Tennessee Receives Major Disaster Declaration for Public Assistance for May Severe Weather, Tornadoes, and Flooding

Thursday, June 20, 2024 | 03:17pm

Nashville, Tenn.— Tennessee Gov. Bill Lee announced the approval of his request for a Major Disaster Declaration making the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) Public Assistance (PA) program available to 12 Tennessee counties to rebuild, repair, and restore facilities and services impacted by the May 8-9, 2024, severe weather, tornadoes, and flooding.

The 12 counties eligible for FEMA’s Public Assistance include Cannon, Cheatham, Giles, Hamilton, Jackson, Macon, Maury, Montgomery, Polk, Smith, Sumner, and Warren counties. 

“From debris removal to restoration of infrastructure, there are many ways FEMA’s Public Assistance program can aid impacted communities from the financial burden of disaster recovery,” said TEMA Director Patrick C. Sheehan. 

The Major Disaster Declaration allows eligible government entities and certain private non-profits in declared counties to apply for reimbursement of specific expenses related to the disaster under FEMA’s PA program. Information about FEMA’s PA program and its reimbursement categories can be found on FEMA’s website here.

As of Tuesday, June 18, Gov. Bill Lee’s request for FEMA’s Individual Assistance program to assist survivors in six disaster-impacted counties was denied. However, the state plans to appeal the decision.