Governor, First Lady Haslam Honor State Employees for Providing Excellent Service

Award Recipients Helping Tennessee Lead by Providing Efficient and Effective Service
Tuesday, February 06, 2018 | 01:48pm
Excellence in Service

NASHVILLE – Governor Bill Haslam and First Lady Crissy Haslam today recognized 22 state employees for providing outstanding service to the state and their fellow Tennesseans at a luncheon at the Tennessee Residence. The Governor’s Excellence in Service Awards was launched in 2016 to honor outstanding state employees who are helping Tennessee lead by providing efficient and effective state services every day.

“I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: the team with the best players wins and the state employees we are honoring today are helping us win every day,” Haslam said. “State government’s role is to provide services that Tennesseans aren’t able to get on their own. Great employees make sure we’re providing those services in the most customer focused and effective way.”

Employees selected by their department’s leadership to receive the biannual award are on the forefront of improving how Tennessee state government delivers services. By exceeding leadership and customer expectations, creating innovative solutions or improving processes and services, these employees are helping provide taxpayers with the highest quality service at the lowest possible cost.

The fall 2017 recipients of the Governor’s Excellence in Service Award being honored today include:

• Barron Russell, Animal Health Technician, Agriculture
• Michael Leach, Director of Performance Quality Improvement, Children’s Services
• Bill Huddleston, Regulatory Boards Director of Accounting, Commerce and Insurance
• Carrie Brock, Assistant Director of Human Resources, Correction
• Jessica L. Johnson, Director of Budget, Economic and Community Development
• Melissa Teat, Customer Product Manager, Information Technology, Education
• Chris Padgett, Parks Area Manager, Environment and Conservation
• Heather Pease, Benefits Administration Communication Officer, Finance and Administration
• Debra Grissom, Chief Administrator of Applications, Bank and Credit Union Division, Financial Institutions
• Sharonette Thomas, Purchasing Card Assistant, General Services
• Angela Scarlett, Public Health Office Assistant, Health
• Trevor Haley, Lead Legal Assistant, Healthcare Finance and Administration
• Sharon Buwalda, Administrative Services Assistant 4, Human Resources
• Terry Bain, Maintenance Worker 3, Human Services
• Michael Barbour, Middle Tennessee Employment and Day Services Coordinator, Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities
• Jackie Berg, Administrative Service Assistant 5, Labor and Workforce Development
• Kathy Haley, Helpline Advocate, Mental Health & Substance Abuse Services
• Crystal Lysinger, Administrative Services Assistant 5, Military
• Jacob Beal, Supervisor, Collections Services Division, Revenue
• Tommy Fyke, Captain, Protective Services Division, Safety and Homeland Security
• Brody Shell, Unicoi County Welcome Center, Tourist Development
• Danielle Hagewood, Transportation Manager 2, Transportation

More information on each fall 2017 recipient can be found here.