TDOE Shares Video Messages from Tennessee Leaders & Celebrities to Congratulate Class of 2020

Tuesday, May 19, 2020 | 11:05am


Tuesday, May 19, 2020 

MEDIA CONTACT: Victoria Robinson


TDOE Shares Video Messages from Tennessee Leaders & Celebrities to Congratulate Class of 2020

Elected officials, athletes, and musicians share special messages for 2020 Graduation

NASHVILLE, TN—To celebrate Tennessee’s Class of 2020, the Tennessee Department of Education is sharing special video messages to Tennessee’s graduating seniors from prominent state leaders, athletes, and musicians all week. 

The department shared messages from:

  • Governor Bill Lee
  • Senator Lamar Alexander
  • Senator Marsha Blackburn
  • Brian McLaughlin, 2019-20 Tennessee Teacher of the Year 
  • Dr. LeAndrea Ware, 2019-20 Tennessee Principal of the Year 
  • Thomas Rhett and Lauren Akins 
  • Josh Turner
  • Shawn Johnson and Andrew East
  • Ben Jones of the Tennessee Titans
  • Filip Forsberg of the Nashville Predators
  •  Jaren Jackson Jr. of the Memphis Grizzlies
  • Tanner Dieterich of the Nashville Soccer Club

Find the compilation video here and individual videos here.

"While graduations look different this year, that will not stop us from celebrating our Class of 2020. Thank you to each of these Tennesseans who have come together for this virtual celebration to encourage and congratulate graduates on their accomplishments,” said Commissioner Penny Schwinn. “This class has overcome a lot to get here, and we want them to know we are proud of them and their accomplishments.” 

All Tennesseans are encouraged to join in on the weeklong celebration and share their messages using #Classof2020TN. 

For media inquiries, contact