicted of Driving after Convicted as Habitual Offender will have their driving privileges revoked for 1 year if the violation occurred prior to July 1st, 2019.

Authority: T.C.A. 55-50-501

Mandatory Revocation? Yes, if occurred prior to July 1st, 2019

Revocation Length: 1 year

Restricted License? No

Reinstatement Requirements, if violation occurred prior to July 1st, 2019:

A driver who is convicted of Speed/Contest Racing will have their driving privileges revoked for a period of one year.

A driver who is convicted of two or more Speed/Contest Racing violations in a 10 year period will have their driving privileges revoked for life.

Authority: T.C.A. 55-10-502

Mandatory Revocation? Yes

Revocation Length:

First offense – 1 year

2nd or subsequent offense - Lifetime

Restricted License? No

Reinstatement Requirements for first violation:

A driver who is convicted of Two Reckless Driving Violations which occurred in a 12 month period will have their driving privileges revoked for a period of one year.

Authority: T.C.A. 55-50-501

Mandatory Revocation? Yes

Revocation Length: 1 year

Restricted License? No

Reinstatement Requirements:

A driver who is convicted of Driving off without Paying for Fuel will have their driving privileges suspended for a period of 1-2 years depending on the number of convictions.

Authority: T.C.A. 39-14-151

Mandatory suspension? Yes

Suspension Length:

First offense – 1 year

Second offense – 2 years

Restricted license? Yes

Reinstatement requirements:

A driver who is convicted of Driving While Possessing Methamphetamine will have their driving privileges revoked for a period of 5 years.

Authority: T.C.A. 55-50-506

Mandatory Revocation? Yes

Revocation Length: 5 years

Restricted License? No

Reinstatement Requirements:

Drivers who entered into a payment plan with the Department for re-payment of reinstatement fees and subsequently default on the payment plan, may have their driving privileges suspended.

When a payment plan payment is missed, the driver is sent a notice of proposed suspension and given 30 days to remit the payment and avoid suspension.  This does not change the payment plan due date of any subsequent payments due.

Drivers who have defaulted on a payment plan for reinstatement fees are not eligible to enter into another payment plan until the defaulted fees are satisfied in full. See promulgated rules governing payment plans.

Authority: T.C.A. 55-12-129

Mandatory Suspension? No

Suspension Length: Until remainder of defaulted fees are satisfied in full

Restricted License? No

Reinstatement Requirements:

 Compliance Documents

Drivers are asked to submit a variety of compliance documents depending on the reason for suspension or revocation. The list below provides guidance on what documents are compliant for reinstatement purposes.

For how to submit compliance documents, visit the Pay Fees and Submit Documents section.

Drivers who held a valid Tennessee driver license or permit at the time of a suspension or revocation are required to surrender the license within 20 days. If the license is not surrendered, an additional $75 fee is applied. T.C.A. 55-12-127

Drivers may comply with the surrender requirement in the following ways:

  • Surrender the driver license at any Driver Service Center or Tennessee Highway Patrol office. A surrender receipt will be provided, the driver will need to submit a copy of the receipt to the Financial Responsibility Unit .
  • Mail the driver license to the Financial Responsibility Unit – P.O. BOX 945, Nashville, TN 37202-0945.
  • Submit a receipt that the driver license was confiscated by a law enforcement agency.
  • Submit a receipt that the driver license was surrendered to a court.
  • If you are no longer in possession of your driver license because it was lost or stolen, you may submit a statement explaining what happened to the license.

Drivers may be required to submit proof of liability insurance in effect at the time of a violation or submit proof of liability insurance currently in effect.  

At the time of the violation – The proof of insurance effective date range must include the date of the violation and must clearly show that the driver was the policy holder, was a covered driver on the policy, or show coverage for the vehicle operated at the time of the violation. 

Current liability insurance – The proof of insurance must clearly show the driver as the policy holder or a covered driver. The effective date range of the insurance must include the current date.  If you do not own a vehicle, you may obtain a non-owner’s policy. 

Only the insurance ID card or policy declaration pages are needed. Typically, this is only one page. Please do not submit multiple pages or additional policy documentation as they are not needed and will add to the time required to process your document. 

About the SR-22 Insurance Requirement

Drivers with certain types of suspensions or revocations are required to keep and maintain SR-22 insurance. The SR-22 insurance must be carried for a minimum of 3 years following the date of the suspension or revocation and may be required for up to 5 years. 

New suspensions or revocations which also require SR-22 insurance will restart the requirement over from the date of the new action. 

Cancellation of the SR-22 insurance may result in suspension of the driving privileges.  If your insurance company submits a cancellation or proposed cancellation of your SR-22 insurance, you or your insurance company must submit a new SR-22 form prepared after the cancellation notice. 

Obtaining an SR-22 Form

In order to obtain SR-22 insurance, contact a liability insurance carrier licensed to do business in Tennessee and have them file an SR-22 form with this department. 

If you are an out of state resident, the SR-22 form must show filed with Tennessee, not your home state. 

If you do not own a vehicle, you may obtain a non-owner’s policy. 

The SR-22 form is a specific form and differs from the insurance ID card and policy pages. You may have to request that your insurer provide this document to you. 

Out of State SR-22 Waiver

If you are a resident of another state, you may request a waiver of the Tennessee SR-22 requirement. Please contact our office at 866-903-7357 to request an out of state waiver.  

You and a representative from the licensing authority in your state will be required to complete the waiver and send it back to our department. Once approved, SR-22 insurance will not be required for Tennessee while you remain a resident of another state. 

Should you wish to obtain a license in Tennessee before expiration of the SR-22 requirement, SR-22 insurance would be required as part of the licensing process. 

A conditional release may be required if a driver has a revocation or pending revocation for an Accident Claim or Unsatisfied Judgment. 

To obtain a conditional release, you must contact the party which filed a claim or obtained a judgment against you. If you do not know who the other party is, you should contact our office at 866-903-7357

A conditional release is provided to you while you are making payments towards and amount owed to the other party.  Should you default on the conditional release after reinstatement from the revocation, your driving privileges may be revoked again. 

The conditional release must be signed and dated by the party who filed the claim or obtained the judgment. 

A general release may be required if a driver has a revocation or pending revocation for an Accident Claim or Unsatisfied Judgment. 

To obtain a general release, you must contact the party which filed a claim or obtained a judgment against you. If you do not know who the other party is, you should contact our office at 866-903-7357

A general release is provided to you if you have fully satisfied the other party. 

The general release must be signed and dated by the party who filed the claim or obtained the judgment. 

A driver may satisfy a pending Accident Claim revocation by posting a bond with our department in the amount of the claim.  If, after one year, the driver has not been sued as a result of the crash, the bond may be refunded to the driver.

A bond may be released in the following ways:

  • It may be released to the individual verifying one year has passed since the crash and that no judgment has been filed against them for this crash.
  • It may be released to the individual upon receipt of a general or conditional release.
  • It may be release to the court by submitting a certified copy of a judgment against the individual

ImportantA bond posted with the Department is not sent to the party who filed the claim, the bond is held by the Department.  In order to satisfy the other party, you must contact them to obtain a conditional or general release.   

All drivers and owners of vehicles involved in a crash in Tennessee are required to file an owner/operator report within 20 days of the date of the crash. 

The purpose of the owner/operator report is to place the proof of liability insurance on file in the event that another party involved in the crash files a claim for damages. 

If a claim is filed against you and you have not filed an owner/operator report with the department showing proof of liability insurance in effect on the date of the crash, your driving privileges may be revoked. 

If there was insurance on the date of the violation, you may submit an owner/operator report within 20 days of the notice of proposed revocation to avoid revocation.  We will verify any insurance submitted with your insurance company. 

Important – The Owner/Operator Report is not a crash report. Filing the report with our Department immediately after a crash does not generate any type of crash report or returned notice. The form is simply filed in the event that another party files a claim against you. 

If you need a crash report, you must contact the law enforcement agency in the jurisdiction where the crash occurred. 

A driver who is currently revoked for failure to satisfy a judgment rendered against them as a result of a crash may submit documentation from the court where the judgment was rendered provided that the judgment is more than 10 years old and has not been renewed. 

In order to obtain a Judgment Non-Renewal Letter, you will need to contact the court where the judgment was rendered. If you do not know where the judgment was rendered, please contact our office at 866-903-7357.

The Defensive Driving Course may be required in order to avoid suspension, reinstate driving privileges, or reinstate early from a suspension for Accumulation of Convictions / Points. 

The Defensive Driving Course must be completed after the date of notification of proposed suspension.  Defensive Driving Courses completed prior to any proposed suspension cannot be accepted. 

The Defensive Driving Course may only be completed once every 5 years. Find an approved Defensive Driving Course here.

If a driver has failed to satisfy or failed to appear for a traffic citation, they are required to submit proof that the citation has been satisfied or is on a payment plan with the court.

In order to obtain a release from the court or set up a payment plan for the fines/costs, you will need to contact the court. View your reinstatement requirements, citation information, and obtain court contact information online in e-Services.

If a driver has failed to satisfy a non-driving criminal offense, they are required to submit proof that the offense has been satisfied or is on a payment plan with the court.

In order to obtain a release from the court or set up a payment plan for the fines/costs/fees/taxes, you will need to contact the court.  View your reinstatement requirements, offense docket numbers, and obtain court contact information online in e-Services.

Clearance from another state is required when our department is notified of a suspension/revocation/cancellation in another state.

In order to comply with this requirement the following items will be accepted:

  • A clearance letter from the other state showing that your driving privileges are no longer withdrawn in that state
  • An MVR from the other state showing the status of your driving privileges are not suspended/revoked/cancelled
  • A “Not Me” Letter from the other state showing that the suspended/revoked/cancelled record in the other state does not belong to you
  • Documentation from the other state indicating that the suspended/revoked/cancelled record in the other state is the result of identity theft

In order to resolve any issues in another state and obtain a clearance letter, you must contact that state directly. If you do not know which state to contact, please call our office at 866-903-7357

Certain violation suspensions and revocations require proof from the court that they have been satisfied in full in order to reinstate your driving privileges.

In order to obtain certification from the court, you will need to contact the court directly.  View your reinstatement requirements, violation descriptions, and obtain court contact information online in e-Services

Unless required for driving on a suspended license, the court certification cannot show the violation is on a payment plan with the court. It must be satisfied in full and the date it was satisfied. T.C.A. 55-50-303(b)(1) & (2)

If you have been convicted of driving under the influence more than once, you must submit proof that you have completed a court in Drug/Alcohol Abuse Education after your last arrest for driving under the influence. T.C.A. 55-50-502(c)(1)

To find a DUI school in Tennessee, please visit the Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse website.

The certificate of completion must include:

  • A certificate or statement on facility letterhead
  • Must be signed by a representative of the school or institution 
  • Must show date completed, not discharged or attended
  • Must state that is was a Drug/Alcohol abuse program
  • Must include the driver’s name

Pursuant to T.C.A. 55-10-425, all drivers convicted of DUI violations occurring July 1st, 2016 or later will be restricted to operating only vehicles equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device for a minimum of three hundred and sixty-five (365) days upon reinstating the driving privilege. 

Proof of installation from an approved ignition interlock provider must be submitted to the Department electronically.

365-Day Minimum Requirement and Compliance-based Removal

Ignition interlock is required for a minimum of 365 days or the entire length of the driver license revocation period, whichever is longer. Removal of the device is compliance-based.  

The 365-day ignition interlock requirement may begin during the mandatory revocation period provided that the driver applies for a restricted license.  

You must obtain a restricted license from the Department of Safety during your revocation or suspension period in order for your ignition interlock installation to be recognized by the Department. Failure to do so will result in the interlock requirement being imposed after your license is reinstated.  

Restricted licenses are not available after your mandatory revocation period has ended.

For more information regarding a restricted license please visit: https://www.tn.gov/safety/driver-services/reinstatements/frrestricteddl.html

To find a TN approved ignition interlock provider, information about compliance-based removal, and other ignition interlock related questions, please visit Ignition Interlock Program Help Center.

Ignition Interlock Waiver – Out of State

If you are a resident of another state, you may request a waiver of the Tennessee 365-day ignition interlock requirement. Please contact our office at 866-903-7357 to request an out of state waiver.

You and a representative from the licensing authority in your state will be required to complete the waiver and send it back to our department. Once approved, the 365-day ignition interlock requirement will not be required for Tennessee while you remain a resident of another state.

Should you wish to obtain a license in Tennessee in the future, you will be required to submit proof of ignition interlock installation before application and the minimum 365-day requirement will begin at license issuance.  

Ignition Interlock Wavier – Court Findings

In certain circumstances ignition interlock may be waived if a finding of fact is submitted to the Department by the court where you were convicted.

Implied Consent / Refused to Test – Interlock may be waived if you violated the implied consent law under T.C.A. 55-10-406, and in the 5 years prior to the date of violation do not have a conviction for:

  • Implied Consent under T.C.A. 55-10-406
  • Underage DWI under T.C.A. 55-10-415
  • Open Container Law under T.C.A. 55-10-416
  • Reckless Driving under T.C.A. 55-10-205 where the charged offense was T.C.A. 55-10-401

Driving Under the Influence – Interlock may be waived if the DUI meets the following conditions:

  • Your violation was alcohol only and the BAC% was under .08% or your violation was drugs only with no alcohol present. A test must have been completed and the results of that test must be available including BAC%, AND;
  • You were not accompanied by a person under 18 years of age, AND;
  • You were not involved in a reportable traffic accident or the accident was not the proximate result of the DUI, AND;
  • You do not have a prior DUI in the 10 years prior to the date of the current DUI violation
  • T.C.A. 55-10-425 & T.C.A 55-10-409

You may obtain an interlock certification waiver by contacting our department at 866-903-7357.  Have the court complete the wavier and then submit the completed waiver to our Department for review.  

If the court fails to make a specific finding that T.C.A. 55-10-409(b)(2)(B) is not applicable in the instant case, if the finding made by the court is incomplete, or if the finding does not contain adequate information for the department to determine the applicability, the person shall be required by default to install and use a functioning ignition interlock device for a minimum 365-day consecutive period or for the entire duration of the driver license revocation period, whichever is longer.

If you have more than one DUI conviction and the violation dates are within 5 years of each other and at least one of the violations occurred on or after October 1, 2002; or if the court ordered you to use an ignition interlock device pursuant to T.C.A. 55-10-417(k), then you will be restricted to operating only vehicles with a functioning interlock device for six (6) months after you reinstate you driving privileges.

There is no waiver of this requirement. It cannot be waived by court order, court certification, or by any other method. 

If your most recent DUI occurred on or after July 1, 2016, then this 6 month requirement is subject to compliance-based removal under T.C.A. 55-10-425 and this 6 month requirement is in addition to the 365-day, compliance based removal, ignition interlock requirement above. 

To find a TN approved ignition interlock provider, information about compliance-based removal, and other ignition interlock related questions, please visit Ignition Interlock Program Help Center. 

Proof of interlock installation must be submitted electronically by your ignition interlock provider. 

If you are not a Tennessee Resident, you are not required to meet this requirement in order to reinstate your driving privileges in Tennessee. Should you wish to obtain a license in Tennessee in the future, you will be required to submit proof of ignition interlock installation before application and the 6 month requirement will begin at license issuance.

Drivers who have an order of revocation for habitual offender status prior to July 1, 2019 must submit a court order reinstating their driving privileges. 

To obtain a court order reinstating your driving privileges, contact the court where you were convicted or the General Sessions County in which you live. 

Drivers with revocations effective prior to July 1st, 2019 who have not yet ended the 3 year revocation period, may submit a court order for reinstatement prior to the expiration of the 3 year period. 

Juveniles convicted of violations of the Drug Free Youth Act, 18-20 Year Old Alcoholic Beverage violation, or Possession of  Weapon, or Presenting a Fake ID to Purchase Alcohol must submit an order of withdrawal from the court where they were convicted. 

To be eligible for an early withdrawal, an individual must serve 90 days from the date of conviction of a first offense and 1 year from the date of conviction on a 2nd offense. 

To obtain a withdrawal, contact the court where you were convicted. To view your reinstatement requirements, conviction information, and obtain court contact information, please visit: https://dl.safety.tn.gov/_/

If the violation occurred out of state, a letter from the court stating all requirements have been met is needed. 

This withdrawal is needed even if you are now over the age of 18.

Juveniles who were suspended as a result of failure to Maintain Satisfactory Academic Progress or Satisfactory Attendance, must submit one of the following documents for reinstatement:

  • Certification from the school that you are enrolled and making satisfactory progress
  • Certification from the school that you are enrolled with satisfactory attendance
  • Home School Form – SF-1193
  • Certification that you are enrolled and making satisfactory progress in a GED or HISET program
  • High school diploma
  • GED or HISET Certificate
  • Proof of Emancipation
  • Marriage Certificate
  • Proof you are now 18 years of age or older

 Pay Fees & Submit Documents

To view options for paying reinstatement fees or submiting compliance documents, expand the sections below.

Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security
Attention to: Reinstatements
P.O. Box 945
Nashville, TN 37202

Payments accepted as money order or cashier's check made out to Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security. No personal checks or cash. Include full name, date of birth and driver license number.

  • Online in e-Services
  • Log into your e-Services account to view and submit your required compliance documents.

    The Financial Responsibility Office will review and accept or reject the documents once submitted. 

    Please allow up to 5 business days for review and do not submit the same document more than one time via any method. Duplicate submissions will delay the review of your documents.

    Once all reinstatement requirements have been met and accepted, you can view your license status in e-Services and reissue after reinstatement if eligible.

  • Reinstatement Center
  • Fax
(615) 242-3480
  • Mail
Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security
Attention to: Reinstatements
P.O. Box 945
Nashville, TN 37202

Include full name, date of birth and driver license number with mailed documents.

 Reissue License

Below are options available to reissue your driver license after all reinstatement fees and documents have been received.

Note – not all drivers are eligible to use online, self-service kiosk, or iPad for reissuance.