Skip to Main Content

COVID-19 INFORMATION
COVID-19 & Potential Impacts
Apply for the Katie Beckett Program!

Assessment & Stabilization Team Contact & Referrals

TN START AST Regions


Referral Information

We are currently accepting referrals for TN START AST Phase One.

Graphic showing phase 1 of TN START AST

Click Here for the TN START AST Online Referral Form via Formstack.

Once you complete all sections of the Referral Form and click submit, the referral will be emailed directly to TN START AST for review. A member of  TN START AST will contact you to confirm receipt of the Referral Form and inform you of next steps.

Guidance for when to make a referral:

A referral should be made if the individual:

  1. Is currently in crisis and meets the criteria for START enrollment.
  2. Is currently at or has been to a psychiatric hospital within the past 24 months.
  3. Has been referred for additional staffing due to challenging behavior or has been receiving enhanced (one-to-one or more) staffing for an extended period;
  4. Has a history of multiple community placements over the past 12 months due to challenging behavior;
  5. Has complex mental health needs that have required crisis intervention, calls to 911, or frequent medication changes within the last 12 months.
  6. Has an unclear diagnosis and treatment formulation;
  7. Is at risk of losing their work or home placement due to challenging behavior or unmet mental health needs
  8. Is presenting with complex behavioral, medical, and/or trauma-related issues.

Anyone can make a referral to TN START AST. This includes hospitals, IDD-MH service recipients, families, mental health providers, IDD providers, mobile crisis teams, law enforcement, schools, service coordinators/care managers, etc. Please ensure that the person and their support team are made aware that a referral is being made.


Contact Information

Statewide 

Bruce Davis,
PhD, BCBA-D, Sr. LPE, LPC,

Deputy Commissioner of Clinical Services
TN START AST Program Director
(615) 532-1610
Bruce.Davis@tn.gov

Michelle Bagby,
M.A., LBA, BCBA, 

Director of Behavioral Health & Crisis Services
TN START AST Clinical Director
(615) 913-0352
Michelle.Bagby@tn.gov

Trey King,

Coordinator of Crisis & Forensic Services
TN START AST Systems Coordinator
(615) 440-3188
Trey.King@tn.gov

Victor Schueler,
M.D.

Director of Psychiatric Services
TN START AST Medical Director
Victor.Schueler@tn.gov

Carrie Dhanarajan,
MA, LBA, BCBA

Coordinator of Behavior Services
TN START Assistant Clinical Director
629-203-3160
Carrie.Dhanarajan@tn.gov

Taylor McLeod,
LMSW, MPA

Assessment & Stabilization Manager
Nashville Region
615-477-0566
Taylor.C.McLeod@tn.gov

Andrew Dupuis,
BS

Assessment & Stabilization Facilitator
Nashville Region
615-969-1462
Andrew.H.Dupuis@tn.gov

Tommy “Trent” Miller,
BS

Assessment & Stabilization Facilitator
Nashville Region
615-202-5647
Tommy.Miller@tn.gov  

David Weyand,
BS

Assessment & Stabilization Facilitator
Nashville Region
615-906-7082
David.Weyand@tn.gov

Chadwick McHayle,
BS

Assessment & Stabilization Facilitator
Nashville Region
615-519-2464
Chadwick.Mchayle@tn.gov

Wanda Logan,
BS

Assessment & Stabilization Facilitator
Memphis Region
901-677-8928
Wanda.L.Logan@tn.gov

Ebony Black,
BPS

Assessment & Stabilization Facilitator
Jackson Region
731-618-9013
Ebony.Black@tn.gov

Andre Griggs,
BS

Assessment & Stabilization Facilitator
Jackson Region
731-618-9019
Andre.T.Griggs@tn.gov

Sarah Broussard,
BS

Assessment & Stabilization Facilitator
Jackson Region
731-343-5499
Sarah.Broussard2@tn.gov

Shanna Smith,
BS

Assessment & Stabilization Facilitator
Chattanooga Region
423-280-0131
Shanna.Smith@tn.gov

Leah Adams,
BA

Assessment & Stabilization Facilitator
Chattanooga Region
423-280-0069
Leah.C.Adams@tn.gov

Johnathan Payne,
MS

Assessment & Stabilization Lead Facilitator
Chattanooga Region
423-262-7258
Johnathan.Payne@tn.gov

Kayla Aloisi
MS, LMSW 

Assessment & Stabilization Manager
Knoxville Region
865-895-0070
Kayla.Aloisi@tn.gov

Esi Norwood,
BS

Assessment & Stabilization Facilitator
Knoxville Region
865-839-5004
Esi.Norwood@tn.gov  

Melissa Young,
MS

Assessment & Stabilization Facilitator
Knoxville Region
865-895-0892
Melissa.J.Young@tn.gov

Kate Vogt,
BS

Assessment & Stabilization Facilitator
Knoxville Region
865-850-5849
Kate.Vogt@tn.gov

Sandra Ray,
MS

Assessment & Stabilization Facilitator
Knoxville Region
423-609-2385
Sandra.Ray@tn.gov  


DIDD & The Center for START Services