Superintendent Study Council

The purpose of the Superintendent Study Council is to:

  • Provide an opportunity for the continuous study of problems of the profession;
  • Jointly evaluate, with the Tennessee Department of Education, ongoing instructional programs and recommend changes designed to improve those programs;


Membership in the Supervisor Study Council is open to all superintendents and directors of Tennessee schools.


To provide a more direct opportunity for active participation in the activities of the study council and to keep responsive to the needs of its members and to facilitate more direct cooperation between the department and the supervisors of the state, the Superintendent Study Council is organized into Area Study Councils for meeting purposes. 

Reporting attendance of State Alternative Credit is the sole responsibility of the Event Coordinator

Study Council Executive Committe
Eddie Pruett, Chair Gibson County Special Northwest
Joey Vaughn, Co-Chair Manchester City Schools South Central
Steve Starnes Greeneville City Schools First Tennessee 
Jonathan Criswell  Milan Special School District Northwest
Kelly Johnson  Clinton City Schools East Tennessee 
Kris McAskill  Houston County Schools Mid Cumberland 
Kurt Dronebarger  White County Schools Upper Cumberland 
Jason Manuel Germantown Municipal School District Southwest
Clint Baker  Meigs County Schools Southeast 
Steve Barnett Johnson City Schools First Tennessee 
Ex Officio
Lizzette Reynolds  Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Education 
Dale Lynch  TOSS Executive Director 
Janna Scarborough  East Tennessee State University, Higher Education Representative

Tennessee directors of schools gather each year for a conference and professional development workshop in Gatlinburg, Tennessee. 

2023 Conference 


September 10-13, 2023 


The Park Vista Doubletree Hotel, Gatlinburg, TN 37738

Conference Program

2023 SSC Digital Program


For inquiries on becoming a Sponsor or an Exhibitor at the Superintendent Conference, please contact Susie Benefield at TOSS, or (615) 254-1955 

For further information, contact Aimee LaGrone at or (629) 259-2683.