PSI/Examination InformationBoard of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
Effective January 26, 2022, the exam options with PSI will include: Remote Proctoring for the theory exam and Virtual Practical exam. Candidates can chose to test at a PSI center if they do not have a computer that supports the camera and/or required technology. Separately, on that same date, both exams will start using the new content referred to as the National Exam. This change is to ease mobility, join other States that also see a lot of movement within the industry and to make sure the public is protected.
More information on this will be sent to schools as soon as it is available. Instructors will receive additional training via a webinar at least three weeks before the launch date. The Board will send email communications to all active school including High Schools, Tennessee College of Applied Technology (TCAT) schools and Private Schools.
PSI Exam & Fee Information
The Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners is happy to inform you that PSI has added a NEW phone number available to Tennessee candidates. We understand that the last couple of months have been difficult for candidates ready to test, for instructors trying to assist them, and for PSI preparing locations for social distancing and a safe environment for all test takers. Our hope is that this dedicated line will be a huge improvement.
Effective Wednesday, August 12, 2020, the new number is: 855-340-3710
Attention Instructors and School Owners
Effective November 29, 2021 the PSI website ( https://schools.psiexams.com ) to upload students who have completed hours will be compatible with Chrome, Edge, and Firefox. It will no longer work with Internet Explorer.
Cosmetology Examinations are given at several new testing locations for the theory portion of the exam. Each profession has a different bulletin. You may download your bulletin from their website.
Application for Examination
To be eligible for examination, your school must submit an online application to the testing company, PSI, and meet the requirements. Once the completed application is submitted to PSI, they will approve eligibility for testing. You are required to complete training in a licensed school of cosmetology or comply with the standards established by the cosmetology laws and rules. Once approved, PSI will email or mail an "Approval Postcard" with instructions on how to pay and schedule the examination.
Contact information for PSI:
PSI Examination Service
3210 East Tropicana Avenue
Las Vegas, NV 89121
* All fees mailed to PSI must be in the form of Cashier's Check or Money Order.
No Personal Checks Accepted
The exam fee will be forfeited if the candidate does not test within 6 months of the date their exam fee is received by PSI. Refunds are available upon request prior to the 6 month expiration.
Any questions concerning liability should be directed to:
Tennessee State Board of Cosmetology
Department of Commerce and Insurance
Division of Regulatory Boards
500 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243-1147
You are to report to the scheduled examination site on the date and time indicated on your admission notice. You must bring your admission notice and a photo ID (driver's license or State ID) for admittance to the examination. The Model must also have proper identification.
You and your model must arrive at the examination site at the times specified on the admission notice. Candidates or models will not be admitted in after the examination has begun.
Review the personal information listed on the admission letter. If you have any changes, please call PSI at 1.800.733.9267.
If a visual or physical disability or other special need prevents you from taking the examination under regular conditions, you may request special arrangements. Please submit written documentation of your disability to help PSI determine the arrangements to be made. PSI complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act.
Any candidate who will not be able to attend the scheduled examination must send a written request to, or call PSI in order to be rescheduled for the next examination date. This notification must be received by PSI at least ten (10) business days prior to the original examination session. There is a $15.00 rescheduling fee which will be paid prior to rescheduling your next examination date if notification is not received ten (10) days before the exam date.
Same day scoring is available. If you receive a passing score on the "theory portion" of the exam, you will receive information on obtaining the "practical part" of the exam. If you do not pass the "theory portion" you will receive information for retaking the test. After you pass both the "theory and practical" portions of the exam you will receive form necessary to obtain your license.
For confidentiality, scores will not be given over the telephone.
Candidate Brochures will be available with each application with an outline of what to expect on the test. They are available online or at the schools.
Visit PSI website to obtain a brochure at: candidate.psiexams.com
|Exam||Full||Practical Only||Theory Only|
|Natural Hair Stylist||$140.00||$70.00||$70.00|
* Fees may be paid by using a VALID Credit Card *
Candidate for Examination Information
Barber Examinations are given at several new Testing Locations [PSI]. To obtain the locations of the testing centers and the candidate information visit PSI website at: candidate.psiexams.com.
Each profession has a different bulletin as shown above.
|Exam||Full||Theory Only||Practical Only||Reinstatement Theory only||Reinstatement Practical only|
Note: registration fees are not refundable or transferable.