Hospital Services

The Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services operates four Regional Mental Health Institutes (RMHI) located in Bolivar, Chattanooga, Memphis, and Nashville.  All four RMHIs are accredited by The Joint Commission and have deemed status with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).  Additionally, the department contracts with three, privately-run psychiatric hospitals in East Tennessee for involuntary admissions to inpatient psychiatric treatment.

The links below include more information about each of our RMHIs, details for patients and families, and employment opportunities.