Skip to Main Content

Service Alert: Savannah Driver Services Center is closed until further notice for building maintenance.
Holiday Closure: All Driver Services Centers will be closed Friday, April 19, 2019

Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security Hosts Annual First Responders Awards Ceremony

“Three Stars of Tennessee Award” Recognized
Thursday, September 13, 2018 | 11:57am

NASHVILLE – The Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security hosted the annual First Responder Awards ceremony today. The event held in Conservation Hall at the Tennessee Residence honors those who have­­ dedicated their lives for the safety and security of Tennesseans. Commissioner David W. Purkey, Chief Justice Jeffrey Bivins, and State Senator Becky Massey (R-Knoxville) joined honorees, their family members, and agency representatives to recognize first responders as well as the recipients of the “Three Stars of Tennessee Award.”

“This annual event is very important to us,” Department of Safety and Homeland Security Commissioner David W. Purkey said.  “We remain indebted to the men and women first responders who work every day to keep the people of Tennessee safe.  Our hearts go out to the families who have had loved ones make the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty. We are proud to honor them with these awards. Important events take place at the Governor’s Residence, and we appreciate Governor Haslam allowing our department to continue to host this special ceremony.” 

This year, 26 first responders were recognized with First Responder Awards and three individuals were honored with the “Three Stars of Tennessee Award.” “Three Stars of Tennessee Award” honorees are those who gave their lives in the line of duty.  “These courageous individuals gave their lives to keep their communities safe,” Purkey said.

Honorees are nominated by his or her peers and represent the 11 homeland security districts, law enforcement agencies, and emergency responders throughout Tennessee, as well as state agencies such as the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation (TBI), the Tennessee Emergency Management Agency (TEMA), and the Tennessee Highway Patrol (THP).

The First Responder Awards ceremony has been a long standing tradition in memory of the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks. State Senator Becky Massey (R-Knoxville) spearheaded legislation to recognize law enforcement, firefighters and medical first responders who were either killed or suffered a career ending injury in the line of duty. The law (TCA 4-1-501) to allow for the “Three Stars of Tennessee Award” passed during the 2014 legislative session.  Chief Justice Bivins and Sen. Massey along with Commissioner David Purkey made the presentations to “Three Stars of Tennessee Award” honorees and the first responder award recipients.

The “Three Stars of Tennessee Award” honorees accompany this release, as well as a list of those individuals who received First Responder awards.

The Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security’s (www.TN.Gov/safety) mission is to serve, secure, and protect the people of Tennessee.