December Winter Weather Receives Federal Disaster Recognition

Monday, March 13, 2023 | 11:08am

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Eleven Tennessee counties will receive federal recovery assistance under a Major Disaster Declaration in place today as a result of the severe winter weather that impacted the state on December 22-27, 2022.

"I appreciate our local, state and federal partners for responding quickly throughout the holidays to gather damage assessments and address needs,” said Gov. Bill Lee. “This assistance will provide much-needed relief to these impacted Tennessee communities.”

The eleven counties included in the Major Disaster Declaration are Cocke, Coffee, Davidson, Greene, Henderson, Knox, Maury, Perry, Putnam, Shelby, and Washington counties.

The Major Disaster Declaration allows the eligible county jurisdictions to seek reimbursement, through FEMA’s Public Assistance program, for emergency response measures, and the repair and replacement of disaster-damaged facilities and infrastructure.

“This federal assistance is instrumental for easing the financial burden brought by this disaster,” said TEMA Director Patrick Sheehan. “The Public Assistance program will bring much-needed relief to these impacted jurisdictions.”

Winter Storm Elliott was a cross-country storm that brought subzero temperatures to Tennessee, resulting in over 306,000 customers without power during its peak. As temperatures warmed, burst pipes and loss of water pressure resulted in many boil water advisories across the state.

About the Tennessee Emergency Management Agency: TEMA’s mission is to coordinate preparedness, response and recovery from man-made, natural and technological hazards in a professional and efficient manner in concert with our stakeholders. Follow TEMA on Facebook, LinkedIn, and Twitter, and, at