Professional Privilege Tax Due Date Extended to July 1 From June 1
NASHVILLE - The Tennessee Department of Revenue has extended the due date for filing and paying the professional privilege tax from June 1, 2020 to July 1, 2020. Governor Bill Lee included the tax extension in Executive Order No. 24.
Interest and late filing penalties will not be applied to returns filed and payments made on or before this extended due date. More information about this deadline extension can be found in important notice #20-11.
The professional privilege tax is a $400 annual tax for individuals licensed or registered to practice certain professions in Tennessee. Beginning this year, only the following professions are subject to the tax:
- agents, broker-dealers, and investment advisors registered under Title 48 of the Tennessee Code;
- lobbyists; and
- physicians and osteopathic physicians.
All other professions previously subject to the professional privilege tax are now exempt.
The department has also recently announced other state tax deadline extensions amid the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. See this press release for more information.
The department is happy to help answer taxpayer questions. Assistance is available through our Taxpayer Assistance Hotline at (615) 253-0600, via email at Revenue.Support@tn.gov, or through our online Revenue Help application, where you can search for answers to your questions and also submit requests.
The Department of Revenue is responsible for the administration of state tax laws and motor vehicle title and registration laws, as well as the collection of taxes and fees associated with those laws. The department collects around 87 percent of total state revenue. During the 2019 fiscal year, it collected $15.3 billion in state taxes and fees and more than $3 billion in taxes and fees for local governments. To learn more about the department, visit www.tn.gov/revenue.