Four Tennessee Counties Receive Federal Disaster Relief for July Severe Weather

Wednesday, September 06, 2023 | 08:46am

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Tennessee Governor Bill Lee announced the approval of his federal disaster assistance request, making recovery assistance available to Fayette, Henry, Shelby, and Tipton counties as a result of the severe weather and straight-line winds on July 18-21.

“We are grateful for our federal partners and their approval of our latest request for assistance,” said TEMA Director Patrick Sheehan. “Federal disaster assistance will bring much- needed economic relief and resources to help our West Tennessee communities recover from the destruction and rebuild stronger.”

The Major Disaster Declaration will make federal disaster relief available to eligible jurisdictions and certain private, non-profit organizations in the declared counties.

FEMA’s Public Assistance Program
The Major Disaster Declaration allows eligible government entities and certain private non- profits in the declared counties to apply for reimbursement of specific expenses related to the disaster under the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) Public Assistance (PA) program.

Information about FEMA's PA program and its reimbursement categories can be found here.

Hazard Mitigation Grant Program
The federal declaration also makes Tennessee eligible for the federal Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, which provides assistance to communities to prevent or reduce long-term risks to life and property from natural hazards.

Additional designations may be made at a later date based on the results of further damage assessments.