Federal Disaster Declaration Granted to Tennessee Counties Recovering from Severe Weather

Friday, August 18, 2023 | 01:04pm

NASHVILLE, Tenn.– Three Tennessee counties will receive federal recovery assistance under a
Major Disaster Declaration as a result of severe weather that impacted the state on June 25-26, 2023.

“We remain focused on providing resources and support to the communities who were devastated by this severe weather event,” said TEMA Director Patrick Sheehan. “Federal disaster assistance will bring much-needed economic relief to these impacted jurisdictions.”

The Major Disaster Declaration will make federal disaster relief available to eligible jurisdictions and certain private, non-profit organizations in Fayette, Shelby, and Tipton counties.

FEMA’s Public Assistance Program

The Major Disaster Declaration allows eligible government entities and certain private non-profits in the declared counties to apply for reimbursement of specific expenses related to the disaster under the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) Public Assistance (PA) program.

Information about FEMA's PA program and its reimbursement categories can be found here.

Hazard Mitigation Grant Program

The federal declaration also makes Tennessee eligible for the federal Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, which provides assistance to communities to prevent or reduce long-term risks to life
and property from natural hazards.

Additional designations may be made at a later date based on the results of further damage assessments.

This Page Last Updated: August 18, 2023 at 1:17 PM