Skip to Main Content

Tennessee Names 2018-19 Principal, District Supervisor of the Year

Thursday, October 04, 2018 | 08:00pm

NASHVILLE—A Tipton County middle school principal and a Loudon County supervisor have earned top honors for their work in Tennessee education during the annual honorary banquet on Thursday night.

Vicki Shipley, principal of Munford Middle School in Tipton County Schools, was named Tennessee’s 2018-19 Principal of the Year. Shipley has served in school administration for 18 years and is in her eighth year as principal of Munford Middle. As principal, she has worked to ensure that the administrative team provides a clear focus on academic success through collaboration. Shipley also models the importance of professional learning by being an active principal study council member, attending TEAM training along with her teachers, and strives to learn at least one new thing every day.

Maria Warren, district elementary supervisor and RTI2 supervisor in Loudon County Schools, was named Tennessee’s 2018-19 Supervisor of the Year. Warren has worked in education for over 27 years and has served 8 years as an administrator. Under her leadership, Loudon County was invited to be one of 22 districts focused on improving professional learning for educators. Through this project, Warren concentrated on aligning professional development to the district strategic plan and developed tools to guide the design and delivery of all professional learning activities. As a result, 98 percent of teachers in Loudon County now believe that their professional learning is aligned to the district’s priorities for improving teacher practices and student learning.

Both awards were announced this evening at an honorary banquet during the department’s LEAD conference, a statewide convening for Tennessee’s leaders in districts, schools, and classrooms.

“In order for our students to succeed, we need strong leaders in our schools and districts and we are fortunate to have these accomplished educators serving the students in Tennessee,” Tennessee Commissioner of Education Candice McQueen said. “The work of principals and supervisors is challenging, but because of their commitment to excellence in education, Tennessee is a great place to teach and learn.”

The annual Principal of the Year and Supervisor of the Year awards recognize administrators who have helped provide educational opportunities for Tennessee students through their leadership, programs, and vision. Shipley and Warren were among nine principals and nine district supervisors, respectively, selected as regional finalists after being nominated by their peers for the title.

The winners for the three Tennessee grand divisions were also recognized today.

Shipley was named the Tennessee Principal of the Year and West Grand Division winner. Velena Newton, principal of Richland Elementary in Giles County Schools, was named the winner for the Middle Grand Division. Joseph Ely, principal of Lincoln Heights Middle School in Hamblen County Schools, was named the winner for the East Grand Division.

Warren was named the Tennessee Supervisor of the Year and East Grand Division winner. Dr. Regina T. Merriman, former supervisor in the Cannon County School District, was named the winner for the Middle Grand Division. Angie M. Delloso, supervisor for the Lakeland School System, was named the winner for the West Grand Division.

For questions about the Principal or Supervisor of the Year program in Tennessee, please contact Paul Fleming, assistant commissioner of teachers and leaders, at For media inquiries, please contact Sara Gast, director of communications, at or call (615) 532-6260.