Senator Ken Yager (R-Kingston)

District 12—Campbell, Clay, Fentress, Macon, Morgan, Overton, Pickett, Roane and Scott Counties
Term of Appointment: Expires November 5, 2024

Senator Ken Yager, a staunch Republican, represents the 12th district and some of the finest counties in East Tennessee and the Upper Cumberland. Senator Yager is a seasoned public servant serving as Roane County Attorney and Roane County Executive (6 terms) before being elected to the Tennessee State Senate in November 2007. He is currently in his fourth term as Senator and serves in Senate Leadership as Chairman of the Senate Republican Caucus, a capacity he has served in since November 2018.

During his tenure in the Senate, Senator Yager has served as Chair of the Joint Fiscal Review Committee and was the longtime Chairman of the Senate State and Local Government Committee. He currently serves on the powerful Senate Finance, Ways and Means Committee. Senate Commerce and Insurance Committee, and is the ranking member of the Senate State and Local Government Committee. Additionally, he serves on the Joint Fiscal Review Committee and is the Chairman of the Tennessee Advisory Commission of Intergovernmental Relations (TACIR).

Senator Yager is a longtime resident of Roane County, where he has worked as a teacher in the Harriman City School System before spending several years practicing law. He is a graduate of the University of Tennessee at Martin with a degree in history in 1969 before completing his Master’s from UT Martin in 1972. In 1977, he earned his Juris Doctorate from the University of Memphis.

Senator Yager and his wife Malinda reside in Kingston and have two grown children Bonnie-Marie and Will. They attend First Baptist Church of Kingston.

You can read more about Senator Yager on the Tennessee General Assembly website.


Cordell Hull Building, Suite 704
425 Rep. John Lewis Way North
Nashville, TN 37243