Adjuster Certification ProgramTraining for insurance adjusters in Tennessee Workers’ Compensation Law
The Bureau of Workers' Compensation wants to ensure that injured workers return to their health and to their jobs as quickly as possible. We don't want injured workers to experience a delay in receiving medical benefits or lost wage benefits that could negatively impact or unnecessarily delay their recovery. To help meet these goals, an Adjuster Certification Program was developed to educate adjusters about the requirements of Tennessee's workers' compensation laws, rules, and regulations.
The purpose of this program is two-fold: assure that injured employees are treated fairly, and that Tennessee workers' compensation claims are handled in an appropriate and uniform manner.
The program is not intended to show adjusters “how to do their job”, but rather focuses on the relationships and interactions from the adjuster’s perspective pertaining to Tennessee workers’ compensation law and best practices.
The program is conducted by Bureau staff, including judges, program directors, and the assistant administrator. Training sessions are offered periodically throughout the year. Insurance adjusters who participate in the training and pass a final exam will be recognized by the Bureau as "certified."
Being designated as "certified" indicates a higher level of understanding of Tennessee's workers' compensation claims handling standards and the benefits of early and continuous communications with each person involved in the claim. This designation can also prove to be a marketing advantage for adjusters and the carriers / Third Party Administrators as employers looking to obtain workers' compensation insurance will be able to access the list of certified adjusters and certified adjusting entities.
View the Program Rules
This list contains the names of insurance adjusters who are now recognized by the Bureau of Workers' Compensation for their dedication and proficiency of the Tennessee Workers' Compensation System.
Download the Registry of Certified Adjusters.
An adjuster’s certification expires no less than 24 months from the date of designation. Notice will be sent to certified adjusters at least thirty calendar days prior to the expiration of their certification.
We are proud to recognize adjusting entities that are dedicated to providing the best quality service to employers and injured workers by going “above and beyond” Tennessee standards regarding their claims handling practices.
Registry of Certified Adjusting Entities
|Accident Fund: Insurance Company of America||January 2020|
What is an Adjusting Entity?
An adjusting entity is an insurance company, third party administrator, or self-insured employer that administers Tennessee workers’ compensation claims.
To be designated as a “certified” adjusting entity:
- Fill out an application and provide all requested documentation.
- Implement a training program for adjusters that process Tennessee claims (in addition to the Bureau’s course).
- Meet or exceed the 85% acceptance rate of EDI filings, according to state standards in the past year.
- Have at least 60% of its adjusters that process Tennessee claims be certified by the Bureau.
- Have at least 75% of its supervisors of Tennessee adjusters be certified by the Bureau.
- For complete details, see Program Rules.
|Class Dates||City||Registration Status|
|December 5–9, 2022||(online)||Register|
For our virtual training, fees are around $99 per attendee which covers all class sessions, exam, and a copy for the Tennessee law book. For in-person trainings, fees are generally less than $150 per attendee which covers the cost of the venue, food, and materials.
Since implementing virtual offerings of the Adjuster Certification Program, we have seen success and a tremendous growth in attendance from adjusters across the country. Utilizing both Microsoft Teams and engaging Nearpod presentations, we have maintained our goal of small class sizes with personalized attention and interaction between participants and presenters. Although virtual classes can never fully replicate in-person learning, more adjusters are able to attend due to less financial, time, and travel commitments. Each class is a week-long investment when given virtually.
Due to the positive feedback from attendees, we plan to continue our virtual offerings of this program at this time.
When we can safely resume in-person class offerings, the dates will shift to a two-day format. These classes are usually hosted in Nashville, Memphis, and Sevierville.
The voluntary program is currently offered virtually. The Monday through Friday training event is composed of 10 sessions, scheduled to minimally impact the workday. The presenters are all Bureau directors and supervisors—the very people that interpret and enforce the policies and procedures presented in the training. In addition, these sessions are recorded and available for on-demand viewing for a limited time after the class.
The in-person class offerings consist of a two-day training event, also conducted by Bureau leadership.
For our virtual class, a test is administered at the end of the week following a Q&A session with the presenters. The timed test is conducted using Microsoft Forms. Viewing all sessions and achieving a passing grade on the test is required to be recognized as a "Certified Adjuster."
For the in-person program, the test is administered at the end of the second day. Like the virtual offering, attending both days and achieving a passing grade is required.
- How long is the test?
- 82 questions. Two hours are allotted to take it. Most participants take just over an hour to complete the exam.
- What is a passing score?
- You need at least 58 "points" to pass which (out of 82 questions) would put you at 70% overall score.
- How do I know if I pass?
- If taking the test online, the score is available immediately after taking the exam. Click the "View results" button. If your raw score is 58 or above, you passed!
- You will receive a follow up email and certificate from the Bureau. Your name will be added to the Bureau's list of certified adjusters.
- What if I fail?
- We hope you found the course helpful and hope you consider retaking the class at a later date to become certified.
- Can I retake the test?
- No, but you may retake the class at a later date.
- What if I can't attend the scheduled test time?
- Notify the program contact before the exam to see if we can schedule another time to take the exam. (E.g., the following week).
Example In-Person Agenda
|7:30 – 8:00 am||Registration and Sign in|
|8:00 – 8:45 am||Welcome, Intros and Ice breaker||Jeff Francis|
|8:45 – 9:15 am||The Story of Charlie Goodfella|
|9:15 – 9:30am||BREAK—Q & A with staff members|
|9:30 – 10:15 am||The Making of a Claims Professional||Jeff Francis|
|10:15 – 10:45 am||Claims Administration—Pt 1||Lance Wheaton|
|10:45 – 11:45 am||Claims Administration—Pt 2||Cathy Dodd, Matthew Salyer|
|11:45 – 12:45 pm||LUNCH|
|12:45 – 2:15 pm||Medical Topics—How you could needlessly be costing your client money and delaying recovery||Suzy Douglas|
|2:15 – 2:30 pm||BREAK: Q & A with staff members|
|2:30 – 3:15 pm||The Ombudsman Program||April Verdoni|
|3:15 – 4:15 pm||Mediation of Temporary Issues||Brian Holmes|
|8:45 – 9:45 am||e-billing, Fraud Awareness, Compliance Program
|9:45 – 10:00am||BREAK: Q & A with staff members|
|10:00 – 11:00 am
||Mediation of Permanent Issues Subsequent Injury and Vocational Recovery Fund
||Brian Holmes, Robert Davies|
|11:00 – 11:45 am
||The Penalty Program||Mark Finks|
|11:45 – 12:45 pm||LUNCH|
|12:45 – 1:30 pm
||Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims
||Judge Josh Baker|
|1:30 – 2:15 pm||The Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board||Elizabeth Vines|
|2:15 – 2:30 pm||BREAK: Q & A with staff members|
|2:30 – 3:30 pm||Quality Decision Making||Jeff Francis|
Example Virtual Agenda
|Monday||Introductions, Overview Intro to Tennessee Benefit Structure, Jeff Francis
WC 101 and WC 201, Brian Holmes
|Tuesday||M.O.S.T. Mediation and Ombudsmen Services, Brian Holmes
EDI and Claims Filing Requirements + The Penalty Program; Matthew Salyer, Cathy Dodd, Troy Haley, Missi Norris, Mark Finks
|Wednesday||The Making of an Exceptional Adjuster, Jeff Francis
Rules for Requests for Treatment: The Utilization Review Process; Dr. Robert Snyder, Suzy Douglas
|Thursday||Building Trust and Gaining Cooperation, Bureau Regulatory Programs, PPD, PTD, & Subsequent Injury Fund; Jeff Francis, Tim Kellum
Medical Programs: Case Management, Fee Schedule, MIR Registry, Drug Formulary, Treatment Guidelines, etc.; Dr. Robert Snyder, Suzy Douglas
|Friday||The Court of Workers' Compensation Claims and The Appeals Board; Hon. Pamela Johnson, Elizabeth Vines
Roundtable discussions Q&A with Facilitators + Timed Test; All Presenters
Very informative. Different presenters kept it moving!
Even though this course was presented online, the presenters and presentation was very easy to learn; and the presenters answered any questions you had as if you were in-person. No technical issues!!
The presenters were more than willing to answer questions. Also, the presentation was very detailed.
Loved the wealth of information on so many topics. Liked the quizzes. I really liked how much you care and how down to earth and realistic everyone was.
I liked getting first-hand knowledge from the folks who work at the bureau every day.
This Page Last Updated: September 21, 2022 at 2:38 PM