Registration is now open for the Adjuster Certification Training in Memphis
Registration is now open for the Bureau's offering of the Adjuster Certification Class to conducted on August 28th and 29th at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites located at 7784 Wolf Trail Cove, Germantown, Tennessee. The fee is $129.00 per person and includes lunch on both days and a choice of the most current edition of the Tennessee Workers' Compensation Law Book or an autographed copy of "The Eight Characteristics of the Awesome Adjuster" by Carl Van. A special conference rate of $124.00 is available at the hotel by calling 901-309-6700 and requesting the "TNB" group rate. Registration is limited to the first 30 people to register. This may be the last class conducted this calendar year. To register, please complete the registration form and return it with payment to the Bureau immediately.
Rulemaking Hearing for proposed Inspection and Copies of Public Records rules will be held August 30, 2018
The Bureau will conduct a rulemaking hearing on a new set of proposed rules concerning access to the public records maintained by the agency. The hearing will be held at 10:00 a.m. CDT in the Tennessee Room of the Department of Labor and Workforce Development's offices, located at 220 French Landing Drive, Nashville, Tennessee. The public is invited to attend and to offer comments.
New Claims Handling Standards will go into effect August 2, 2018
Revisions to the Claims Handling Standards include requirements for adjusting entities to designate a liaison to the Bureau to serve as a primary point of contact, clarification on the steps to file claims if the SSN is missing or unknown, deletion of the requirement to have a claims office in the state, and new requirements for making contact with the injured employee.
2018 Legislative Update
This is a general overview of workers’ compensation legislation passed by the 2018 session of the 110th General Assembly. For a complete, detailed review of this information and all workers’ compensation bills introduced in this legislative session, please go to www.capitol.tn.gov.
New General Workers' Compensation Rules and Rules for the voluntary Adjuster Certification Program will go into effect May 31, 2018
Highlights of the General Workers' Compensation Rules include less time for providing medical panels, clearer language regarding walk-in/urgent care facilities on panels, and the use of Nurse Practitioners and Physician Assistants in treatment. Highlights of the Adjuster Certification Rules include opportunities for adjusters and adjusting entities to achieve recognition from the Bureau and their ability to distinguish themselves from their competitors by participating in training offered by Bureau staff.
New Rules for the Drug Free Workplace Program will go into effect on May 6, 2018
Highlights of the new rules include easier to understand language, point of collection testing procedures, clear instructions on how to handle an employee's inability to provide or refusal to provide a sample, Employee and Employer Protections, and suggestions for all required training. As part of the revisions to the Program, a new Employer Implementation Guide and a template for a Substance Abuse Policy Statement have been added to the Program's website. Beginning on May 6, 2018, employers will be able to conduct point-of-collection testing for job applicants that have been offered a conditional offer of employment. The devices must meet the same testing standards as required by the US Department of Transportation and SAMSHA and be approved by the Bureau.
The new Form SD-2, the replacement form for the current Statistical Data Form SD-1, will go into effect May 6, 2018
The new rules will require a SD-2 Form to be filed with the Bureau in all claims that conclude by settlement or are resolved by trial, including settlements that close future medical benefits or benefits provided after the expiration of the initial compensation period.
e-Billing Rules to become effective July 1, 2018
Get BWC Updates via Email!
Want to stay up to date on all things workers’ compensation for Tennessee? Interested in upcoming Bureau events, legislative changes, and rule revisions? If so, subscribe to our external newsletter today! You'll find a slew of informational gems with each edition. Highlighting breaking news, updates, and event notices, plenty of resources are provided to make it easier than ever to stay in the loop with what's happening at the Tennessee Bureau of Workers' Compensation.
BWC Kingsport, TN office relocates to Gray, TN
From February 22nd until February 28th, the staff of the Bureau's Kingsport office will be temporarily working in the Career Center located at 206 High Point Road in Johnson City. Effective March 1, the staff will relocate to its new offices located at 5788 Bobby Hicks Highway, Gray, Tennessee 37615-3190. This relocation will require new phone numbers for the office and staff.
Designation of Insurance Rate Service Organization
The Insurance Rate Service Organization designated for Bureau purposes that include the filing of insurance policy provisions and coverages and the determination of job classifications for applicable Bureau Rules is the National Council on Compensation Insurance (NCCI)