Skip to Main Content

Sue Ann Head Award

Recognizing Excellence in Workers' Compensation

The Tennessee Bureau of Workers' Compensation is pleased to honor workers' compensation professionals with the Sue Ann Head Award for Excellence in Workers' Compensation. Award winners must have worked in the Tennessee workers' compensation system for a minimum of five years in one of the following categories: employer or employer's representative, service provider, claims professional, medical provider, or attorney.


About Sue Ann Head

Ms. Sue Ann Head, former Administrator of the Division of Workers' Compensation until February 2011, led with her mind and taught with her heart. Born in Davidson County, TN, she attended college at Tennessee Tech University in Cookeville, TN. Her career with state government spanned more than 45 years: Beginning in 1966 as a secretary, then later appointed as the assistant director in 1979, and director in 1982. For 30 years she led the Tennessee Workers' Compensation Division through reforms in 1992 and 2004 which led to the implementation of several programs like Benefit Review, Case Management, Utilization Review, Uninsured Employers Fund, and many more. Her service to this industry was not limited to state government. Sue Ann served on the Executive Committee of the Southern of Workers' Compensation Administrators and then as the President in 1991. She also served on the Board of Trustees for the International Workers' Compensation Foundation, Inc. (IWCF).

2020 nominations are not yet available at this time.

The award will be based on the nominee's overall service to Tennessee's workers' compensation system and should reflect the Bureau's mission of fulfilling the promise of workers' compensation. Nominations will be reviewed for quality and impact of the nominee's work in the workers' compensation system. That impact may result from a single action that had a notable effect or it may be a sustained record of positive contributions over the nominee's career. The panel of judgest will be leading industry professionals from neighboring states.


2019 Winner

Terry Hill

Mr. Hill is a partner at Mainer & Herod. He has played a significant role in the development of the Tennessee Workers' Compensation law. He was appointed by Governor Lamar Alexander to a legislative study committee in 1985. Six years later, Governor Ned McWherter asked a group of stakeholders that included Mr. Hill to meet to discuss ways to address inconsistencies in awards. Subsequent to these meeting Mr. Hill drafted legislation that came to known as the Workers' Compensation Reform Act of 1992 and provided a well-defined range within which an award must fall based on established criteria and established the first steps in establishing a system for alternative dispute resolution. He was the Executive Director of the Tennessee Self-Insurers' Association from 2006 to 2013.