Board of Dispensing Opticians
An applicant for licensure must either be the graduate of a two (2) year Board approved opticianry school or complete the three (3) year Tennessee Apprenticeship Training Program.
Applicants must be ABO (American Board of Opticianry) and NCLE (National Contact Lens Examiners) certified. For more information regarding the ABO/NCLE examinations, please visit their website at https://www.abo-ncle.org/. In addition to the ABO/NCLE examinations, all applicants must take the practical examination. Before applicants are eligible to sit for the practical examination, the Board of Dispensing Opticians must approve their licensure application.
The American Board of Opticianry and National Contact Lens Examiners (ABO-NCLE)
6506 Loisdale Road, Suite 330
Springfield, VA 22150
Ph: (703) 719-5800
Examination fees: $75 for initial candidates - $75 for re-take candidates
Opticianry Schools in Tennessee:
Roane State Community College
276 Patton Lane
Harriman, TN 37748
Phone: (865) 354-3000
Phone: (800) 343-9104
Tennessee Apprenticeship Training Program:
A minimum of three (3) years and a total of five thousand, two hundred and fifty (5,250) hours of full-time or part-time education and training under qualified supervision.
Opticianry Schools Outside Tennessee:
Georgia Piedmont Technical College http://www.gptc.edu/
495 North Indian Creek Drive
Clarkston, GA 30021
Phone: (404) 297-9522
Hillsborough Community College
4001 W. Tampa Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33614-7820
Phone: (813) 253-7000
J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College
P.O. Box 85622
Richmond, VA 23285-5622
Phone: (804) 371-3000
Erie Community College
121 Ellicott St.
Buffalo, NY 14203
Apprentice Educational Training Programs
National Academy of Opticianry - Ophthalmic Career Progression Program (OCPP)
National Academy of Opticianry
Opthalmic Career Progression Program
8401 Corporate Drive, Suite 605
Landover, Maryland 20785
The Ophthalmic Career Progression Program (OCPP) is an Apprenticeship Educational Training Program for Opticians that is accepted by the Tennessee Board of Dispensing Opticians. Successful completion of the OCPP is worth 1,750 hours (or one year) of the 5,250 hours (or three years) of apprenticeship training required by the Tennessee Board of Dispensing Opticians for licensing. Participation in the OCPP may run concurrently with the other two years of board-approved required training.