Skip to Main Content

Boating Education In Tennessee

Any Tennessee resident born after January 1, 1989 must show the TWRA-issued wallet Boating Safety Education Certificate as proof of successful completion of the TWRA Boating Safety exam.  

No other certificate will be accepted as meeting the requirements of the law.  The Tennessee mandatory boating education law is similar to the driver’s license law.  You acquire the study materials, study, and then take an approved boating safety exam administered by an approved representative of the TWRA

If there is an adult on board (at least 18 years old, or if born after 1/1/89, or possesses the certification) that can take immediate control of the vessel this certificate is not required.

Out of State Boaters

If you were born after January 1, 1989, TWRA will accept any NASBLA approved boating safety certificate.


TWRA Boating Safety Course Information and locations.

How do I replace my lost or stolen boating safety card?

If your boating safety card is lost or stolen, you may purchase a Type 605 license from a license agent for $5.00. The duplicate card will be mailed approximately 2 weeks from purchase date.

How do I take the exam?

First, you must be at least 12 years old to take the exam. After studying the boating safety material, you must first purchase, for $10.00, a Type 600 boating safety exam permit from any business (license agent) that sells hunting and fishing licenses (WalMart sporting goods, bait stores, marinas, etc.).  If your parents or someone else purchases the permit for you to take the exam, they must give your information to the sales agent. Otherwise the proper information will not match and you will not receive the boating safety certificate.

The receipt from this transaction is your "ticket" to take the exam. Try not to lose this receipt, it will admit you into an exam location and will also serve as a temporary certificate if you pass the exam.

If you do not pass the exam, this receipt/"ticket" can continue to be used to take the exam as many times as it takes to pass. Try not to lose it!

How do I study?

There are many avenues to study:

  • You may call (615) 781-6682, e-mail, or write to Boating Division, TWRA, PO Box 40747, Nashville, TN 37204 and have study materials sent to you (free) and self study.
  • You may log onto www.boat-ed.com/tennessee and study online by clicking  “Study Guide” at the top of the page.
  • Boating Safety Class. There are many classroom classes offered throughout the state. See the map below for classes available in your area.

How long does it take to complete the exam?

Allow approximately one hour to take the exam.

How long will it take to receive my wallet card?

When you pass the exam, you will receive your wallet card in the mail within a few weeks.

Renters of Watercraft

People who rent any type of watercraft are exempt from having the certification.  The renter is determined by the name that appears on the rental agreement.

Region 1

*Unless otherwise noted, these are locations to take the exam only. Bring Social Security Number, black pen, and type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit to testing locations. Students can go to any county to take the class or exam.

Benton County

Benton County Library, Camden 
Anytime during hours of operation

Carroll County

Carroll County Library/Huntingdon 
By appointment only 731-986-1919

Chester County

Chester County Library in Henderson 
By appointment only - (731) 989-4673

Crockett County

Crockett Memorial Library in Alamo 
By appointment only - (731) 696-4220

Decatur County

Perryville Marina by appointment only
Contact Becky at (731) 847-2444

Decaturville Library 
By appointment only - (731) 852-3325

Decatur and Perry County

Mousetail Landing State Park will give the test by appointment only. 
Call Mousetail Landing State Park at (731) 847-0841. 
Study manuals may be picked up there, Perryville Marina and the Decatur County Court Clerks office.

Dyer County

Newbern City Library 
By appointment only - (731) 627-3153

McIver's Grant Library, Dyersburg 
By appointment only - (731) 285-5032

Fayette County

Somerville/Fayette Co. Library 
By appointment only - (901) 465-5248

Gibson County

Humboldt Public Library 
By appointment only - (731) 784-2383

Gibson County

Gibson County Library in Trenton 
By appointment only - (731) 855-1991

Gibson County

Mildred G. Fields Library/Milan
By appointment only - (731) 686-8268

Hardeman County

Bolivar Hardeman County Library 
By appointment only - (731) 658-3436

Hardin County

Hardin County Library in Savannah 
By appointment only - (731) 925-4314

Haywood County

Elma Ross Public Library 
By appointment only - (731) 772-9534

Henderson County

Everett Horn Library/Lexington 
By appointment only, call (731) 968-3239

Henry County

W. G. Rhea Public Library in Paris 
By appointment only - (731) 642-1702

Boating Class

May 12, 9 a.m.
ACS Marine
14427 Hwy 79
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here - Use Passcode ACSM

Houston County

Houston County Public Library in Erin 
By appointment only - (931) 289-3858

Humphreys County Public Library/Waverly 
By appointment only - (931) 296-2143

Boating Class

April 27, 5 p.m.
Yellow Creek Baptist Church

4506 Ellis Mills Road, Cumberland City, TN
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here - Use Passcode YCBC

Lake County

Tiptonville Public Library 
By appointment only - (731) 253-7391

Lauderdale County

Lauderdale County Library/Ripley
by appointment only - 731-635-1872

Madison County

TWRA Region 1 Office, 200 Lowell Thomas Dr. in Jackson 
By Appointment only, please call (731) 423-5725 
Monday - Friday, 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

McNairy County

Jack McConnico Memorial Public Library
Selmer, TN
By appointment only - (731) 645-5571

Irving Meer Jr. Public Library
Adamsville, TN 
By appointment only - (731) 632-3572

Obion County

Union City Library 
By appointment only - (731) 885-7000

Perry  County

 

Shelby County

Exams will be administered at the Bartlett Hunter Education Range Facility (3200 Brother Blvd.) during regular business hours.
Hours: Sunday (1:00 PM - 6:00 PM), Tuesday (12:00 PM - 9:00 PM), Thursday (11:00 AM - 9:00 PM), and Saturday (9:00 AM - 4:30 PM).
Closed on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.
Bring Social Security Number.
The Boating Safety Exam Permit (Type 600) is sold at the facility for $10. Cash Only. (901) 213-3124.

Stewart County

Stewart County Public Library in Dover
By appointment only - (931) 232-3127

Tipton County

Tipton County Library in Covington 
By appointment only - (901) 476-8289

Munford Memorial Library 
By appointment only, call (901) 837-2665

Boating Class

May 10,  4:30 p.m. - 8:00 p.m. 
Brighton High School
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here – Use Passcode BHS

Weakley County

Ned R. McWherter Library in Dresden 
By appointment only - (731) 364-2678

Sharon Public Library 
Call for an appointment-731-456-2707

Region 2

*Unless otherwise noted, these are locations to take the exam only. Bring Social Security Number, black pen, and type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit to testing locations. Students can go to any county to take the class or exam.

Bedford County

Argie Cooper Public Library in Shelbyville 
By appointment only - (931) 684-7323

Cannon County

Dr. and Mrs. J. F. Adams Memorial Library 212 College Street/Woodbury 
By appointment only - (615) 563-5861

Boating Class

May 19, 12 p.m. – 4 p.m.
Woodbury Lions Club
|634 Leham Street
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here - Use Passcode WLC

 

Cheatham County

South Cheatham Public Library
358 N. Main, Kingston Springs
Call for an appointment (615) 952-4752

 

Coffee County

Manchester Public Library 
By appointment only (931) 723-5143

Davidson County

Bellevue Library
720 Baugh Rd.
Call for an appointment – 615-862-5854
Bring type 600 exam permit

Hermitage Public Library
3700 James Kay LN
Call for an appointment-615-880-3951 or email Emily.talbot@nashville.gov
Bring type 600 exam permit

Boating Class

May 11, 5 p.m. - 9 p.m.
West Marine
5566 Old Hickory Blvd, Hermitage
Fee for class $12.50
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here - Use Passcode WM511

June 1, 5 p.m. - 9 p.m.
West Marine
5566 Old Hickory Blvd, Hermitage
Fee for class $12.50
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here - Use Passcode WM61

Dickson County

Test Only
By appointment only
Call David Nickens – 615-504-6998

Franklin County

Franklin County Library in Winchester 
By appointment only - (931) 967-3706

Giles County

Giles County Library 
By appointment only (931) 363-2720

Hickman County

By Appointment Only 
Dave Anderson (931) 729-5615

Lawrence County

Test only
Call Mr. Waldrop at (931) 629-3753 to make an appointment

Lewis County

By appointment only 
Contact Clint Newton – (615) 856-9741

Lincoln County

Fayetteville/Lincoln Co. Public Library 306 Elk Ave. N 
By appointment only - (931) 433-3286​

Marshall County

Marshall Co. Library/Lewisburg 
Call for an appointment - (931) 359-3335

Maury County

Spring Hill Public Library 
Internet Testing 
By appointment only - (931) 486-2932

Maury Co. Library
8th St.-Columbia
By appointment only – 931-375-6508

Montgomery County

Clarksville Montgomery County Public Library (350 Pageant Lane)

Exams given anytime during library business hours.

Boating Class

April 27, 5 p.m.
Yellow Creek Baptist Church

4506 Ellis Mills Road, Cumberland City, TN
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here - Use Passcode YCBC

Moore County

Moore County Library in Lynchburg 
By appointment only (931) 759-7285

Robertson County

Gorham MacBane Library, Springfield 
Anytime Monday, Wednesday, Friday - 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. 
Tuesday, Thursday - 9:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m. 
Subject to computer availability

White House Library
105B College St.
By appointment – (615) 672-0239

Rutherford County

Smyrna Public Library
400 Enon Springs Rd. W 
By appointment only (615) 459-4884

Linebaugh Public Library in Murfreesboro 
By appointment only (615) 893-4131 ext. 117

Smith County

Gordonsville Branch Library
By appointment only - (615) 683-8063


Smith County Public Library
By appointment only - (615) 735-1326 

Sumner County

White House Library
105B College St.
By appointment – (615) 672-0239

Hendersonville Public Library
By appointment only – (615)-824-0656

Trousdale County

Fred A. Vaught Public Library in Hartsville 
By appointment only - (615) 374-3677

Williamson County

Bethesda Public Library 

By appointment only - (615) 790-1887

Brentwood Public Library 
By appointment only - (615) 371-0090

Fairview Public Library 
By appointment only - (615) 224-6087

Library in Franklin, TN 
By appointment only - (615) 595-1243
Study books available at the library

Leipers Fork Public Library 
By appointment only (615) 794-7019

Nolensville Public Library 
By appointment only - (615) 776-5490

Wilson County

Mt. Juliet Public Library
Please call for an appointment at (615) 758-7051.

Boating Class

April 21, 8:00 a.m.
Cedar Creek Yacht Club
3581 Benders Ferry Road, Mt. Juliet, TN
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here – Use Passcode CCYC

April 28, 8:30 a.m.
Cedar Creek Marina
9120 Saundersville Road, Mt. Juliet, TN
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here – Use Passcode CCM

Region 3

*Unless otherwise noted, these are locations to take the exam only. Bring Social Security Number, black pen, and type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit to testing locations. Students can go to any county to take the class or exam.

Bledsoe County

Bledsoe County Public Library/Pikeville 
Call for an appointment - (423) 447-2817

Bradley County

Cleveland Public Library
Call for an appointment - (423) 472-2163

Clay County

Dale Hollow Outdoors 
Call for appointment - Tuesday-Saturday - (931) 243-6918

Celina Public Library 
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday 8:30 AM - 3:00 PM 
Wednesday 3:00 - 6:30 p.m. Saturday 9:00 - 11:30 AM

Cumberland County

Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency Office in Crossville 
By appointment only - (931) 484-9571

Art Circle Public Library
Crossville --Call for an appointment – 931-484-6790

Dekalb County

Justin Potter Library - Smithville 
By appointment only - (615) 597-4359

Fentress County

Fentress County Public Library in Jamestown 
By appointment only - (931) 879-7512

Grundy County

May Justus Library in Monteagle 
By appointment only - (931) 924-2638

Hamilton County

Boating Safety Class

May 5, 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
US Coast Guard Station
3551 Harrison Pike
Cost  $30
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class

May 19, 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
US Coast Guard Station
3551 Harrison Pike
Cost  $30
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class

June 9, 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
US Coast Guard Station
3551 Harrison Pike
Cost  $30
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class

June 23, 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
US Coast Guard Station
3551 Harrison Pike
Cost  $30
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class

June 30, 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
US Coast Guard Station
3551 Harrison Pike
Cost  $30
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class

July 7, 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Amigo's, Island Cove Marina
Cost  $30
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class

July 14, 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
US Coast Guard Station
3551 Harrison Pike
Cost  $30
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class

July 21, 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
US Coast Guard Station
3551 Harrison Pike
Cost  $30
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class

Test Only
By appointment only
Call David Maul - 423-877-5455

Signal Mountain
By appointment - call Bob Wagner - (423) 886-2420

UT-Chattanooga
By appointment – utctestingcenter@utc.edu or 423-425-5305
Facility fee $25
Bring $10 Type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit​ to test

Chattanooga State Community College
By appointment leanders.burns@chattanoogastate.edu or cheryl.byrd@chattanoogastate.edu
Facility fee $25
Bring $10 Type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit to test

Marion County

Jasper Public Library 
By appointment only
(423) 942-3369

Orena Humphreys Public Library
Whitwell
Call for an appointment – (423) 658-6134

Beene Pearson Public Library
South Pittsburg
Call for an appointment – (423) 837-6513

McMinn County

Etowah Carnegie Library 
By appointment only (423) 263-9475

E. G. Fisher Public Library in Athens 
By appointment only - (423) 745-7782

Meigs County

Meigs County Library in Decatur 
By appointment only - (423) 334-3332

Boating Class
May 5,  8 a.m. – 12 p.m.
Meigs County High School
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
(To register use Passcode MCHS)

Monroe County

Madisonville Public Library
call for an appointment (423) 442-4085

Morgan County

Sunbright Public Library 
By appointment only (423) 628-2439

Overton County

Millard Oakley Library/Livingston
By appointment only - (931) 403-1888

Pickett County

Pickett County Library in Byrdstown 
By appointment only - (931) 864-6281

Polk County

Copper Basin High School
Call for appointment – (423) 496-3291, ask for library

Hiwassee/Ocoee Scenic River State Park 
By appointment only - call Travis England (423) 263-0050

Boating Safety Class

May 5, 9 a.m. EDT
Polk County Sheriff’s Office training room
164 Industrial Access Circle, Benton
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit
To register,use Passcode PCS

Putnam County

Putnam County Library 
By appointment only (931) 526-2416

Monterey Branch Library 
By appointment only (931) 839-2103

Boating Safety Class

June 16,  9 a.m.
Hurricane Marina
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
To register use Passcode HMR

Rhea County

Clyde W. Roddy Library in Dayton 
By appointment only - (423) 775-8406

Audrey Pack Library in Spring City 
By appointment only - (423) 365-9757

Boating Safety Class
May 19,  9 a.m. – 1 p.m. EDT
Yuchi WMA Check Station
Breedington Ferry Rd, Spring City
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit
To register, use Passcode YWMA

Roane County

Kingston Public Library 
By appointment only - (865) 376-9905

Van Buren County

Call Clint for dates, locations, times - (931) 946-3335

Warren County

Magness Memorial Library in McMinnville 
By appointment only – (931) 473-2428

White County

White County Public Library/Sparta 
Call for appointment - (931) 836-3613

Region 4

*Unless otherwise noted, these are locations to take the exam only. Bring Social Security Number, black pen, and type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit​ to testing locations. Students can go to any county to take the class or exam.

Anderson County

Lake City Library
By appointment only - (865) 426-6762

Blount County

Blount County Public Library in Maryville
Call for appointment  (865) 982-0981ext 4
Bring type 600 exam permit 

Campbell County

LaFollette Public Library 
By appointment only - (423) 562-5154

Carter County

Boating Class
April 24 & 26 -- 5:30pm
Northeast State Community College
Library Building Room L106
For information call Clarke 423-538-4643
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here - Use Passcode NES

Elizabethton Carter County Public Library
By appointment only  (423) 547-6360

Claiborne County

Claiborne County Library in Tazewell 
Call for an appointment (423) 626-5414

Cocke County

Stokely Memorial Library - Newport 
By appointment only - (423) 623-3832

Greene County

Boating Class
April 24 & 26 -- 5:30pm
Northeast State Community College
Library Building Room L106
For information call Clarke 423-538-4643
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here - Use Passcode NES

Hamblen County

Morristown Library 
Call (423) 586-6410 for an appointment.
Must have or obtain a Hamblen County library card
to take the exam at this location.

Boating Class

May 12,  9 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Manley Baptist Church
3603 West Andrew Johnson Hwy
Morristown, TN
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here - Use Passcode MBC

Hawkins County

Boating Class

April 24 & 26 -- 5:30pm
Northeast State Community College
Library Building Room L106
For information call Clarke 423-538-4643
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here - Use Passcode NES

Mt. Carmel Public Library
By appointment only (423) 357-4011

Church Hill Library
By appointment only - (423) 357-4591

H. B. Stamps Memorial Library in Rogersville 
By appointment only - (423) 272-8710

Jefferson County

Jefferson City Public Library
By appointment only - (865) 475-9094

White Pine Public Library
By appointment only - (865) 674-6313

Dandridge Memorial Library - 1235 Circle Drive 
By appointment only - (865) 397-9758

Boating Class

May 9 – 10, 6 p.m. - 9 p.m.
Jefferson County Rescue Squad
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here – Use Passcode JRS2

June 19 – 20, 6 p.m. - 9 p.m.
Jefferson County Rescue Squad
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here – Use Passcode JRS3

July 18 – 19, 6 p.m. - 9 p.m.
Jefferson County Rescue Squad
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here – Use Passcode JRS4

August 7 – 8, 6 p.m. - 9 p.m.
Jefferson County Rescue Squad
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here – Use Passcode JRS5

September 18 – 19, 6 p.m. - 9 p.m.
Jefferson County Rescue Squad
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here – Use Passcode JRS6

Johnson County

Boating Class

April 24 & 26 -- 5:30pm
Northeast State Community College
Library Building Room L106
For information call Clarke 423-538-4643
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here - Use Passcode NES

Mountain City Library 
By appointment only - (423) 727-6544

Knox County

Boating Safety Class

John Sevier Hunter Education Center - 2327 Rifle Range Road, Knoxville 
4th Tuesday of each month (6:00 - 9:00 PM) 
Bring Type 600 Type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit with you to the class.

Boating Safety Class
Farragut Town Hall
May 5,  10 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Please bring Type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit with you to the class.
To register use Passcode FTH55

Boating Safety Class
May 12, 9:00 a.m.
Concord Marina
Please bring Type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit
To register use Passcode CM5

Boating Safety Class
Farragut Town Hall
May 14 & 15, 6 p.m. – 9 p.m.
Please bring Type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit with you to the class.
To register use Passcode FTH515

Boating Safety Class
Farragut Town Hall
May 26, 10 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Please bring Type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit with you to the class.
To register use Passcode FTH526

Boating Safety Class
Farragut Town Hall
June 11 & 12, 6 p.m. – 9 p.m.
Please bring Type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit with you to the class.
To register use Passcode FTH612

Boating Safety Class
Farragut Town Hall
June 16, 10 a.m. – 4:30  p.m.
Please bring Type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit with you to the class.
To register use Passcode FTH616

Boating Safety Class
Farragut Town Hall
June 25 & 26, 6 p.m. – 9 p.m.
Please bring Type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit with you to the class.
To register use Passcode FTH626

Boating Safety Class
Farragut Town Hall
June 30, 10 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Please bring Type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit with you to the class.
To register use Passcode FTH630

Boating Safety Class
Farragut Town Hall
July 7, 10 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Please bring Type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit with you to the class.
To register use Passcode FTH77

Boating Safety Class
Farragut Town Hall
August 11, 10 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Please bring Type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit with you to the class.
To register use Passcode FTH811

Boating Safety Class
Farragut Town Hall
August 13 & 14, 6 p.m. – 9 p.m.
Please bring Type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit with you to the class.
To register use Passcode FTH814

Boating Safety Class
Farragut Town Hall
August 27 & 28, 6 p.m. – 9 p.m.
Please bring Type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit with you to the class.
To register use Passcode FTH828

Boating Safety Class
Farragut Town Hall
September 10 & 11, 6 p.m. – 9 p.m.
Please bring Type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit with you to the class.
To register use Passcode FTH911

Boating Safety Class
Farragut Town Hall
September 17 & 18, 6 p.m. – 9 p.m.
Please bring Type 600 Boating Safety Exam Permit with you to the class.
To register use Passcode FTH918

Loudon County

Tellico Village Public Library in Loudon
Testing available Monday-Friday.
Call Carol Deforest for an appointment at (865) 458-5199.

Roane  County

Scott County

Oneida Public Library 
By appointment only (423) 569-8634

Sevier County

Anna Porter Public Library in Gatlinburg
Please call for an appointment – (865) 436-5588

Pigeon Forge Public Library 
By appointment only (865) 429-7490

Boating Class

April 21, 10 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Bass Pro Shop Sevierville
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here – Use Passcode BP421

May 8 & 9, 6 p.m. – 9 p.m.
Bass Pro Shop Sevierville
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here – Use Passcode BP58

May 19, 10 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Bass Pro Shop Sevierville
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here – Use Passcode BP519

June 5 & 6, p.m. – 9 p.m.
Bass Pro Shop Sevierville
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here – Use Passcode BP65

June 9, 10 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Bass Pro Shop Sevierville
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here – Use Passcode BP69

June 19 & 20, 6 p.m. – 9 p.m.
Bass Pro Shop Sevierville
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here – Use Passcode BP619

June 23, 10 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Bass Pro Shop Sevierville
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here – Use Passcode BP623

Sullivan County

Boating Class
April 24 & 26 -- 5:30pm
Northeast State Community College
Library Building Room L106
For information call Clarke 423-538-4643
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here - Use Passcode NES

Sullivan County Library in Blountville 
Monday - Friday 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. 
(423) 279-2714

Thomas Memorial Library in Bluff City 
Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Bloomingdale Library in Kingsport 
Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Bristol Public Library
Monday – Thursday, 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.
Friday and Saturday, 10 a.m. – 3 p.m.

Sullivan Gardens Library in Kingsport 
Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Colonial Heights Library in Kingsport 
Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Unicoi County

Boating Class
April 24 & 26 -- 5:30pm
Northeast State Community College
Library Building Room L106
For information call Clarke 423-538-4643
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here - Use Passcode NES

Unicoi County Public Library in Erwin
Call for an appointment - (423) 743-6533

Union County

Union County High School
Testing offered only during regular school year
By appointment only, Contact John Fugate at (865) 992-0180.

Washington County

Boating Class
April 24 & 26 -- 5:30pm
Northeast State Community College
Library Building Room L106
For information call Clarke 423-538-4643
Please bring your Type 600 Exam Permit to class
Register here - Use Passcode NES

Johnson City Public Library 
Monday - Thursday, 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday & Saturday, 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM 
Closed Sunday
(423) 434-4454

Jonesborough Library 
By appointment only - (423) 753-1800

Gray Library 
By appointment only - (423) 477-1550

TWRA Affiliated Boating Courses

Study & Take Practice Tests Online

Boat TN Online

Boat TN Home Study

Call our Boating Education Office at (615) 781-6682 or send an e-mail for more information or to receive a home study book.