Skip to Main Content

COVID-19 Campus & Financial Aid Information

The Commission

About THEC/TSAC: Formed in 1967, the Tennessee Higher Education Commission is the state’s higher education coordinating board and is responsible for an array of duties under TCA 49-7-202:

  • Administration of the outcomes-based funding formula
  • Approval of all new academic degree programs
  • Development of the state master plan for higher education
  • Serving as the hub for postsecondary data analysis and research
  • Authorization and regulation of proprietary institutions
  • Serving as the state approving agency for veteran education benefits

Board Composition: The Commission is composed of nine voting members appointed from the general public, each serving six-year terms and representing the Grand Divisions of the State equally; three members are appointed by the General Assembly and the state Constitutional Officers serve as ex-officio voting members (Comptroller of the Treasury, State Treasurer, and Secretary of State). Additionally, one voting student member serves a one-year term and the Executive Director of the State Board of Education serves as an ex-officio non-voting member.

Evan Cope

Chair Murfreesboro (Middle Tennessee)

Dr. Nancy Dishner

Jonesborough East Tennessee

Pam Koban

Nashville Middle Tennessee

Jay Moser

Jefferson City East Tennessee

Tara Scarlett

Nashville Middle Tennessee

Vernon Stafford, Jr.

Vice Chair West Collierville (West Tennessee)

A C Wharton, Jr.

Secretary Memphis (West Tennessee)

Dakasha Winton

Vice Chair East Chattanooga (East Tennessee)

Tre Hargett

Secretary of State Constitutional Officer

Jason E. Mumpower

State Comptroller Constitutional Officer

David H. Lillard, Jr.

State Treasurer Constitutional Officer

Dr. Sara Heyburn Morrison

Executive Director, State Board of Education Non-voting ex-officio

Ethan Galloway

East Tennessee State University Student Member

Former Commission Members

This link provides a listing of former THEC Commission Members.

Commission Meetings

The schedule and agenda for upcoming Commission meetings, as well as meeting materials once they become available.