Workers' Compensation Award Finalists Announced

TN Bureau of Workers’ Compensation Releases Names of Finalists for the 2022 Sue Ann Head Award
Monday, August 01, 2022 | 01:18pm

NASHVILLE - The Tennessee Bureau of Workers’ Compensation (BWC) has announced the names of the three finalists for the Fourth Annual Sue Ann Head Award for Innovation and Excellence in Workers’ Compensation. This award recognizes individuals who have made a significant and positive impact on the workers’ compensation system, whether that is a single extraordinary action or a record of positive contributions over a career.
This year, 14 individuals were nominated, each having a minimum of five years of experience in the workers’ compensation field. From the nominations, a panel of judges narrowed the list to the three finalists.

Headshot of all three finalists

Dan Headrick 
Dan Headrick is an Industrial Specialist for STAR Physical Therapy. He has practiced outpatient physical therapy for 30 years. During the last 20 years, Headrick has had an emphasis on preventing work-related injuries and facilitating return-to-work opportunities for those who were injured. He is a member of the Medical Advisory Committee for the State of Tennessee, a contributor to the REWARD Program for the State of Tennessee, president of the Mid-South Workers’ Comp Association, and a member of the American Society of Safety Professionals.
Bob Pitts 
For more than forty years, Bob Pitts has actively participated and contributed to the evolving laws of Tennessee Workers’ Compensation. Pitts has served on the state of Tennessee Advisory Council on Workers’ Compensation for more than 25 years. He has advised governors, Department of Labor commissioners, members of the General Assembly, and multiple Tennessee business and professional groups. Pitts has also mentored many business and labor lobbyists over the years, advocating for fairness and respect for all parties in workers’ compensation. 
Sarah Reisner
Sarah Hardison Reisner, J.D., has spent over 25 years as a workers' compensation defense attorney. She has tried numerous workers’ compensation cases in Tennessee state courts and before the Court of Workers' Compensation Claims, as well as participated many mediations. Reisner regularly speaks on the Tennessee Workers’ Compensation Law, most recently presenting on penalties to members of the Mid-South Workers’ Compensation Association. She advises stakeholders often on how to properly comply with workers’ compensation rules and claims handling standards.

A distinguished panel of workers' compensation experts from across the country served as judges for the 2022 award submissions.

Dwight Lovan
Former Commissioner for the Department of Workers’ Claims for the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

Terry Hill 
Partner at Manier & Herod, and the first recipient of the Sue Ann Head Award.   

Paul Sighinolfi
Senior Managing Director at Ametros, and former Executive Director of the Workers’ Compensation Board of the state of Maine.   

The award is named in honor and memory of Sue Ann Head, who led the Tennessee Workers’ Compensation Division for over 30 years.
The winner will be announced on Tuesday, August 16, 2022, at a luncheon during the 25th Tennessee Workers' Compensation Educational Conference in Murfreesboro, TN.