Skip to Main Content

Department of Safety and Homeland Security Releases Statement on Ruling Issued by U.S. District Judge Trauger NASHVILLE --- The Department of Safety and Homeland Security has received the order. It will stop suspensions of licenses, as the Court requires, and it will promptly review the balance of the order to determine the appropriate next steps. Please be patient as we work through this process.

Financial Responsibility Laws

The following is a guide that will assist you in learning about Tennessee's Financial Responsibility Laws and its related subjects.
 

Areas

Minimum Limits of Liability

The Tennessee Code Annotated (TCA) 55-12-102(12) references minimum limits of liability for the state of Tennessee which currently are:

  • $25,000.00 for one injury or death
  • $50,000.00 for all injuries or deaths
  • $15,000.00 for property damage for one accident