Skip to Main Content

Find COVID-19 Information and Resources

TDOE Announces 2020-21 Tennessee Supervisor of the Year

Friday, October 23, 2020 | 10:26am


Rutherford County Schools Supervisor Receives Statewide District Leader Honor


NASHVILLE, TN—Yesterday, the Tennessee Department of Education announced Kay Martin of Rutherford County Schools is the 2020-21 Tennessee Supervisor of the Year.  

Out of nine finalists representing Tennessee’s eight CORE regions, as well as the Shelby County-Municipals area, Martin was selected as the 2020-21 Tennessee Supervisor of the Year. She has served in the education profession for over two decades, with 14 years having been in administration.  

“Congratulations to Tennessee’s Supervisor of the Year Kay Martin, the Grand Division Winners, and all the finalists,” said Commissioner Penny Schwinn. “Across Tennessee, we have seen so many incredible district leaders going above and beyond to ensure their communities have access to much-needed resources while their students maintain access to high-quality instruction. We appreciate the leadership exemplified by all our district leaders across the state in the midst of a global pandemic and thank you for your hard work.” 

Additionally, three of the nine Supervisor of the Year finalists have been selected to represent the East, Middle, and West Grand Divisions of our state. The East Tennessee Grand Division Supervisor of the Year is Ruth Ann White from Bradley County Schools. The Middle Tennessee Grand Division Supervisor of the Year Winner is Dr. Kay Martin from Rutherford County Schools. The West Tennessee Grand Division Supervisor of the Year Winner is Dr. Nancy Kelley from Collierville Municipal Schools. 

The announcement took place virtually due to the coronavirus and taking necessary safety precautions, including congratulatory messages from Governor Bill Lee, Commissioner Penny Schwinn, and legislators representing areas for various finalists—Lieutenant Governor Randy McNally, Speaker Cameron Sexton, Senator Dolores Gresham, Representative Kirk Haston, Senator Shane Reeves, Senator Paul Rose, and Senator Dawn White. 

“This has been a challenging year for all educators as we embrace a new normal, and now, more than ever, administrators and teachers need to be recognized for their hard work and resilience,” said 2019-20 Supervisor of the Year, Dr. Michelle Goad. “Congratulations to all the finalists and especially to Supervisor Kay Martin on being selected as this year’s Supervisor of the Year. Your efforts and patience led you to this great accomplishment. While recognition isn’t our goal, you are an example of great things that happen to those who work hard to educate the next generation and your leadership will be a source of inspiration.” 

Annually, the Tennessee Supervisor of the Year award is awarded to a district leader for excellent leadership, dedication to education, and overall exceptional gains in student learning. To qualify, candidates must have a minimum of eight years of professional experience in public schools and a minimum of three years of experience as an administrator. At all levels of recognition, Supervisor of the Year finalists must be employed as a supervisor in a Tennessee public school system. 

This announcement is traditionally made at a banquet, which has been postponed due to coronavirus safety concerns.  

For information regarding the nine finalists, click here. To learn more about the Tennessee Supervisor of the Year award, click here.   

For Tennessee Department of Education media inquiries, contact