Nineteen New State Historical Markers

Markers approved at the October 15 meeting of the Tennessee Historical Commission:  Oak Ridge Institute of Nuclear Studies Medical Division and Oak Ridge Municipal Outdoor Swimming Pool, Anderson County; Tanner School, Cocke County; Walden College and Charles S. Johnson/Park Johnson, Davidson County; James C. Ford, Hamilton County; The Hiram Douglas House, Arthur “Fiddlin” Smith, Hurricane Mills, The Butterfield House, and The McAdoo House, Humphreys County; Hands Across America Mid-Point, Lauderdale County; Jones Training School, Marshall County; McCain’s Academy, Church and Cemetery, Maury County; Clarksville’s Slave Market, Headquarters of the United States Colored Troops, and Lincoln Homes, Montgomery County; John Wesley Stewart, Shelby County; and John William Boyd, Tipton County. For Markers Program information: