Skip to Main Content

Find COVID-19 Information and Resources

Volunteer Tennessee Announces 2019 Award of Excellence Honorees

Wednesday, February 19, 2020 | 11:46am


February 19, 2020

(615) 741-9237

Sixteen schools recognized for their commitment to service

(Nashville, TN — February 19, 2020) — Volunteer Tennessee’s Award of Excellence program recently recognized sixteen schools from across the state for their outstanding commitment to service. The 2019 Award of Excellence honorees were announced at the 2020 Tennessee Conference on Volunteerism and Service-Learning in Franklin on February 11. First Lady Maria Lee was the featured speaker during the recognition event and presented the awards to the schools with Volunteer Tennessee’s Board Chair, Tina Hodges.

“It was an honor to join Volunteer Tennessee in recognizing schools from across the state that have gone above and beyond at incorporating service-learning into their classrooms to spark community change and transform students into servant leaders,” said First Lady Maria Lee.

To be considered for the Award of Excellence, schools complete an application and submit a letter from a school administrator indicating their commitment to service. Critical areas of focus as high quality educational opportunities are food security, mentorship of school aged children, and homelessness, though all focus areas were eligible and encouraged to apply.

Volunteer Tennessee’s board of commissioners launched the School Award of Excellence program in 2017 to provide annual recognition for K-12 schools engaged in exemplary service, service-learning, and volunteerism. The purpose of this recognition is to promote youth engagement in the improvement of their local communities.

Please visit to find photos of the school honorees and learn more about the Award of Excellence Program.

Below is a list of the 2019 School Award of Excellence Honorees: 

  • Beacon Academy
    Collegedale, TN
  • Central Magnet School
    Murfreesboro, TN
  • Dover Elementary School
    Dover, TN
  • Ensworth School - High School Division
    Nashville, TN
  • Friendship Christian School
    Lebanon, TN
  • Jackson Central-Merry Early College High School
    Jackson, TN
  • Jefferson County High School
    Dandridge, TN
  • Johnson County High School
    Mountain City, TN
  • Lipscomb Academy
    Nashville, TN
  • Middle Tennessee Christian School
    Murfreesboro, TN
  • South Knoxville Elementary School
    Knoxville, TN
  • South Pittsburg High School
    Pittsburg, TN
  • Unaka High School
    Elizabethton, TN
  • Union Elementary STEM and Demonstration School
    Gallatin, TN
  • University School of Nashville
    Nashville, TN
  • Whitwell High School
    Whitwell, TN


Volunteer Tennessee is the 25-member bipartisan citizen board appointed by the Governor to oversee AmeriCorps and service-learning programs and to advance volunteerism and citizen service to solve community problems in the Volunteer State. For more information, visit or visit us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.

Click here for the full press release.