Due to the public health state of emergency surrounding COVID-19, we have suspended Vital Records walk-in services at the State Office of Vital Records until further notice.
We are continuing to process certified copy requests, changes and corrections via mail. You also may request certified copies of vital records online using our approved third party vendor VitalChek or visit your local county office for birth and death records. It is strongly recommended that you call first, before visiting your county office.
The Tennessee Vital Records Office keeps birth records for 100 years and death, marriage, and divorce records for 50 years; after that time, the records are sent to the Tennessee State Library and Archives for public access and family research.
Tennessee State law dictates that certified copies of our records can only be provided to the person named on the certificate or certain family members. However, verification of information from our records (excluding cause of death) can be provided to any requester. If you wish verification of information from our records you should complete the appropriate form (birth, death, marriage, divorce) and mail it along with the required fee to:
Tennessee Vital Records
1st Floor, Andrew Johnson Tower
710 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243