Skip to Main Content

Find COVID-19 Information and Resources
Federal $600 FPUC Payment Ends Saturday, July 25. Click here for details
WED-SAT Weekly Certification Access - Last digit of Claimant’s Social Security number: All numbers

COVID-19 Unemployment for Employees

Employee related Questions and Answers click here

How to File for Unemployment through the Jobs4TN app

Download the app for Google

Download the app for Apple

President Trump recently signed the CARES Act or COVID-19 stimulus bill into law. Once the Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development determines how the state will obtain the federal funding and implement the changes, the Department will announce details for independent contractors, the self-employed and business owners who will soon be eligible for Pandemic Unemployment Assistance. Look for more visibility of when Tennessee will enact these changes in the next few days.

If you applied for unemployment benefits, you must complete a weekly certification in order to receive those benefits.

If your employer filed a claim on your behalf, do not file an individual claim. If you are uncertain if your employer has filed a claim, call your employer to confirm.

The fastest and most efficient way to file an unemployment claim is to go to www.Jobs4TN.gov. Due to the high volume of claims because of the COVID-19 emergency, if you file with any other method you could significantly delay the processing of your claim.

  • You are required to certify online each Sunday to notify the state you are still not working.
  • You can check the status of your claim on your dashboard at Jobs4TN.gov.
  • If you are locked out of your Jobs4TN.gov account you may submit a ticket to LWDSupport.tn.gov.
  • If your place of employment is temporarily closed due to COVID-19, please indicate a return to work date. If you are unsure of the return to work date, use the date 16 weeks from the day of filing.
  • The state can provide your weekly benefit payment through direct deposit or debit card. You can choose which method when you file your claim.
  • Your unemployment benefit is considered taxable income. You can choose to have federal taxes deducted from your weekly payment.
  • The maximum weekly benefit in Tennessee is $275 before federal taxes are deducted.
  • The state determines your weekly benefit based on your earning over the past 18 months.
  • When you receive your debit card, if there are issues, you should contact Conduit at 855-462-5887.
  • The COVID-19 emergency has created an enormous demand on the unemployment insurance system. The Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development is doing everything possible to process claims.