Welcome to the Tennessee Department of Education student transportation homepage.

As school buses provide services for students to and from school and school activities, safety remains the department’s number one priority. With this in mind, the department is committed to providing all transportation supervisors with high-quality training and necessary resources to ensure that all buses are properly maintained. In addition, all drivers must meet strict licensing requirements, including successful completion of driver training, background checks, and drug and alcohol testing.

Tennessee schools transport approximately 700,000 students a day on approximately 8,700 bus routes in districts and charters across the diverse terrain of city, urban, and rural routes.

The department rules on all waiver requests from public school officials; coordinates the development of new or revised State Board rules and regulations; determines pupil transportation equipment specifications  approves and issues or rejects overload permits; distributes school bus accident, medical examination, and annual statistical report forms to local school districts; collects, compiles and analyzes data from accidents involving school buses; and, allocates pupil transportation funds to local school districts.

Upper Cumberland Districts: Bledsoe County, Cannon County, Clay County, Cumberland County, DeKalb County, Fentress County, Jackson County, Macon County, Overton County, Pickett County, Putnam County, Smith County, Trousdale County, Van Buren County, Warren County, White County, York Institute. Southwest Districts: Arlington, Achievement School District, BartlettChester, Collierville, Decatur, Fayette, Germantown, Hardeman, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Lauderdale, Lakeland, Lexington, McNairy, Madison, Millington, Shelby, Tipton. Southeast Districts: Athens City, Bradley County, Cleveland City, Dayton City, Etowah City, Grundy County, Hamilton County, Marion County, McMinn County, Meigs County, Polk County, Rhea County, Richard City, Sequatchie County. South Central Districts: Bedford County, Coffee County, Manchester City, Tullahoma City, Franklin County, Giles County, Hickman County, Lawrence County, Lewis County, Lincoln County, Fayetteville City, Marshall CountyMaury County, Moore County, Perry County, Wayne County. Northwest Districts: Benton County, Carroll County, Hollow Rock-Bruceton SSD, Huntingdon SSD, McKenzie SSD, South Carroll SSD, West Carroll SSD, Crockett County, Alamo City, Bells City, Dyer County, Dyersburg City, Gibson County SSD, Bradford SSD, Humboldt SSD, Milan SSD, Trenton SSD, Henry County, Paris SSD, Lake County, Obion County, Union City, Weakley County. Mid Cumberland Districts: Cheatham County, Metro Nashville Public Schools, Dickson County, Houston County, Humphreys County, Montgomery County, Robertson County, Rutherford County, Murfreesboro City, Stewart County, Sumner County, Williamson County, Franklin SSD, Wilson County, Lebanon SSD, TSB. First Tennessee Districts: Carter County, Elizabethton City, Cocke County, Newport City, Greene County, Greeneville City, Hamblen County, Hancock County, Hawkins County, Rogersville City, Johnson County, Sullivan County, Bristol City, Kingsport City, Unicoi County, Washington County, Johnson City. East Tennessee Districts: Anderson County, Clinton City, Oak Ridge, Blount County, Alcoa City, Maryville City, Campbell County, Claiborne County, Grainger County, Jefferson County, Knox County, Loudon County, Lenoir City, Monroe County, Sweetwater City, Morgan County, Roane County, Scott County, Oneida City, Sevier County, Union County, ETSD.

Alex Spann

Student Transportation Consultant
Office of School Safety and Transportation
Andrew Johnson Tower, 10th floor
710 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243

(615) 532-1699



To provide safe, reliable, and efficient transportation services for all children with a focus on continuous improvement that supports positive learning experiences.


To be recognized as an integral member of the school community; a model of excellence in safety and reliability with zero student injury accidents.

To correct or replace transportation director information, click here