HBCU Success Advisory Board

HBCU Success Advisory Board

Tenn. Code. Ann. § 49-7-217(f) allows for the creation of an advisory board for Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU) Success, which may provide recommendations and guidance to the Tennessee Higher Education Commission in the following areas:

  • Improvement of the identity, visibility, and distinctive capabilities and overall competitiveness of HBCUs;
  • Engagement of the philanthropic, business, government, military, homeland security, and education communities in a dialogue regarding new HBCU programs and initiatives;
  • Improvement of the ability of HBCUs to remain fiscally secure institutions that can assist the state in reaching its educational goals;
  • Elevation of the public awareness of HBCUs; and
  • Encouragement of public-private investments in HBCUs.

Board members also serve as ambassadors for HBCU Success, providing a connection to and ongoing exchange of information and ideas with Tennesseans, policymakers, and the broader public.

The Board is comprised of nine voting members who are appointed by the Commission to serve for a three-year term. Currently sitting HBCU presidents serve as ex-officio members of the advisory board. Advisory board meetings are held biannually (approximately during the fall and spring academic semesters).

Typical agenda items include statewide updates (enrollments, academic program development, student experiences, and more), HBCU Presidents’ reports, and primary discussion topic(s) to solicit and secure input from board members. The advisory board does not engage in decision making related to institution personnel, budget, or internal policy-development within Tennessee’s HBCUs.


2021-2024 Board Members

Mrs. Laschinski Emerson, Secretary

Dr. Doug Magee

Dr. Andre Churchwell

Officer Shelley Clemons

Dr. Carol Johnson Dean

Mrs. Ashley Northington, Chair

Ms. Brandi Smith

Mrs. Elaine Stallworth-Washington, Vice Chair

Mr. Ernest Strickland

Ex-officio members

Dr. Forrest Harris (American Baptist College)

Dr. Vann Newkirk (Fisk University)

Leonard Adams (Knoxville College)

Dr. Logan Hampton (Lane College)

Dr. Vernell Bennett-Fairs (LeMoyne Owen College)

Dr. James Hildreth (Meharry Medical College)

Dr. Glenda Baskin Glover (Tennessee State University)

Previous Meetings

2021 - 2024

  • June 29, 2022 - WebEx Call
  • April 22, 2022 - Tennessee Tower
  • October 20, 2021 - Tennessee Tower

2018 - 2021

Next Regular Meeting

Wednesday, October 19, 2022 | 10:00 am Central

Location: American Baptist College | Agenda | Zoom Viewing Link

2022-2025 HBCU Success Strategic Plan