License and Permit Information

Purchasing Online

License Expiration Dates: Annual licenses and permits are valid 365 days from the date of purchase unless otherwise noted. Example: If you purchase an annual license on February 1 that license expires on February 1 the following year. Some items, such as Migratory Bird Permits, have fixed expiration dates regardless of the date of purchase. Please take note of the effective and expiration dates of the licenses in the cart prior to checkout.

Renewal Eligibility: Existing licenses must be within 10 days of expiration in order to be eligible for renewal.

Seasons are subject to change & license fees are subject to change.  The exceptions to the change are Captive Wildlife Permits, Migratory Bird Permits, and Federal Duck Stamp which will expire on June 30 of each year. Purchased GoOutDoorsTennessee.

Beginning in 2023 Slat Basket Tags will also expire on June 30 of each year and can be purchased online at GoOutDoorsTennessee.

Most licenses are available via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office, at county clerks, sporting goods stores, hardware stores, and boat docks.  Some exceptions are specialty licenses, such as Wheelchair, Disabled Veteran, Intellectually Disabled, and Blind Fishing licenses, and the Lifetime Sportsman License. The Lifetime Sportsman License cannot be purchased at general license agents. learn more about Tennessee's Lifetime Sportsman's License by clicking here.


Native Tennessean Annual Hunting/Fishing Licenses

Nonresidents who were born in Tennessee may apply for Native Tennessean annual licenses. These licenses provide non-residents born in the state but no longer residing in the state, the opportunity to purchase annual Tennessee hunting/ fishing/trapping licenses at the same cost as a resident. 

First-time applicants must apply by using the Native Tennessean Annual License Application.  Native non-residents who have previously applied can renew their licenses via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office

Email sign up link

General Hunting  License Requirements

Resident Hunting licenses can be purchased On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office

Most licenses, except the Lifetime Sportsman License and specialty licenses, such as Wheelchair, Disabled Veteran, SSI (Supplemental Security Income), and Blind Fishing licenses, are available from most county clerks, sporting goods stores, hardware stores, marinas, On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office

Hunting licenses are valid from the date of purchase until 365 days after purchase for most license types. 

Note: A Social Security Number is required by federal law to purchase a Tennessee hunting or fishing license.

Seasons are subject to change. License fees are subject to change. Migratory bird seasons are determined by federal regulations.

Native Tennessean

Nonresidents who were born in Tennessee may apply for Native Tennessean annual licenses. These licenses provide non-residents born in the state but no longer residing in the state, the opportunity to purchase annual Tennessee hunting/ fishing/trapping licenses at the same cost as a resident.  First-time applicants must apply by using the Native Tennessean Annual License Application.  Native non-residents who have previously applied can renew their licenses via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office

Misplaced a License?

All paper copies of hunting licenses including lifetime licenses may be printed at no cost at GoOutdoorsTennessee.com at any time. You can also replace your license at any license agent for a fee of $8.00. Please verify your address at the time of purchase. 

Resident licenses can be purchased by:

• Persons who possess a valid Tennessee driver’s license or Tennessee state ID issued by the Department of Safety. Tennessee state law requires drivers to obtain a Tennessee driver's license within 30 days of residency. Out-of-state driver's licenses are only accepted for Military Personnel and Students meeting the criteria below.

• Military personnel on active duty in Tennessee and children under 16 years of age who reside with them, regardless of Tennessee resident status.

• Students who are enrolled in a Tennessee school, college, or university for at least six months, with an appropriate student ID.

• Persons who do not drive or do not possess a valid driver's license from another state, but who have lived in Tennessee for 90 consecutive days with the genuine intent of making Tennessee their permanent home, may prove residency by  presenting to a TWRA license agent any two of the following documents:

» Current Tennessee voter registration card;

» Current Tennessee vehicle registration or title;

» Form I-94 issued by the U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Service;

» Current rental/mortgage contract or receipt including deed of sale for property or receipt for payment of Tennessee real estate taxes within last year.

License Exemptions

  • Residents born before March 1, 1926 (with proof of age and residency). 
  • Military personnel on leave carrying leave papers.
  • Landowners, their spouses, children, and children's spouses who hunt on their own farmland. The aforementioned must be residents of Tennessee but need not reside on the land. This license exemption does not apply if the farmland is owned jointly or in common by unrelated persons
  • Resident grandchildren (under the age of 16) and resident great-grandchildren (under the age of 16) who hunt on farmland that is owned by their resident grandparents or great-grandparents. (See below, Farmland Owner License Exemption.)
  • Tenants, their spouses, and their dependent children who hunt on farmland which is owned by an individual or a family. The aforementioned must be residents of Tennessee and must actually reside on the land and have permission from the landowner to hunt. A tenant is a person who, for money, free rent, or other consideration, cares for farmland. The tenancy must be agricultural in nature
  • First cousins who own farmland jointly or in common may fish and hunt small game on the farmland. Their children may fish and hunt small game as well. Persons hunting without a license under a resident farmland owner exemption must complete and sign a statement attesting where the property is located and how this land qualifies for a landowner exemption. Persons may complete the form in advance and carry it with them while hunting or they may complete the form when requested in the field by a TWRA official or when checking game.
  • Landowners and their children hunting on their parent’s land under this exemption are also exempt from Hunter Education Certification requirements and blaze orange requirements.
  • Mandatory Hunter Education
  • All hunters, resident or nonresident, born on or after Jan. 1, 1969, must possess proof that they have successfully completed a Hunter Education course. Hunter Education certification is accepted from all other states. Those under 10 years of age do not need a Hunter Education certificate but must be accompanied by an adult at least 21 years of age who must remain in a position to take immediate control of the hunting device.  

Resident Hunting Licenses

Description Cost
Hunting and Fishing Combination* 
Minimum license required to fish and/or hunt small game
*Supplemental Licenses (Waterfowl, BG Gun, BG Archery or BG Muzzleloader) is required and must be purchased, in addition to a Hunting and Fishing Combination license, in order to hunt deer, bear, boar (feral hog), turkey, and waterfowl.
The type of hunting equipment to be used determines which supplemental license is necessary.
$33.00
Waterfowl Supplemental License
*Purchase with Hunting & Fishing Combination License via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office
$37.00
Annual Big Game Gun Supplemental License
*Purchase with Hunting & Fishing Combination License via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office
$33.00
Annual Big Game Archery Supplemental License
*Purchase with Hunting & Fishing Combination License via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office
$33.00
Annual Big Game Muzzleloader Supplemental License
*Purchase with Hunting & Fishing Combination License via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office
$33.00
Trapping
Trapping licenses can be purchased via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office
$33.00
Annual Sportsman
An all-inclusive license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any state supplemental licenses or non-quota permits and allows holders to apply for quota permits at no additional fee. Annual Sportsman licenses can be purchased  via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office
$165.00
Junior Hunt/Trap/Fish
Ages 13-15. A Junior Hunt/Trap/Fish license is good for hunting all game, fishing, and trapping. Must be purchased prior to 16th birthday. No supplemental licenses are required, but WMA permits will need to be purchased in addition to this license. Fees apply when applying for quota hunt permits and "leftover" permits.
$9.00
Permanent Senior Citizen Hunt/Fish/Trap
Available at all license agents and can only be purchased when the 65th birthday is reached. A valid Tennessee driver’s license or proof of age and residency is required. No supplemental licenses are required, but WMA permits will need to be purchased in addition to this license. Fees apply when applying for quota hunt permits as well as “leftover” permits.
$49.00
Annual Senior Citizen Hunt/Fish/Trap
Available at all license agents and can only be purchased when the 65th birthday is reached. A valid Tennessee driver's license or proof of age and residency is required. No supplemental licenses are required, but WMA permits will need to be purchased in addition to this license. Fees apply when applying for quota hunt permits and "leftover" permits.
$4.00
Annual Senior Citizen Sportsman
An all-inclusive license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any state supplemental licenses or non-quota permits and allows holders to apply for quota permits at no additional fee. Annual Senior Sportsman licenses can be purchased from all license agents.
$49.00

Non-Resident Hunting Licenses

Description Cost
Junior Hunt/Fish - No Big Game
Required for nonresidents ages 13-15 to fish or hunt small game. A 7-Day Junior or Junior ALL Game Annual is required to hunt big game.
$10.00
7-Day Junior Hunt - All Game $26.00
Annual Junior Hunt - All Game $41.00
7-Day Hunt-Small Game/Waterfowl - No Big Game $61.00
Hunt-Small Game/Waterfowl - No Big Game $110.00
7-Day Hunting - All Game $214.00
Annual Hunting - All Game $305.00
Trapping $200.00
Nonresident Elk License $301.00

Apprentice License

Description Cost

Apprentice Hunter Education Permit

This is a supplemental license instead of a hunter education certificate.  You can purchase this license  On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office

This license is available to all hunters 10 years of age or older who have not completed the mandatory hunter education course. It exempts the hunter from the mandatory hunter education requirement for one year from the date of purchase, but may only be purchased for up to three consecutive years during the lifetime of the hunter.

Hunters who possess this license must be accompanied by an adult, 21 years of age or older, who must meet the hunter education requirements and be able to take immediate control of the hunting device.

All other applicable hunting licenses and/or permits are required

$11.00

Federal Duck Stamp

Federal law requires each waterfowl hunter, age 16 and over, to carry on his/her person. 

In addition to a hunting license and state migratory bird permit, a valid Federal Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp  (Federal Duck Stamp) signed in ink across the face. These can be purchased at GoOutdoorsTennessee.com from July 1 to January 17 or at the Post Office. You immediately get a temporary stamp and a physical stamp arrives in the mail within 30 days.

Description Cost
Federal Duck Stamp 
Federal law requires that each waterfowl hunter, age 16 and over carry on his/her person, in addition to a hunting license and permit, a valid Federal Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp, (federal duck stamp), signed in ink across the face. These can be obtained through the Post Office, National Wildlife Refuge offices, and some discount and sporting goods stores.
$25.00

Migratory Bird Permits

Resident and nonresident hunters must possess a Tennessee Migratory Bird (HIP) Permit to hunt waterfowl and other migratory birds.

License and permits are available for purchase On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office

Expires on June 30 of each year.

The following do not need this permit but are encouraged to acquire this permit:

  • Landowners hunting on their own land
  • Disabled veterans
  • Tennessee residents 65 years of age or older
  • Tennessee residents under 13 years of age
  • Lifetime Sportsman license holders
  • Military personnel on leave or furlough (with leave papers).
Description Cost

Migratory Bird Permit

Available for purchase On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office

$1.00
Migratory Bird Permit
available only to Sportsman License holders, available for purchase On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office
No Fee

Guide Licenses

A guide is an individual who accepts compensation for assisting another in any act of hunting, fishing, and/or trapping.

Guides are required to possess a guide license (Download Here) in addition to any other required licenses

Entities employing individuals as guides may purchase such resident and non-resident guide licenses as applicable.   

Use the Miscellaneous Application to apply for a Guide License.

Description Cost
Resident Guide License - Use Miscellaneous License Application $151.00
Non-Resident Guide License - Use Miscellaneous License Application $650.00

WMA Hunting Permits (resident and nonresident)

Everyone who hunts in a Wildlife Management Area is required to have a WMA permit except for Lifetime Sportsman License application and youths under age 16 hunting small game and waterfowl.  

Youth hunters must be accompanied by an adult with a valid WMA small game permit.  All ages need a WMA big game permit.

Youths under 6 may not hunt big game on a WMA.

Description Cost
WMA Small Game / Waterfowl  - Can be purchased  On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office $61.00
WMA Small Game / Waterfowl 1-Day -  Can be purchased On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office $12.00
WMA Small Game Only -  Can be purchased  On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office $20.00
WMA Big Game (Non quota) 
Required for WMA (Non quota) big game hunts, including Cherokee.   Can be purchased On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office
$24.00
Cherokee WMA Big Game (Non quota)
Valid only for Cherokee WMA (Non quota) big game hunts.  Can be purchased On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office
$18.00

Federal Refuges

Description Cost
Tennessee Federal Refuge - NWR/Cross Creeks NWR
This permit is required for Cross Creeks and Tennessee National Refuge for all hunters including Lifetime and Annual Sportsman license holders. 
 
$14.00

Reelfoot Preservation Permit

This permit is required for all users of Reelfoot WMA, except those under 16 years of age, residents 65 years or older, and Sportsman license holder

The Permit cost is the same for residents and non-residents. 

1-day and 3-day permits available  On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office

Description Cost
1-Day Reelfoot Preservation Permit - Available at On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office $3.00
3-day Reelfoot Preservation Permit - Available at  On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office $10.00
Annual Reelfoot Preservation Permit - Available at  On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office $16.00

Land Between the Lakes

Description Cost
Annual Hunter Use Permit
All Hunters 16 years and older are required to purchase Land Between the Lakes Hunter Use Permit.  Available for purchase  On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office
$25.00

High-Impact Habitat Conservation Permits

A High Impact Habitat Conservation Permit is required for riding hooved animals, bicycling, and off-highway vehicles (OHV) used in designated wildlife management areas.

Persons holding a valid hunting license with an appropriate permit to hunt in a wildlife management area and youths under age thirteen (13) are exempt.  At least one occupant of an Off-Highway Vehicle (OHV) must possess the proper permit(s). 

No permit shall be required on roads/trails as designated. OHVs are any vehicles capable of traveling off highways within the state. The term includes all-terrain vehicles, motorcycles, dune buggies, and other four-wheeled vehicles used for off-road activities. 

This permit is required on the following WMAs (Note: not all activities are permitted on each WMA requiring this permit) refer to the individual listing for each WMA for more specific information on which activities are permitted. Bear Hollow, Bridgestone Firestone - Big Bottom Unit, Catoosa, Cheatham, Forks of the River, Keyes-Harrison, Laurel Hill, Luper Mountain, Mt. Roosevelt, North Chickamauga Creek - Patton Unit, North Cumberland, Pea Ridge, Skinner Mountain, Williamsport, and Yanahli

Description Cost
Resident Annual Permit -  Purchase On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office $73.00
Resident Daily Permit -  Purchase On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office $15.00
Non-Resident Annual Permit -  Purchase On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office $232.00
Non-Resident Daily Permit -  Purchase On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office $37.00

Disability Hunting & Fishing Licenses

The following licenses are available only by application.  Please Read the Entire Application and submit it with appropriate certifications to the TWRA Sales Office located in Nashville, 5107 Edmondson Pike, Ellington Agricultural Center, Nashville, TN 37211.

They are available for a one-time fee and are valid for the rest of the license holder's life.  They are not Lifetime Sportsman Licenses.  Additional permits may be required. A trout license is not required. 

Annual Resident Hunting & Fishing Disabled Under 18
Available to Tennessee residents under the age of 18 who meet the requirements of TCA 70-2-104 as amended.

A certification of the total and permanent disability issued by a licensed practicing physician in Tennessee and must accompany the submission of the Miscellaneous License Application at the TWRA Sales Office located in Nashville Tennessee.

Renewable annually with the current fee. Permits where required.

$5.00

Hunt & Fish Intellect Disabled Resident
Minimum license required to fish and/or hunt statewide - Additional supplemental licenses may be required. This license is only valid as long as the license holder is a resident of the state of Tennessee.

Tennessee residents over the age of 10 years may purchase the license by submitting the Miscellaneous License at the TWRA Sales Office located in Nashville and by providing certification, by a physician licensed to practice in Tennessee, as having an intellectual disability as described in TCA 33-1-101.

Applicants will be required to complete the Hunter Education Course as provided in TCA 70-2-108.

$10.00
Permanent Sport Fishing License for the Blind - Submit the Miscellaneous License Application at the TWRA Sales Office located in Nashville Tennessee. $10.00

Permanent Wheelchair Hunting and Fishing
In accordance with TCA 70-2-104(a)(4)(a) a permanent sport combination hunting and fishing license is available to residents who are permanently restricted to wheelchairs or who have suffered an amputation of seventy-five percent (75%) or more of a lower limb.

A certificate from a physician licensed to practice medicine in Tennessee is required. The certificate must state that the applicant is permanently restricted to a wheelchair or suffered an amputation of 75% or more of a lower limb and must accompany the submission of the Miscellaneous License Application at the TWRA Sales Office located in Nashville Tennessee.  

$10.00
Permanent DAV Hunting and Fishing
Available to resident veterans certified by the VA as 30 percent disabled by reason of war service or 100% service-connected.   Submit the Miscellaneous License Application at the TWRA Sales Office located in Nashville Tennessee
$10.00
Permanent Mentally Challenged
Must be receiving SSI benefits due to intellectual disability - Submit the Miscellaneous License Application at the TWRA Sales Office located in Nashville Tennessee
$10.00

Shooting Range Permits

Required for anyone 16 years of age and older using a TWRA Range. Tier 1 Permits are not required for annual license holders. 

Contact a Range near you to see what permit is required and purchase your permits online at GoOutDoorsTennessee

Description Cost
 Tier 1 Range 2 hr - Locate a Range near you and purchase online at GoOutDoorsTennessee $5.00
Tier 1 Range Annual - Locate a Range near you and purchase online at GoOutDoorsTennessee $100.00
Tier 2 Range 2 hr  - Locate a Range near you and purchase online at GoOutDoorsTennessee $7.50
Tier 2 Range Annual - Locate a Range near you and purchase online at GoOutDoorsTennessee $150.00
Tier 3 Range 1 hr - Locate a Range near you and purchase online at GoOutDoorsTennessee $9.50
Tier 3 Range Annual - Locate a Range near you and purchase online at GoOutDoorsTennessee $300.00

General Fishing License Requirements

Resident Fishing licenses can be purchased via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office,   Most licenses, except the Lifetime Sportsman License and specialty licenses, such as Wheelchair, Disabled Veteran, SSI (Supplemental Security Income) and Blind Fishing licenses, are available from most sporting goods stores, hardware stores, marinas, county clerks, the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office

Fishing licenses are valid from the date of purchase until 365 days after purchase for most license types.

Note: A Social Security Number is required by federal law to purchase a Tennessee hunting or fishing license.

Seasons are subject to change. License fees are subject to change.

Migratory bird seasons are determined by federal regulations.

Native Tennessean

Nonresidents who were born in Tennessee may apply for Native Tennessean annual licenses. These licenses provide non-residents born in the state but no longer residing in the state, the opportunity to purchase annual Tennessee hunting/ fishing/trapping licenses at the same cost as a resident. 

First-time applicants must apply by using the Native Tennessean Annual License Application.  

Native non-residents who have previously applied can renew their licenses via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office

Misplaced a License?

All paper copies of hunting licenses including lifetime licenses may be printed at no cost at GoOutdoorsTennessee.com at any time. You can also replace your license at any license agent for a fee of $8.00. Please verify your address at the time of purchase. 

Resident licenses can be purchased by:

• Persons who possess a valid Tennessee driver’s license or Tennessee state ID issued by the Department of Safety. Tennessee state law requires drivers to obtain a Tennessee driver's license within 30 days of residency. Out-of-state driver's licenses are only accepted for Military Personnel and Students meeting the criteria below.

• Military personnel on active duty in Tennessee and children under 16 years of age who reside with them, regardless of Tennessee resident status.

• Students who are enrolled in a Tennessee school, college or university for at least six months, with an appropriate student ID.

• Persons who do not drive or do not possess a valid driver's license from another state, but who have lived in Tennessee for 90 consecutive days with the genuine intent of making Tennessee their permanent home, may prove residency by  presenting to a TWRA license agent any two of the following documents:

» Current Tennessee voter registration card;

» Current Tennessee vehicle registration or title;

» Form I-94 issued by the U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Service;

» Current rental/mortgage contract or receipt including deed of sale for property or receipt for payment of Tennessee real estate taxes within last year.

Exceptions

If you take fish or attempt to take fish (including crayfish) by any method or if you assist someone else to do so, you must have a valid fishing license. 

There are some exceptions, no Fishing License is needed If:

  • You are under 13 years of age (resident or nonresident).
  • Landowners, their spouses, and children, who fish on their farmland which is owned by an individual or a family. Farmland Exemption Form. Landowners, their spouses, and children must be residents of Tennessee but need not reside on the land.
  • Tenants, their spouses, and dependent children fish on farmland owned by an individual or a family. Tenants, their spouses, and dependent children must be residents of Tennessee and must actually reside on the land and have the permission of the landowner to fish. A tenant is a person who, for money or free rent, or other consideration, cares for farmland. The tenancy must be agricultural in nature. Farmland Exemption Form.
  • Resident grandchildren (under 16) and resident great-grandchildren (under 16) who fish on farmland that is owned by their resident grandparents or great-grandparents. Farmland Exemption Form.
  • First cousins who own farmland jointly or in common may fish on the farmland. Their children may fish as well. Farmland Exemption Form.
  • You are on military leave, carrying a copy of your leave orders. A pass does not meet this requirement.
  • You are a resident who was born before March 1, 1926. (To qualify for this exemption, you must carry proof of your age and residency to show to a wildlife officer, if requested.)
  • It's Free Fishing Day!
  • It's Free Fishing Week! Children all ages 15 and younger can fish free during the free fishing week.

Resident Fishing Licenses

Description Cost
Annual Combo Hunt & Fish
Minimum license required to fish and/or hunt small game - purchase via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office
$33.00
Jr. Hunt, Fish & Trap (Ages 13-15)
Good for hunting all game, fishing, and trapping. Must be purchased before 16th birthday. No supplemental licenses are required, but WMA permits will need to be purchased in addition to this license. Purchase via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office
$9.00
County of Residence Fishing - No Trout
This license allows an angler to fish in his/her county of residence with natural bait (worms, crickets, corn, etc.), but not minnows. No artificial lures can be used. A supplemental license is required to fish for trout. Purchase via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office
$10.00
One-Day Fishing - No Trout - Purchase via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office $6.00
Annual Supplemental Trout
This license allows an angler to fish for trout.  This license must be purchased with either the combo hunt/fish, county of residence license or the one-day fishing no trout. Purchase via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office
$22.00
One-Day Fishing - All Species  - Purchase via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office
$11.00
South Holston Reservoir Supplemental - Purchase via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office $20.00
Sportsman
An all-inclusive license, valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any supplemental state licenses or permits. - Purchase via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office
$165.00

Lifetime Sportsman (under 3 years old)
An all inclusive lifetime license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any supplemental state licenses or permits. Allows holders to apply for quota permits at no additional fee. Call your local TWRA office for an application or download an application to apply. Find out more about obtaining a Lifetime Sportsman License

$320.00
Lifetime Sportsman (3-6 years old)
An all inclusive lifetime license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any supplemental state licenses or permits. Allows holders to apply for quota permits at no additional fee. Call your local TWRA office for an application or download an application to apply. Find out more about obtaining a Lifetime Sportsman License.
$659.00
Lifetime Sportsman (7-12 years old)
An all inclusive lifetime license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any supplemental state licenses or permits. Allows holders to apply for quota permits at no additional fee. Call your local TWRA office for an application or download an application to apply. Find out more about obtaining a Lifetime Sportsman License.
$988.00
Lifetime Sportsman (13-50 years old)
An all inclusive lifetime license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any supplemental state licenses or permits. Allows holders to apply for quota permits at no additional fee. Call your local TWRA office for an application or download an application to apply. Find out more about obtaining a Lifetime Sportsman License.
$1,976.00
Lifetime Sportsman (51-64 years old)
An all inclusive lifetime license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any supplemental state licenses or permits. Allows holders to apply for quota permits at no additional fee. Call your local TWRA office for an application or download an application to apply. Find out more about obtaining a Lifetime Sportsman License.
$1,153.00
Lifetime Sportsman (65+ years old)
An all inclusive lifetime license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any supplemental state licenses or permits. Allows holders to apply for quota permits at no additional fee. Call your local TWRA office for an application or download an application to apply. Find out more about obtaining a Lifetime Sportsman License.
$329.00
Annual Senior Citizen Hunt/Fish/Trap
Available at all license agents and can only be purchased when 65th birthday is reached. A valid Tennessee driver’s license or proof of age and residency is required. No supplemental licenses are required, but WMA permits will need to be purchased in addition to this license. Fees apply when applying for quota hunt permits as well as “left over” permits.
$4.00
Permanent Senior Citizen Hunt/Fish/Trap
Available at all license agents and can only be purchased when the 65th birthday is reached. A valid Tennessee driver's license or proof of age and residency is required. No supplemental licenses are required, but WMA permits will need to be purchased in addition to this license. Fees apply when applying for quota hunt permits and "leftover" permits.
$49.00
Annual Senior Citizen Sportsman
An all-inclusive license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any state supplemental licenses or non-quota permits and allows holders to apply for quota permits at no additional fee. Annual Senior Sportsman licenses can be purchased from all license agents
$49.00

Nonresident Fishing Licenses

Description Cost

Jr. Hunt/Fish
Required for nonresidents age 13-15, fishing and small game only

$10.00
Annual Fishing - No Trout $49.00
Three-Day Fishing - No Trout $20.00
Three-Day Fishing - All Species $40.00
Ten-Day Fishing - No Trout $30.00
Ten-Day Fishing - All Species $61.00

Annual Fishing - All Species

$98.00

Special Permits (Resident and Nonresident)

If you purchase one of the following special permits, you must also have all applicable licenses.

Description Cost
1-Day Gatlinburg Trout License - Resident or Nonresident 
This license is the only requirement for residents or nonresidents to fish for one day in Gatlinburg. {Streams closed Thursdays due to stocking} 
Purchase via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office
For information on fishing in the Gatlinburg area, contact the Gatlinburg Chamber of Commerce at 1.800.568.4748 or the Gatlinburg trout facility at 865.436.4558
$11.00
1-Day Gatlinburg Trout Permit 
Required for both residents and nonresidents ages 13-64 {Streams closed Thursdays due to stocking} Required in addition to your base license to fish in Gatlinburg waters.
Purchase via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office
For information on fishing in the Gatlinburg area, contact the Gatlinburg Chamber of Commerce 
$3.00
3-Day Gatlinburg Trout Permit
Required for both residents and nonresidents ages 13-64 {Streams closed Thursdays due to stocking} Required in addition to the appropriate fishing licenses.
(Persons holding a 1-Day Gatlinburg Trout LIcense are not required to have this permit)
Purchase via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office
For information on fishing in the Gatlinburg area, contact the Gatlinburg Chamber of Commerce 
$9.00
Tellico-Citico Trout-Daily 
Required for all ages. Tellico-Citico Permit is required seasonally to fish Tellico River, Citico Creek and year-round on Green Cove Pond.
$6.00
Daily TWRA State Lake Fishing Permit
Required in addition to your base fishing license to sport fish for one day on TWRA State lakes. Residents 16 -64, Non-Residents 16+
Purchase via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office
$6.00
TWRA State Lake Fishing - Annual Permit
Required in addition to your base fishing license to sport fish for one day on TWRA State lakes. Residents 16 -64, Non-Residents 16+
Purchase via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office
$48.00
Bedford Lake 1 Daily Fishing Permit
1 day permit for fishing at Bedford Lake.
Purchase via the On The Go APPGoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office
$6.00

Farmland Owner Exemption

TCA 70-2-204. Hunting and fishing on farmland — License exemption to the owner, tenants, and their spouses and children.
The owners and tenants of farmlands, and their spouse and children, have the right to engage in the sport of hunting and fishing, subject to all the provisions of all laws or regulations concerning wildlife, upon such lands and waters thereon of which they or their spouses or parents are the bona fide owners or tenants with the permission of the landowner, during the season when it is lawful to do so, without procuring a hunting and sport fishing license. Tenants and their spouses and their dependent children must be bona fide residents of the state and must actually reside on the land. Owners and their spouses and children must be bona fide residents of the state. Land may qualify as farmland only if it is owned by no more than one (1) individual or a family; provided, that if the land is owned jointly or in common by persons who are first cousins related by blood, then such cousins and their children may hunt small game and fish on such land under the provisions of this subsection. “Family” means any combination of kinship within the third degree including any spouse who has an interest in the property. “Tenant” means an individual who receives compensation such as free rent or money for acting either in the place of or at the direction of the landowner in tending to the requirements needed to care for the farmland. The primary purpose of the tenancy shall be agricultural in nature.

Tennessee Lifetime Sportsman License

The Lifetime Sportsman License is available to any individual who has resided in Tennessee continuously for the twelve (12) consecutive months immediately preceding the purchase of the Lifetime Sportsman License.  

  • Applicants under the age of three (3) years must have at least one parent or designated guardian who was a resident of Tennessee for the 12 months immediately preceding the purchase of the license.
  • The Lifetime Sportsman License entitles the holder to all the hunting and fishing privileges afforded holders of an Annual Sportsman License
  • It is non-transferable and fees are non-refundable.  
  • This license is good for the life of the holder even if the license holder moves out of state.  
  • In addition to the Lifetime Sportsman License card, applicants will receive a certificate suitable for framing, which makes this special license a natural gift for children or grandchildren.
  • The fee for a Lifetime Sportsman License must be paid in full in either cash, check, or credit card when submitting the application

Applicants must submit a legible copy of their current Tennessee Driver's License in existence for at least twelve (12) months or other proof of twelve (12) months of residency with this application. If the applicant is under the age of sixteen (16) and does not have a Tennessee Driver's License, you must include (1) a Legible photocopy of a parent's or guardian's Tennessee Driver's License in existence for at least twelve (12) months or other proof of twelve (12) month residency and (2) A legible photocopy of the applicant's birth certificate.

Applications for this new license may be obtained by calling the TWRA Nashville Office (615-781-6500), or any of the four regional offices, or you can download the application and mail it in or fax it to (615) 837-4262. 

Applications cannot be processed without the Social Security of the applicant.  TWRA does accept applications through email at lifetime.license@tn.gov. Please be advised that the Lifetime License application requires personally identifiable information to be included on the application.  Although the State of Tennessee and TWRA do the absolute best to keep our email environment secure, we cannot be held liable for any identity theft exposure that may occur should you choose to email the application, and the message is compromised. The email sender assumes all risks involved when submitting applications via an email service.

The Lifetime Sportsman License cannot be purchased at the online license center at this time.  Fees are listed in the application form found here.

Description Cost
Under 3 years - Download the Application and Submit it via mail or email $320.00
Ages 3-6 - Download the Application and Submit it via mail or email $659.00
Ages 7-12 - Download the Application and Submit it via mail or email $988.00
Ages 13-50 - Download the Application and Submit it via mail or email $1976.00
Ages 51-64 - Download the Application and Submit it via mail or email $1153.00
Ages 65 & over - Download the Application and Submit it via mail or email $329.00
Adopted child under 13* - Download the Application and Submit it via mail or email $320.00
* Must provide proof that adoption occurred within 3 years of application. - Download the Application and Submit it via mail or email  

What To Do If You've  Lost  Your License

You may reprint all active licenses at any time by logging into your GoOutdoorsTennesse.com account 24/7/365.    You can also replace your license with any license agent. Please verify your address at the time of purchase. 

Hunter Education Replacement or Duplicate Card

To replace a Hunter Education Card, first, contact your TWRA Regional Office during normal business hours. Verify that your Hunter Education number has been updated in the TWRA license system. Then you may go to a TWRA license agent and purchase a Hunter Education Card Replacement. You may also purchase a replacement card online.

Description Cost
Hunter Education Replacement Card - GoOutDoorsTennessee, at a TWRA Licensed Agent or at a Regional Office $8.00

Become An Authorized TWRA License Agent

If you want to become a TWRA License Agent, please get in touch with the TWRA License Division Agent Coordinator at 615-837-6012.

The TWRA is funded by two primary sources: license/permit sales and federal excise taxes (Pittman-Robertson and Wallop-Breaux). Tennessee's allocation of these federal taxes is based in part, on the number of hunters and fishermen in the state.  The TWRA does not receive any funding from the State's general fund (i.e. state sales tax).

Thank you for buying a license. Without your support, Tennessee would not have fish and wildlife management programs!

Go Outdoors Tennessee is the approved and authorized provider of online fishing and  hunting licenses for the state of Tennessee.