Commissioner Gonzales Selected to FFIEC State Liaison Committee

Thursday, May 02, 2024 | 10:37am

The Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC) today announced the selection of Greg Gonzales to the FFIEC’s State Liaison Committee (SLC). Gonzales’s term runs from May 1, 2024, through April 30, 2026.

Gonzales is the Commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Financial Institutions, a position he has held since 2005. As Commissioner, he serves as Tennessee’s chief regulatory officer of all state-chartered depository and licensed non-depository financial institutions.  Additionally, he has served as assistant commissioner and general counsel for the Department.

Gonzales is a past Chairman of the Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS). For a number of years, he served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Money Transmitter Regulators Association (MTRA), an organization of a majority of the states that regulate funds transfer companies. He served on the U.S. Treasury’s Bank Secrecy Act Advisory Group, and currently serves on the Board of Directors of the Tennessee Financial Literacy Commission and the Tennessee Collateral Pool Board.

Gonzales previously served on the SLC as the CSBS-designated member, from 2016 to 2021, and served as SLC Chair from 2017 to 2021.

The SLC is composed of five members and, in addition to Gonzalez, includes:

·        SLC Chair Charles G. Cooper, Commissioner, Texas Department of Banking selected by the Council;

·        Kevin Allard, Superintendent, Ohio Division of Financial Institutions, designated by the American Council of State Savings Supervisors (ACSSS);

·        Yolanda Ford, Deputy Superintendent, Community and Regional Banks Unit, New York State Department of Financial Services, designated by the National Association of State Credit Union Supervisors (NASCUS); and

·        Susannah Marshall, Commissioner, Arkansas Bank Department, designated by the CSBS.

The FFIEC was created by the federal Financial Institutions Regulatory and Interest Rate Control Act of 1978 to “prescribe uniform principles and standards for the federal examination of financial institutions” and “make recommendations to promote uniformity” in the supervision of financial institutions. It also conducts schools for examiners employed by the five federal member agencies represented on the FFIEC and makes those schools available to employees of state agencies that supervise financial institutions.

The FFIEC consists of the following six voting members: a member of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System; the Chairman of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation; the Director of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau; the Comptroller of the Currency; the Chairman of the National Credit Union Administration; and the Chair of the SLC.

The SLC consists of five representatives of state banking and credit union agencies that supervise financial institutions. Members are designated by the CSBS, ACSSS, NASCUS, and the FFIEC. An SLC member may have his or her two-year term extended by the appointing organization for an additional, two-year term.


Contact:  Alica Owen