Skip to Main Content

Columbia Environmental Field Office

1421 Hampshire Pike, Columbia, TN 38401 | Phone: (931) 380-3371 | FAX: (931) 380-3397

Counties Served

Bedford, Coffee, Franklin, Giles, Hickman, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Marshall, Maury, Moore, Perry, Wayne

Columbia Contact Information

External Affairs

The Office of External Affairs serves as TDEC’s primary point of contact for the general public and stakeholders in a respective region and serves as the public outreach arm for the Commissioner’s Office.

Regional Director
Wallace Quillen
(931) 840-4156
Wallace.Quillen@tn.gov

Administrative Services

TDEC exists to enhance the quality of life for citizens of Tennessee and to be stewards of our natural environment.

 The Administrative Team supports the TDEC mission by serving as agency customer service representatives and administratively supports each environmental division represented within the Columbia Field Office to fulfill the delivery of environmental services for the citizens of Tennessee.

 The administrative staff are responsible for coordinating all Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), public records requests. TDEC has several public data viewers that may help narrow down your request. Division specific data viewers can be accessed at:

https://www.tn.gov/environment/about-tdec/tdec-dataviewers.html

If you are unable to locate the information you are looking for on one of the TDEC online data viewer databases, you may submit an information request for any division using the following link:

Submit a Public Records Request

General queries and requests for service may be sent to our shared administrative group email Columbia.EFO_ADM@tn.gov.

Administrative Manager
Sheila Colston
(931) 840-4142
Sheila.Colston@tn.gov

Air Pollution Control

Air Pollution Control

The Division of Air Pollution Control’s mission is to maintain and improve air quality to protect the health and welfare of  Tennesseans through monitoring, regulatory activities and education in a manner that promotes maximum employment and economic growth.

View the Air Pollution Control Permits and Inspections Viewer

For burn permits please contact the Tennessee Department of Agriculture, visit their website at Burn Safe TN.

General questions and electronic reporting submittals may be sent to: APC.ColuEFO@tn.gov.

Field Office Manager
Jeff Cales
(931) 520-6660
Jeff.Cales@tn.gov

Solid (Trash) & Hazardous Wastes

Solid & Hazardous Waste

The Division of Solid Waste Management protects, improves, and promotes health and environmental quality thorough the responsive, effective oversight of waste management activities and the beneficial use of recovered materials. The division has several programs that deal with different kinds of waste, from solid to hazardous and from recyclables to food.

 View the Solid Waste Management Database

Field Office Manager
Beverly Philpot
(931) 840-4162
Beverly.Philpot@tn.gov

Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Facilities ( e.g. Gas Stations)

Underground Storage Tanks

The Division of Underground Storage Tanks protects human health and the environment by preventing future petroleum underground storage tank releases and remediating existing petroleum underground storage tank contamination from regulated tanks. The division also monitors and requires that citizens who have stored petroleum in regulated underground storage tanks, or who bring a new underground storage tank into use, notify the division.

Field Office Manager
Dale Robinson
(931) 840-4145
Dale.A.Robinson@tn.gov

Water Resources Manager

Water Resources

The Division of Water Resources manages, protects, and enhances the quality of the state’s water resources through voluntary, regulatory, and educational programs. The Division is divided into smaller sections by water resource topical area. If you are uncertain which area your concern falls under please call our main line phone number and the receptionist will transfer you to the appropriate person.

View the Water Resource Permits Database

Field Office Program Coordinator (Water Pollution, Aquatic Resource Alteration Permits, Construction General Permits)
Chad Augustin
(931) 490-3945
Chad.Augustin@tn.gov

Field Office Program Coordinator (Drinking Water, Wastewater, Water Wells)
Crystal Stacey
(931) 560-1303
Crystal.Stacey@tn.gov

Field Office Manager
Sherry Glass
(931) 840-4153
Sherry.Glass@tn.gov

Subsurface Sewage Disposal SSDS Program-Septic System

If you are planning to install, repair, or modify a septic system, the permit application is now available online. Payment by credit or debit card is required to complete an online application.

View the Ground Water Protection Services Online Application

Septic construction permits and final inspections issued after January 1, 2018, are available online.

If you need a copy of existing septic system records, please be advised that all septic system records in Marshall County and Moore County are now available online.

Historical septic records for the remaining counties within the Columbia region are being prepared for digitization at the Columbia Field Office and uploaded daily. Please use the online records search first and if you are unable to locate the file you are looking for email your request to Columbia.EFO_ADM@tn.gov.

Search for Digital Septic System Records

View the Ground Wate Protection (Septic) Permits Database

Below is a listing for local SSDS Division of Water Resources Contacts:

Bedford County
Keith Shults
(931) 685-2186
Keith.Shults@tn.gov

Franklin County
Naullain Kendrick
(931) 962-2711
Naullain.Kendrick@tn.gov

Giles County
Brennan Hood
(931) 424-4000
Brennan.Hood@tn.gov

Hickman County
Gary Reeves
(931) 729-2747
Gary.Reeves@tn.gov

Lawrence County
Brock Glass
(931) 766-1473
Brock.Glass@tn.gov

Lewis County
Gary Reeves
(931) 796-4440
Gary.Reeves@tn.gov

Lincoln County
David Cosby
(931) 438-1998|
David.Cosby@tn.gov

Marshall County
Collin Hooper
(931) 270-2251
Collin.Hooper@tn.gov

Maury County
Alan Floyd
(931) 840-4151
Alan.Floyd@tn.gov

Moore County
Naullain Kendrick
(931) 759-9125
Naullain.Kendrick@tn.gov

Perry County
Bryan Pope
(931) 589-3167
Bryan.Pope@tn.gov

Wayne County
Bryan Pope
(931) 722-9592
Bryan.Pope@tn.gov

For more detailed information on the office locations listed above please click the following link:

https://www.tn.gov/environment/program-areas/wr-water-resources/septic-decentralized-systems/wr-sds-contacts-by-region.html

Blount, Davidson, Hamilton, Jefferson, Knox, Madison, Sevier, Shelby, and Williamson Counties are contract counties that have their own groundwater protection services. Please click on the county name below for specific information on these programs.