Skip to Main Content

SEE NEW POST-WAYFAIR GUIDANCE FOR SALES TAX COLLECTION FROM OUT-OF-STATE DEALERS HERE
Sales tax filings for the tax period ending December 31 will be due on Tuesday, January 21, following the Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday.

Hamilton County Business Owner and Manager Arrested for Tax Evasion and Theft

Friday, November 22, 2019 | 03:03pm

CHATTANOOGA - The Special Investigations Section of the Tennessee Department of Revenue conducted the investigation that led to Friday’s indictment and arrest of Charles White, 55, and Tami White, 50. Revenue special agents arrested the couple today at their place of business, Tennessee Georgia Tire and Service Center. Charles White’s bond was set at $5,000; Tami White’s bond was set at $15,000.

On Wednesday, the Hamilton County Grand Jury indicted Charles White on one Class C felony count of theft of property over $10,000, four Class E felony counts of falsification of sales tax returns, and one Class E felony count of sales tax evasion related to his former business, Dodds Avenue Tire and Wheel. The Grand Jury also indicted his wife, Tami, on one Class A felony count of theft of property over $250,000, 35 Class E felony counts of falsification of sales tax returns, and one Class E felony count of sales tax evasion related to both Dodds Avenue Tire and Wheel and the Tennessee Georgia Tire and Service Center.

“The Department of Revenue promotes voluntary taxpayer compliance by educating taxpayers, aggressively pursuing criminal sanctions and demanding accountability when taxpayers engage in fraudulent activity," Revenue Commissioner David Gerregano said. "This indictment underscores the Department's ongoing efforts to enforce Tennessee's tax laws."

If convicted, Charles White could be sentenced to a maximum of six years in the state penitentiary and fined up to $10,000 for theft of property. Tami White could be sentenced to a maximum of 25 years in the state penitentiary and fined up to $50,000 for theft of property.  Each faces a maximum of two years and up to $3,000 for each tax charge.

The Department is pursuing this criminal case in cooperation with District Attorney General Neal Pinkston’s office. Citizens who suspect violations of Tennessee's revenue laws should call the toll-free tax fraud hot line at (800) FRAUDTX (372-8389).

The Department of Revenue is responsible for the administration of state tax laws and motor vehicle title and registration laws, as well as the collection of taxes and fees associated with those laws. The Department collects about 87 percent of total state revenue. During the 2018 fiscal year, it collected $14.5 billion in state taxes and fees and more than $2.8 billion in taxes and fees for local governments. To learn more about the Department, visit www.tn.gov/revenue.

###