Skip to Main Content

Find COVID-19 Information and Resources
TDEC COVID-19 Response and Resources

Statewide Comprehensive Outdoor Recreation Plan (SCORP)

TN 2030: Tennessee State Recreation Plan

TDEC is in the process of creating the Tennessee Statewide Parks, Recreation and Conservation Plan 2030. This plan will outline the recreation, parks, and conservation priorities for the State of Tennessee for the next 10 years (2020-2030). A portion of this plan will be the Statewide Comprehensive Outdoor Recreation Plan (SCORP), which will serve as a guide for all public outdoor recreation in urban and rural neighborhoods, cities, and regions for our state. Each state must prepare a SCORP every five years to be eligible for funding from the Land and Water Conservation Fund (LWCF). TN 2030 will build upon the TN 2020 and TN 2020 Update plans.

Participate

A critical element to any successful plan, is active engagement from stakeholders and the public. TN 2030 is a roadmap for the future of outdoor public recreation, and the guidance and feedback provided by meaningful public participation is essential for the plan to accurately reflect the needs and desires of our great state.

Take a look at the full project schedule below to see how and when you can be involved.

View the SCORP Full Project Schedule

Meetings

This ad hoc advisory committee is appointed by the Commissioner of Environment and Conservation and is made up of stakeholders that develop recommendations for the SCORP, encourage participation among involved agencies and monitors progress of implementation of the final plan. 

Download and review the audios of the meetings below.

Committee Member Agency
David W. Salyers, P.E.  TN Dept. of Environment & Conservation, Commissioner
Jim Bryson TN Dept. of Environment & Conservation, Deputy Commission of Parks & Conservation
Brenda Gilmore  Metro Nashville/Middle TN, Senator
Johnny Shaw Hardeman & Madison Counites, Representative
Melanie Beauchamp  TN Dept. of Tourist Development, Assistant Commissioner of Rural Tourism & Outreach
Bob Benson Nashville Metro Parks, Business Services Coordinator
Tony Black Jackson Parks & Rec/Greenways & Trails, Executive Director
Simon Bradbury Tellico Village Recreation Department, Director
Alison Bullock National Park Service, Community Manager
Kayla Carter Northeast TN Regional Economic Partnership, Outdoor Development Manager
Daniel Chuquin Tennessee State Parks/TDEC, Real Property Manager
Carol Coletta Memphis River Parks Partnership, President, CEO
Terry Cook Nature Conservancy, TN State Director
Tate Davis Doe Mountain Recreation Authority, Executive Director
Bonnie Gamble City of Manchester, Director
Tom Garner Pigeon Forge Parks and Recreation, Parks Superintendent
Clay Guerry TVA Natural Resources, Senior Specialist
Steve Law TennGreen Land Conservancy, Executive Director
Stacy Levine Tennessee State Parks/TDEC, Healthy Parks Administrator
Bridgett Massengill Thrive Regional Partnership, President, CEO
Roger McCoy TN Dept. of Environment & Conservation, Director of Natural Areas
Chris Richardson TWRA, Assistant Director
Mike Robertson Tennessee State Parks/TDEC, Director of Operations
Jodi Sliger Tennessee Dept of ECD, Community Development Director
John Vick Office of Primary Prevention TN Dept Health, Evaluation & Assessment Director
David Arnold TN Dept. of Agriculture, Division of Forestry

The TRAC will identify sub-committees based on the main topics of the plan and will identify the best people for those specific topics based on their expertise and experience. Select the arrows below to see the sub-committee members.

Advocacy and Education Subcommittee Advisor - Michael Shelton

Name/Contact Info
Tom Garner
865.850.4696
tgarner@cityofpigeonforgetn.gov
Daniel Chuquin
312 Rosa L. Parks Ave. 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN  37243
Daniel.Chuquin@tn.gov
Stacey Levine
Program Administrator
Healthy Parks Healthy Person
615.806.3530
Stacey.Levine@tn.gov
Larry Brown
Heather Piergies
Representative Chris Hurt

Conservation Subcommittee Advisor - Anne Marshall

Name/Contact Info
Terry Cook
The Nature Conservancy
2 Maryland Farms Suite 150
Brentwood, TN 37027
(615) 383-9909
terry.cook@tnc.org
Steve Law
1213A 16th Ave S.
Nashville, TN 37212
stevelaw@tenngreen.org
Bridgett Massengill
The Volunteer Building
832 Georgia Avenue
Chattanooga, TN 37402
(423) 541-3888
bmassengill@thriveregionalpartnership.org
Tate Davis
1203 Harbin Hill Road
Mountain City, TN 37683
(423) 460-1295
doemtntn@gmail.com
Roger McCoy
312 Rosa L. Parks Ave. 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
Roger.McCoy@tn.gov
Chris Richardson
Chris.Richardson@tn.gov
David Arnold
(615) 837-5435
David.Arnold@tn.gov
Mark Fly
University of Tennessee
Name/Contact Info
Brenda Gilmore
425 5th Avenue North
Suite 768 Cordell Hull Bldg.
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: (615) 741-2453
Fax: (615) 253-0268
Sen.Brenda.Gilmore@capitol.tn.gov

Lenekra Hill, Executive Secretary
lenekra.hill@capitol.tn.gov
Bob Benson
615.862.8400
Bob.benson@nashville.gov
Kayla Carter
NE Tennessee Regional Economic Partnership
300 E Main St. Suite 406
Johnson City, TN, 37601
kayla@northeasttn.com
Alison Bullock
423.987.6128
RTCA, National Park Service
535 Chestnut St., Suite 207
Chattanooga, TN 37402
Alison_Bullock@nps.gov  
Steven “Clay” Guerry
scguerry@tva.gov
John Vick, PHD, MS
John.Vick@tn.gov
Carol Coletta
901-312-9190
Memphis River Parks Partnership
22 N. Front St., Ste. 960
Memphis, TN 38103
ccoletta@memphisriverparks.org
Angela Hill

Partnership & Collaboration for Economic Success Subcommittee Advisor - April Johnson 

Name/Contact Info
Tony Black
Recreation & Parks
180 Conalco Drive
Jackson, Tn. 38301
Tel: 731. 425-8203
E-Mail: tblack@cityofjackson.net
Bonnie Gamble
bgamble@cityofmanchestertn.com
Simon Bradbury
sbradbury@tvpoa.org
Mike Robertson
312 Rosa L. Parks Ave. 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
Mike.Robertson@tn.gov
Jodi Sliger
615-393-4393
jody.sliger@tn.gov
Melanie Beauchamp
Melanie.Beauchamp@tn.gov
615.741.9009

This is your opportunity to provide input and guide the initiatives identified in the plan.