About us

The Tennessee Historical Commission is the State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO) for Tennessee and has state and federally-mandated programs promoting historic preservation and history. The agency’s mission is to protect, preserve, interpret, maintain, and administer historic places; to encourage the inclusive diverse study of Tennessee's history for the benefit of future generations; to mark important locations, persons, and events in Tennessee history; to assist in worthy publication projects; to review, comment on, and identify projects that will potentially impact historic properties; to locate, identify, record, and nominate to the National Register of Historic Places all properties which meet National Register criteria; and to implement other programs of the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966 as amended. The Tennessee Historical Commission is an independent state agency, administratively attached to the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation (TDEC). The Commission has a professional staff of eighteen, including the executive director, who are responsible for the day-to-day operations of the office.

The Tennessee Historical Commission is also a twenty-nine member volunteer board. Established in 1919, twenty-four members, equally divided among the three grand divisions of the state, are appointed by the Governor. Five more are ex officio members. The ex officio members are the Governor, the State Historian, the State Archaeologist, the Commissioner of Environment and Conservation, and the State Librarian and Archivist. The Commission regularly meets the third Friday of February, June, and October. When mandated by state law, the Commission is authorized to make decisions per a legislatively established public hearing process. More information on the appointed Commission can be found on the THC Board Members page and on the  Public Meetings page. See menu on the left side of this page. 

To contact commission members, email Ask.THC@tn.gov.

THC’s Federal Programs receive federal funds from the National Park Service. Regulations of the U.S. Department of the Interior strictly prohibit unlawful discrimination in departmental federally assisted programs on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, or disability. Any person who believes he or she has been discriminated against in any program, activity or facility operated by a recipient of federal assistance should write to: Director, Equal Opportunity Program, U.S. Department of the Interior, National Park Service, P.O. Box 37127, Washington, D.C. 20013-7127 and Linda T. Wynn, Title VI Coordinator, Tennessee Historical Commission, 2941 Lebanon Pike, Nashville, TN 37214

Image of Clover Bottom Mansion

Mailing Address

Tennessee Historical Commission
State Historic Preservation Office
2941 Lebanon Pike
Nashville, TN 37214


8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

The grounds are typically open during daylight hours, seven days a week. Interpretive displays have been installed in front of the mansion and outbuildings to tell the history of the Clover Bottom estate. At this time, there are no interpretive displays inside the mansion or outbuildings.

THC Boards and Commissions

State Review Board

The board consists of twelve members appointed by the State Historic Preservation Officer. The Chair of the Historic Sites Committee of the Tennessee Historical Commission is an ex-officio member. The Board meets three times a year to consider nominations from Tennessee to the National Register of Historic Places. The meetings typically take place in January, May, and September. Members must have demonstrated a competence, interest, or knowledge in historic preservation and a majority of the members shall be recognized professionals.

Tennessee Historical Commission

The Commission consists of twenty-nine members: 24 appointed by the Governor and 5 ex officio members. Ex officio members include the Governor, the State Historian, the State Archaeologist, the Commissioner of Environment and Conservation, the State Librarian and Archivist. The 24 members appointed by the Governor are equally divided among the three grand divisions of the state. Regular meetings of the Commission typically take place the third Friday of February, June, and October.

Contact Commission Members at Ask.THC@tn.gov

Tennessee Wars Commission

The Tennessee General Assembly enacted legislation in April 1994 creating the Tennessee Wars Commission, which is also the Tennessee Historical Commission. The duties of the Wars Commission include the coordination of planning, preservation, and promotion of structures, buildings, sites, and battlefields of Tennessee associated with the French and Indian War, American Revolutionary War, War of 1812, U.S.-Mexican War, and the War Between the States.