Physical Education Standards

The State Board of Education (SBE) has the authority to adopt academic standards for each subject area in grades K-12. The SBE sets the requirements for high school graduation. Per SBE Rule, students must achieve one high school level unit of Wellness and half-unit of Physical Education in order to graduate with a high school diploma.


K-12 Physical Education

Physically educated students will demonstrate competency in motor skills and movement patterns needed to perform a variety of physical activities.


Physical Education Standards Coding

  • For grades K-8:
    • Component – Standard Number – Grade
    • Example:
      • PSR.1.3 – Works independently and stays on-task.
      • Personal & Social Responsibility – Standard 1 – Grade 3
  • For grades 9-12:
    • Component – Standard Number - asterisk* (Optional component extension, if applicable)
    • Example:
      • PSR.3 – Demonstrate positive attitudes towards self and others through verbal and nonverbal behaviors.