The following is a collection of frequently asked questions about sports wagering in Tennessee.

Is sports betting legal in Tennessee? 
Online sports wagering with licensed operators is legal inTennessee. (Click here for a list of licensed operators).  It is illegal to place a bet with an online sportsbook that is not licensed by the state of Tennessee.  Physical sportsbooks and kiosks are also not legal, nor is placing a bet with a person (i.e., a “bookie”). There is a narrow exception for “low level sports entertainment pools” such as a March Madness bracket organized by an individual (not a business) with a total pool value of less than $1,000 and an entry fee of $25 or less.  

How old do I have to be to bet on sports in Tennessee? 
Bettors must be at least 21 years old.  

Do I have to be in Tennessee? 

Yeah, but how do you even know if I’m in Tennessee? 
All licensed sportsbook operators must use geolocation services to identify where a computer, phone or tablet is located before accepting a wager.  

What if I open my account in Tennessee but then travel back home where sports betting is illegal? 
You will not be able to place a wager where sports betting is illegal. You will be able to withdraw your funds in any state. 

Can people travel to Tennessee to place a wager? 
Yes. Bettors do not have to reside in Tennessee to legally place a wager in Tennessee. They just have to be in Tennessee when the wager is placed. 

I’m a parent and I love betting with my kid who is under 21 years old. Can they place a bet through my account if I let them? 
No. Known as proxy betting, this is illegal. It is illegal for any prohibited or ineligible person to have someone else place a  wager on their behalf, even with permission. 

I’m a prohibited bettor, such as an underage gambler. Can someone else, like my grandmother or boyfriend, place a wager on my behalf? 
No. Known as proxy betting, this is illegal. It is illegal for any prohibited or ineligible person to have someone else place a  wager on their behalf, even with permission from the person placing the bet. 

Can I bet on high school sports in Tennessee? 
No, that is illegal.

What can I wager on while in Tennessee? 
For a complete list of approved events, visit the SWC website here.  Not all events are offered by all licensed operators.

If I’m in Tennessee and I can access a website to place a bet, does this mean I’m placing a legal wager in
Nope. Just because you can access a website doesn’t mean it is licensed to conduct business in Tennessee. All licensed online sportsbooks are listed here. Placing a wager through an unlicensed sportsbook constitutes illegal sports betting in Tennessee. 

 If I see or a hear an advertisement for an online sportsbook and I’m in Tennessee, does that mean that’s a licensed sportsbook in Tennessee? 
Not necessarily. Unlicensed sportsbooks may appear to be very similar to licensed sportsbooks.  Some offshore illegal sportsbooks will advertise online, knowing that enforcement of the law overseas can be difficult.  You should consult the Sports Wagering Council’s list of licensed online sportsbooks here to be sure.

How do I know if I’m ineligible to place a sports wager online in Tennessee? 
First, you have to be at least 21 years old and physically present within Tennessee in order to wager. Also, please consult the additional categories of persons ineligible to wager on our website here.  

How do I make a complaint against a licensed online sportsbook? 
A player is required to first file a formal grievance with the sports gaming operator (the online sportsbook) within thirty (30) days of the incident giving rise to the dispute. If the player is not satisfied with the decision or solution presented by the sports gaming operator, he or she may register the grievance with the Sports Wagering Council using the form on the SWC website within thirty (30) days of receiving the decision or proposed solution from the sports gaming operator.  Go to the SWC website here  for more information.

Can I make a complaint against an unlicensed sportsbook? 
It is illegal to place a bet with an unlicensed sportsbook in Tennessee.  Anyone placing a wager with an unlicensed sportsbook is placing a bet with an illegal, unregulated, not to mention – risky – person or website, and is committing a criminal offense. If you wish to report an unlicensed sportsbook for illegally operating in the state of Tennessee, please contact us at SWAC.Gaming@tn.gov. The SWC may not be able to locate or take action against unlicensed sportsbooks – many are located overseas. 

The SWC cannot assist you with resolving a dispute with an unlicensed sportsbook in the same manner that the SWC works with licensed sportsbooks to address player complaints, e.g., if you believe your wager was settled incorrectly or the sportsbook is not allowing you to withdraw your funds.  This is one of the many reasons that engaging with an unlicensed sportsbook puts you at a high risk of loss.

If I feel like I'm having trouble controlling my sports betting behavior or if I know someone who is, is there a phone number to call or text? 
Yes. You can confidentially contact the Tennessee REDLINE at 1-800-889-9789 for a referral for addiction services. For additional information on problem gambling programs in the state, read here. Bettors or concerned family or friends can also contact the national hotline 1-800-GAMBLER.  

I’d like to self-exclude from sports betting because I need to opt-out for my own reasons from online sports wagering. How can I do that? 
Bettors can fill out a self-exclusion application on the Sports Wagering Council website to self-exclude across all Tennessee sportsbooks. Bettors can also self-exclude directly with all licensed sportsbooks through their respective applications. 

Why don’t the SWC monthly reports include total payouts to bettors in Tennessee and adjusted gross income

Assessing the privilege tax owed by licensed online sportsbooks to the State of Tennessee is a core function of the Sports Wagering Council. Payouts and adjusted gross income (AGI) aren’t reported because payouts and adjusted gross income are not used to assess the privilege tax due to the State. 

Before July 1, 2023 licensed online sportsbooks in Tennessee were assessed a 20 percent privilege tax on their AGI, or, broadly speaking, their revenue after paying out winning wagers.  Assessing the tax owed under the previous tax structure required the monthly collection (and verification through financial reconciliation) of data related to payouts on winning wagers.  Sportsbooks were also required to meet a 10 percent AGI threshold at the risk of suspension and/or fine. This meant that under the previous tax structure sportsbooks were required to pay a privilege tax of what would have been mathematically equivalent to 2 percent of their gross handle.  

On July 1, 2023, Public Chapter 450 took effect, under which the General Assembly revised and streamlined the tax structure to a rate of 1.85 percent of gross handle, which is calculated (in basic terms) as total wagers minus adjustments for voided or cancelled wagers and the federal excise tax.

Because the privilege tax is now calculated and assessed without reference to payouts of winning wagers, the SWC no longer commits agency resources to reconciling and verifying total payouts and AGI on a monthly basis.