Broadband Ready Communities

Broadband Ready Communities (BRC)

As part of the Tennessee Broadband Accessibility Act of 2017, the State of Tennessee established the Broadband Ready Communities Program to foster county engagement in securing broadband infrastructure and access to their communities. Through TNECD, the program, which is funded by the American Rescue Plan State and Local Fiscal Recovery Funds, utilizes a portion of the Tennessee Emergency Broadband Fund – American Rescue Plan to provide $10 million in assistance. A non-competitive grant opportunity is available for county and local governments to secure up to $100,000 dollars for broadband adoption activities. Application window is from October 2 - November 15, 2023.

Political subdivisions may submit documentation to request designation as a broadband ready community pursuant to Public Chapter 228, 4-3-709.

Designated Broadband Ready Communities:


  • Bedford County
  • Benton County
  • Bledsoe County
  • Bradley County
  • Campbell County
  • Cannon County
  • Carroll County
  • Carter County
  • Chester County
  • Claiborne County
  • Cocke County
  • Coffee County
  • Crockett County
  • Cumberland County
  • Decatur County
  • DeKalb County
  • Dickson County
  • Fayette County
  • Franklin County
  • Gibson County
  • Giles County
  • Grainger County
  • Greene County
  • Grundy County
  • Hamilton County
  • Hancock County
  • Hardeman County
  • Hardin County
  • Hartsville/Trousdale County Metro Government
  • Hawkins County
  • Haywood County
  • Henderson County
  • Henry County
  • Hickman County
  • Houston County
  • Humphreys County
  • Jackson County
  • Jefferson County
  • Johnson County
  • Lauderdale County
  • Lawrence County
  • Lincoln County
  • Madison County
  • Marion County
  • Maury County
  • McMinn County
  • McNairy County
  • Meigs County
  • Monroe County
  • Obion County
  • Overton County
  • Perry County
  • Polk County
  • Putnam County
  • Rhea County
  • Roane County
  • Rutherford County
  • Sequatchie County
  • Sevier County
  • Smith County
  • Stewart County
  • Tipton County
  • Union County
  • Van Buren County
  • Warren County
  • Washington County
  • Wayne County
  • Weakley County
  • Williamson County
  • Wilson County

Other Political Subdivisions:
Bolivar, City of
Eagleville, City of
Henderson, City of
Loretto, City of
Luttrell, City of
Maynardville, City of
McLemoresville, City of
Plainview, City of
Portland, City of

Please complete the information below. The community must attach the duly executed ordinance or policy at the end of this application that shows the statutory requirements outlined below have been met. This is required in order to receive consideration. Include any additional information demonstrating community support for broadband related activities.

The following EXAMPLE, drafted by a fellow Tennessee community, is available to assist political subdivisions in drafting their own ordinance or policy. This example should be used for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. Political subdivisions should consult with their legal counsel concerning the appropriate approach for their respective communities to customize as necessary to comply with any local laws, rules, procedures or policies.